Visual Studio 2015 RTM (Update 3)

Discussion in 'Application Software' started by icebits, Jul 20, 2015.

Tags:
  1. t800t8

    t800t8 MDL Novice

    Oct 17, 2013
    10
    0
    0
    #101 t800t8, Jul 22, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  2. moine

    moine MDL Junior Member

    Jul 3, 2015
    57
    18
    0
    ...and good luck!
    :eek:

    All credita goes to theirs masters
     
  3. qewlpal

    qewlpal MDL Addicted

    Jun 25, 2010
    575
    1,983
    30
    #103 qewlpal, Jul 22, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2015
    OK so,
    en_visual_studio_ultimate_2013_with_update_4_x86_dvd_5935075.iso 6.94GB
    en_visual_studio_ultimate_2013_with_update_5_x86_dvd_6815896.iso 4.82GB
    en_visual_studio_enterprise_2015_x86_x64_dvd_6850497.iso 3.83GB

    Is M$ removing Some Features/MSDN offline help/Optimizing Something/Removing Support for something ?

    Any information on this drastic size decrease for each progressive version ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. LostED

    LostED SVF Patch Lover

    Jul 30, 2009
    6,672
    18,462
    210
    #104 LostED, Jul 22, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. axiohm

    axiohm MDL Novice

    Dec 31, 2011
    8
    0
    0
    #105 axiohm, Jul 23, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2015
    Hello.. I'm having a problem with VS2015 Ent. edition. Installation was susscessfully, no errors, all fine.. but when attemptinn to run VS2015, errors related with packages ( same as mentioned here: Packages not loading after installing visual studio 2015 RTM via Stackoverflow; sorry but I can't place links in my post) are shown and I can't create new projects or open projects that already exists.

    I had Visual Studio 2015 RC installed and basically installed Visual Studio 2015 RTM over it. Couldn't find anything on the internet that said you couldn't do this. Don't know if this is relevant to the problem. Unfortunatly when I started up VS 2015 RTM for the first time after restarting it popped up messageboxes with: "The 'Microsoft.VisualStudio.Editor.Implementation.EditorPackage' package did not load correctly" Also:
    • XamarinShellPackage
    • TestWindowPackage
    • NuGetPackage
    • ErrorListPackage
    It said to look in the ActivityLog.xml. I couldn't find Microsoft.VisualStudio.Editor.Implementation.EditorPackage. But for XamarinShellPackage it said: <entry> <record>339</record> <time>2015/07/21 13:01:54.011</time> <type>Error</type> <source>VisualStudio</source> <description>SetSite failed for package [XamarinShellPackage]</description> <guid>{2D510815-1C4E-4210-BD82-3D9D2C56C140}</guid> <hr>80070057 - E_INVALIDARG</hr> <errorinfo>'providers' cannot contain a null (Nothing in Visual Basic) element. Parameter name: providers</errorinfo> </entry> <entry> <record>340</record> <time>2015/07/21 13:01:54.013</time> <type>Error</type> <source>VisualStudio</source> <description>End package load [XamarinShellPackage]</description> <guid>{2D510815-1C4E-4210-BD82-3D9D2C56C140}</guid> <hr>80070057 - E_INVALIDARG</hr> <errorinfo>'providers' cannot contain a null (Nothing in Visual Basic) element. Parameter name: providers</errorinfo> </entry> For TestWindowPackage: <entry> <record>394</record> <time>2015/07/21 13:02:02.751</time> <type>Error</type> <source>TestWindowPackage</source> <description>TestWindowPackage.Initialize failed with exception: System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object. at Microsoft.VisualStudio.TestWindow.VsHost.TestWindowPackage.Initialize() PackageContainer loaded: False </description> </entry> <entry> <record>395</record> <time>2015/07/21 13:02:02.752</time> <type>Error</type> <source>VisualStudio</source> <description>SetSite failed for package [TestWindowPackage]</description> <guid>{BFC24BF4-B994-4757-BCDC-1D5D2768BF29}</guid> <hr>80004003 - E_POINTER</hr> <errorinfo>Object reference not set to an instance of an object.</errorinfo> </entry> For NuGetPackage: <entry> <record>405</record> <time>2015/07/21 13:02:04.096</time> <type>Error</type> <source>VisualStudio</source> <description>SetSite failed for package [NuGetPackage]</description> <guid>{5FCC8577-4FEB-4D04-AD72-D6C629B083CC}</guid> <hr>80004003 - E_POINTER</hr> <errorinfo>Object reference not set to an instance of an object.</errorinfo> </entry> <entry> <record>406</record> <time>2015/07/21 13:02:04.096</time> <type>Error</type> <source>VisualStudio</source> <description>End package load [NuGetPackage]</description> <guid>{5FCC8577-4FEB-4D04-AD72-D6C629B083CC}</guid> <hr>80004003 - E_POINTER</hr> <errorinfo>Object reference not set to an instance of an object.</errorinfo> </entry> For ErrorListPackage it said: <entry> <record>409</record> <time>2015/07/21 13:02:04.624</time> <type>Information</type> <source>VisualStudio</source> <description>Begin package load [ErrorListPackage]</description> <guid>{4A9B7E50-AA16-11D0-A8C5-00A0C921A4D2}</guid> </entry> <entry> <record>410</record> <time>2015/07/21 13:02:04.629</time> <type>Error</type> <source>VisualStudio</source> <description>SetSite failed for package [ErrorListPackage]</description> <guid>{4A9B7E50-AA16-11D0-A8C5-00A0C921A4D2}</guid> <hr>80004003 - E_POINTER</hr> <errorinfo>Object reference not set to an instance of an object.</errorinfo> </entry> What I have done so far:
    • At Tools --> Extensions and Updates I have tried to de-install and re-install the extensions. But when I click on the menu item "Extensions and Updates" I get the "Object reference not set" exception?? So I can't try this option basically.
      • I have deinstalled Visual Studio 2015 and reinstalled it. No effect.
      • I have done what is suggested here xxxxxxxxx at 13-2-2015 at 16:49. No effect. In fact the entire exact same folder structure and files (at a quick glance) gets copied back after starting up Visual Studio 2015 again.
    So... Any suggestions out there?
    Notice: The diference between the mentioned post and my own experience is that VS2015 RC was previously uninstalled before install the RTM version.

    Someone knows how to fix it?.
     
  6. moine

    moine MDL Junior Member

    Jul 3, 2015
    57
    18
    0
  7. axiohm

    axiohm MDL Novice

    Dec 31, 2011
    8
    0
    0
    #107 axiohm, Jul 23, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2015
    old Packages from VS2015 RC issue - FIXED

    Just right now I'm working with VS2015 without problems. How I fixed the package issues?. I want to place my experience here, for any dude that has same issues.

    Uninstalling VS2015 RC (Release Candidate) some folders related to Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0 and Visual Studio 2015 remains (are not deleted) next to uninstallation process causing that old or previous packages are attempted to be loaded when VS2015 RTM starts. Folders are allocated in the Program Files (x86) and Documents root folders.

    1) Delete those folders manually.
    2) Repair your VS2015 RTM installation.

    Done!.

    Thank you for your help.
     
  8. sevenacids

    sevenacids MDL Addicted

    Aug 17, 2012
    669
    230
    30
    Pre-release Windows 10 SDKs don't work with the Visual Studio 2015 RTM. We'll have to wait until July 29th, the matching (Windows 10 RTM) SDK will be released that day alongside Windows 10. It's been on Channel9, and also some VS blog post mentioned it.
     
  9. Erik B

    Erik B MDL Member

    Oct 10, 2008
    101
    26
    10
  10. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,729
    6,729
    270
    if I had to guess, I would say better delta/compression. Recompiling old code with new more efficient and smaller footprint possibly. There is a huge difference though. Considering you are showing two giant x86 vs a combo iso, my idea of normal on sizes would always make the combo the biggest.

    New days, new ways, its the MS way today lol dunno man, but I wont grumble about the smaller sizes. I keep buying bigger and bigger drives as it is, just to keep up! lol
     
  11. qewlpal

    qewlpal MDL Addicted

    Jun 25, 2010
    575
    1,983
    30
    Me neither, but I am more interested if anything is removed or not ?
    For eg:
    VS 2008 Team Suite (equivalent to VS2013 Ultimate/2015 Enterprise) contained Offline MSDN help of about 2GB, which if I am not mistaken, was removed from VS 2010 and required complete reliance on online MSDN documentation.

    I am thinking on similar lines. Hope I am wrong, and as you said better delta/compression or other clever optimizations.. but there is no official Microsoft release notes/document which confirms either, that I can find yet..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Erik B

    Erik B MDL Member

    Oct 10, 2008
    101
    26
    10
    The first Visual Studio 2013 ISO
    VS2013_RTM_ULT_ENU.iso (probably downloaded from MS, my date 2013-11-12)
    => 2 953 572 kB

    So no, MS have not substantially altered the size of the image of Visual Studio.

    The reason why en_visual_studio_ultimate_2013_with_update_4_x86_dvd_5935075.iso is over 7 GB is beyond me as it doesn't contain anything more than the original iso (I assume). Maybe someone who have done diffs and patches of the isos can say what the extra space is actually about. To me it's a couple of :eek::eek:
     
  13. darkradeon

    darkradeon MDL Novice

    Nov 10, 2007
    47
    19
    0
    The updated version of Vs come with more Windows Phone images then the RTM (one per each WP update plus the various different screen sizes configurations), this is the main reason of the different ISO size.
     
  14. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    409
    285
    10
    Any links to VS2015 Ultimate?
     
  15. Erik B

    Erik B MDL Member

    Oct 10, 2008
    101
    26
    10
    Look at first page of this thread
     
  16. Erik B

    Erik B MDL Member

    Oct 10, 2008
    101
    26
    10
    No signs of Windows 10 SDK yet as far as I can see o_O
     
  17. Erik B

    Erik B MDL Member

    Oct 10, 2008
    101
    26
    10
  18. fockoff

    fockoff MDL Junior Member

    Jan 5, 2015
    57
    1
    0
    Visual Studio Professional 2015, Visual Studio Enterprise 2015 & Visual Studio Test Professional 2015 are the only editions for this release. There's NO Ultimate edition.

    Visual Studio Team Foundation Server 2015 will be released later this year.
     
  19. user_hidden

    user_hidden MDL Expert

    Dec 18, 2007
    1,034
    1,052
    60
    ultimate is now the Enterprise edition
     
  20. nitr00

    nitr00 MDL Novice

    Jul 21, 2015
    1
    0
    0
    #120 nitr00, Jul 30, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017