When building a "Good" computer, which CPU is better/best? AMD or INTEL?

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by John_Wolf, May 30, 2012.

1. John_Wolf

John_Wolf MDL Novice

Apr 7, 2012
    Hello ! :) Names, John

Anywho my father and I have plans on building a Computer. We are looking to spend roughly 800 US dollars on it. What should we keep in mind when building a computer? Which CPU would be best for the money? From what I hear, INTEL is better, "When building Gaming computers I always go for Intel (Cuz of the speed)," is what I hear my friends say. And that AMD is if you wanna go "Cheap," so if you have the money, go INTEL instead. Any tips or advice? Also what makes a computer fast? Is it a collection of things like the CPU, RAM, and IHD speed? I'm new to computers, only experience is building 2 of them ( which was enjoyable). We currently have two build Intel Computers, one that cost 1G and another that cost roughly 500, Now my father wants a computer for himself, so we are dishing out another ~800 for him. But he has the idea that (He has no computer knowledge/experience) that AMD might be good or better. Yeah haha, I know there are a couple of questions in here, sorry for making them all over the place. Thanks in advance for your comments. :)

-John_Wolf
    :eek:

2. Calistoga

Calistoga MDL Senior Member

Jul 25, 2009
  3. hanor

hanor MDL Novice

May 8, 2012
    #3 hanor, Jun 6, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2012
    Out of experience, I would say Intel. I had different AMD's before and was always glad to change to Intel.
    Far better in performance and speed manipulation. There is so much more available in tweaks etc. for Intel and more logical to understand.

4. LatinMcG

LatinMcG Bios Borker

Feb 27, 2011
    Original 8086 or some clone hmmm

5. nodnar

nodnar MDL Expert

Oct 15, 2011
    of course it depends on your location..

here in holland, you can order this

MINI Intel i5 3550 4x3.3Ghz HD2500 DVDRW 1TB SATA3 HD 8GB DDR PC