Vista tcpip.sys and UAC Auto Patcher to increase TCP connection limits

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Jaragua, Aug 30, 2008.

1. Jaragua

Jaragua MDL Novice

Aug 30, 2008
    Hello,

I am a newbie here, and need some help with the tcpip.sys Auto Patcher.

I followed all your instructions, and I am not sure it is working.

I installed ReadyDriverPlus, been tested, had a flawless restart.

I installed TweakUAC, been tested, and I have Windows Security screaming UAC is off.

I copied the InstallPatch32-18063.bat, which corresponds to my 32 bit, tcpip.sys, to c:/Windows/system32/drivers, ran it from the drivers folder, and the installation had some errors, mixed with "Succesful" notifications.

This is my main question: you suggest to change values to

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters\]

instructing to,

"Locate “TcpNumConnections” registry value and change its value data to number you want."

First of all, my Windows Vista Ultimate SP1 doesn't have a TcPNumConnectios registry value. The only similar value I could find was

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters\TcpMaxDataRetransmissions]

Second, I don't know what number I want. Under Value Data, the Base is Hexadecimal (ff), or Decimal (255).

What do I need to change, and to what?

After all this new additions, my laptop

OS: WVUltimate, 32bit, 4GB RAM, Intel Core Duo CPU T7250 @ 2.00 GHz, 2x 100GB HDDs,

has significantly slowed down, particularly Windows Explorer, which opens very slowly, and any time I right-click on a file/folder, it goes to (Not Responding), and the window closes down after a while. Windows Explorer has almost frozen after installation of these programs, and I would have to uninstall them one by one to know which one is affecting my system.

I haven't noticed any significant increase on my IE7, or in my P2P program, uTorrent.

Your help with this issues, and any additional suggestions, will be very much appreciated.