Where can I download preinstalled OEM apps for all OEM Brands?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Arthur Durand, Jan 22, 2019.

1. Arthur Durand

Arthur Durand MDL Novice

Jul 29, 2015
    Hi

I am a support technician and work with many certified refurbished desktops and laptops, most of them with no OS installed, I'd like to have all the decent OEM preinstalled software at hand to save me a lot of time!

I'm talking about apps like the HP Support Assistant and the Dell SupportAssist amongst others!

Can this thread be a discussion amongst peers where we share which OEM apps we like to preinstall and why?

I am for example unable to download the Dell SupportAssist to install to an offline machine!

I would also like to know if someone can share the official OEM branding files of OEM branded machines, I suspect that OEMs has a dynamic way of branding their PCs and laptops, what I mean by this is that all the files and registry settings regarding OEM info is basically the same, I believe they have some toll run at OOBE that detects the model number and then brands the machine accordingly, can anyone share some light on this?

2. Arthur Durand

Arthur Durand MDL Novice

Jul 29, 2015
    I for example use DriverPack Solutions to install most of the drivers after a clean install of Windows 10. I have written a batch file that cleans up and remove any traces of Driver Pack Solutions which I run after using DRPsu to install most of the drivers!

Afterwards, I like to install said brand's official support utility where the utility is responsible for keeping drivers up to date amongst others!

I wouldn't want to install all OEM software as I'm of opinion that the majority is bloatware!

3. Enthousiast

Enthousiast MDL Tester

Oct 30, 2009
    Most here call ALL those apps "bloatware" and going thru all hoops to get rid of them, not minding their install will be crippled but still.