What is your PC configuration ?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by jime1, Dec 25, 2014.

  1. jadinolf

    jadinolf MDL Member

    Jun 1, 2016
    100
    161
    10
    #41 jadinolf, Jun 13, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2016

    Sorry but I have nothing to compare it with. My previous computers were all Celerons. I am very pleased with these CPUs and built (and use) 3 computers using it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. jime1

    jime1 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    423
    57
    10
    Celerons !!! :(
    You must have been using it with like, windows 98 on them o_O
     
  3. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    3,085
    1,763
    120
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. jayblok

    jayblok MDL Guru

    Dec 26, 2010
    3,161
    2,516
    120
    dell optilex g1,256 MB of ram,Intel Pentium II 2ghz,1 250gb maxtor hard drive,agp video,windows xp pro
     
  5. Bat.1

    Bat.1 MDL Addicted

    Oct 18, 2014
    831
    908
    30
  6. jadinolf

    jadinolf MDL Member

    Jun 1, 2016
    100
    161
    10
    I was using Windows XP.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. jime1

    jime1 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    423
    57
    10
    #47 jime1, Jun 22, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2016
    (OP)
    OMG, the Celeron army !!o_O
    I've used a PC with Celeron + 256mb ram + windows xp sp2, its really slow. Installed latest Firefox on it and it takes its time to open up.
    It felt like the PC was telling me that its was really really tired :31:.
    Condition was the same even with 512MB RAM.

    Win 10 on Celeron !!? :(

    Oh, hey there P II !
    The new Celeron must be good, I hope.
     
  8. jaheen100

    jaheen100 MDL Novice

    Jul 1, 2016
    5
    1
    0
    Intel Core, 512 MB RAM, 120 GB HDD, 17inches monitor, Motherboard (System Board) has everything inbuilt.
     
  9. Katzenfreund

    Katzenfreund MDL Expert

    Jul 15, 2016
    1,372
    814
    60
    Without giving boring tech details, it’s a reasonable but not spectacular modern system. But if there’s one thing I like most, that is often underrated, is a large monitor. I have 20 in and wish it was more – size does matter.

    And I’m certainly not bragging about my Windows 10, it’s not a good as my previous XP.
     
  10. GiSSelo

    GiSSelo MDL Novice

    Nov 4, 2012
    2
    1
    0
    My

    :eek:

    Operating System: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    CASE: None, mounted on aluminium plate.
    CPU: Intel Core i3 4130T @ 2.90GHz Haswell 22nm Technology
    RAM: 16,0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. ET2221I-B85 (LGA1150)
    Graphics: ET2221I (1920x1080@59Hz) VG248 (1920x1080@59Hz) Intel HD Graphics 4400 (ASUStek Computer Inc)
    Storage: 476GB Samsung SSD 850 PRO 512GB (SSD) 232GB Crucial_CT250MX200SSD6 (SSD)
    Audio: Realtek High Definition Audio

    It's a Asus ET2221 ALL-IN-ONE that fell and smashed it's monitor at work, so free stuffs rules. :clap:
    Have it connected to one of my 24" monitors via the HDMI. Just for web browsing, mail and other small thing, for gaming I have another monster.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. markste159

    markste159 MDL Novice

    Sep 15, 2016
    9
    1
    0
    Mine is Windows 7 32 Bit system and 2GB Ram.
     
  12. crazyodaz

    crazyodaz MDL Novice

    Feb 7, 2016
    22
    6
    0
    #52 crazyodaz, Sep 21, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2016
    I prolly got the worst "JACKED UP" puter here, but only because i'm too busy to actually sit down format, and set everything right, thats the thing bout these dang SSD's -- everybody all paranoid to setting them right and correctly aligned, by all standards this computer should not be running, atleast not with the Samsung 850 up front like is

    so what we got? slow, 5+yr old computer

    Asus P8P67-PRO v3.1 (after the recall) ASMEDIA and Marvell stuff still on stock firmwares, need to mod them one day
    i7-2600k Sandybridge w/ 32gb 2133 DDR3 (just got the extra ram for the VMware) cause Linux sure dont use it
    On that Linux, yes running Peppermint 7, right now, very slimmed down fast version of Mint 18, actually pretty good little OS, loads up under 500mb leaving all my other garbage to hog the rest of the 32gb --- Don't worry, sounds half way decent for a 5yr old machine till I tell ya I got it bogged down with Nvidia 550TI card, could run sli on the asus, but dang 550's still too expensive, they should be $25 by now :p

    Wrap it all together with 6HDD's enough for small pictures and digital etch-a-scetch it is half way decent, still cant complain for being such a old machine, Asus and Sandybridge was the way to go back then, I do THROTTLE the CPU and it is on Corsair Water right now, slight and minor OC tops out around 4.6ghz --

    She is Dual-Booting with partially set-up installed Win7, more for play and experiement, this is where you notice my earlier note about the 850 SSD up front, prolly not the wisest move to dual-boot UEFI-MODE with Win7 and Linux -- I prolly should take that out and stop hurting my poor samsung

    5+ years, can you believe that? Honestly I think its pure BS!! computers used to become outdated the moment you bought one, My sandybridge is 2nd Generation, and it was'nt till recently the Skylakes really notice a punch? even then, money and budget wise, the cost to replace MB, RAM, CPU the peformance increase of a skylake would not be that apealing

    well, ok, so not really a gamer, just video edits and such, Hopefully AMD and Intel step up this nonsense, todays world is virtulization , gotta run virtual machines inside of virtual machines just to hide all the telemetry from us, I could barely imagine keeping my old Athlon2 for 5 years, or even my 486DX/33 for 5 years

    k, Rant is over, I really Cant complain, Will I get another 5yrs out of her, prolly not, this new AMD ZEN thing might wake intel back up and they might actually compete again --- besides, think the min requirement for Windows 10 SP2.4b will be like a 20core chip and 1TB of DDR9 Memory :D
     

    Attached Files:

  13. jime1

    jime1 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    423
    57
    10
    :eek: Great Great :tasty: !! ..... Kindly help me out with Linux issues (puppy Linux) I got an old Presario, and I want to install Linux on it to learn basic Linux...
    I'll post my queries in the proper sections or I'll just PM you :mushy:
     
  14. wazzock

    wazzock MDL Senior Member

    Oct 22, 2016
    339
    185
    10
    I had a similar idea, mount a mobo n bits on a lian li tray then mount inside furniture.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. GOD666

    GOD666 MDL Expert

    Aug 1, 2015
    1,972
    2,046
    60
    It is nearly 6 years old but it works and is still powerful enough (for now). I am actually glad that when I buy a PC I do not buy a "throw away" computer. I like to get years (at least a decade) out of my hardware whenever possible.

    If I can run even the latest programs and games in the lowest possible setting without it freezing and crashing, I figure it is good enough. And although my PC is 6 years old, I'm still fragging people online.:worthy:
     

    Attached Files:

  16. wazzock

    wazzock MDL Senior Member

    Oct 22, 2016
    339
    185
    10
    #56 wazzock, Oct 29, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2016
    Its good enough for you, thats all that matters. :)

    I had an athlon II x3 435 and it was a damn decent little cpu for 60gbp. Thats why i knew an a8 7600 would be enough for my needs. And it was practically the same price as the x3. :)

    AMD = good enough for many :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. wazzock

    wazzock MDL Senior Member

    Oct 22, 2016
    339
    185
    10
    Funny thing is, most people forget how capable xp is with a quad core and single stick 4gb ram :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. wazzock

    wazzock MDL Senior Member

    Oct 22, 2016
    339
    185
    10
    I agree, im finding stuff hard with a 17" 4.3. :( Next monitor will have to be 24" 1920x1080 at least :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. ThomasMann

    ThomasMann MDL Expert

    Dec 31, 2015
    1,248
    208
    60
    No question....
    ....but do yourself a favor, never install Win 7, you may find that xp is a lot less "capable" than you believed.
     
  20. wazzock

    wazzock MDL Senior Member

    Oct 22, 2016
    339
    185
    10
    I find xp more capable than 7 for my needs. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...