Which bios and possibility to modify?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by 7thguest, Aug 21, 2009.

  1. 7thguest

    7thguest MDL Junior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    66
    1
    0
    Hi!

    My 2nd laptop is an Acer Travelmate 223XC.
    Does anybody know which bios this NB has?
    I guess there is no SLIC information in the bios yet. Would it be possible to add SLIC 2.1 table?

    THX
     
  2. 7thguest

    7thguest MDL Junior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    66
    1
    0
    Nobody knows??? :(
     
  3. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,773
    1,085
    60
    #3 Mr Jinje, Aug 21, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2009
    Fed-Ex me your machine, I will power it off, power it on, hit the button to enter the BIOS and write it down on paper for you. No guarantee I will ship it back to you though. After you get the BIOS type, search the forum, that should help.
     
  4. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    491
    180
    Its a phoenix..do some research for yourself...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. 7thguest

    7thguest MDL Junior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    66
    1
    0
    Wow - you seem to be a very clever guy!
    The only thing you'll see is 'acer bios.....'
    Nothing you really can change - very minimized bios!

    Everest says Wistron bios dated 04-17-02 :confused:
     
  7. 7thguest

    7thguest MDL Junior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    66
    1
    0
    OK, one step forward - THX so far!
    But when I try to open it with Phoenix editor it refuses to handle this file.
    But I guess this should work cause it's a very old bios - shouldn't it? :confused:

    I wonder if it would be possible to insert SLP and SLIC to this bios?
     
  8. Hazar

    Hazar MDL Guru

    Jul 29, 2009
    2,523
    452
    90
    #8 Hazar, Aug 21, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Phoenix bioses are very difficult to modify. WoW7 may be a viable solution for a Phoenix board if you are unable to modify it, but keep digging for info on modding phoenix bioses. PBE IS notoriously unstable, so a softmod solution may be viable if all else fails. You also may be very lucky and obtain a BIOS update which may have a SLIC 2.1 in it or be compatible with PBE.

    WoW7.0.1b in case you need it
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/8209
     
  9. 4D696B65

    4D696B65 MDL Member

    Jun 28, 2009
    123
    2
    10
    That notebook is so old it can barely run xp. No sense trying to put a slic in it.
     
  10. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    491
    180
    Do you have bios update? Smart to upload for visual if you do.....:D:D:eek:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. 7thguest

    7thguest MDL Junior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    66
    1
    0
    It's not original configuration > 1GB RAM and 150 GB Harddisk.
    XP is working very well!!! ;)
    Just wanna try...
     
  12. 4D696B65

    4D696B65 MDL Member

    Jun 28, 2009
    123
    2
    10
    With the boost in ram it should run xp well. I still thing slic is a long shot at best. Good luck with it though.
     
  13. 7thguest

    7thguest MDL Junior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    66
    1
    0
  14. 7thguest

    7thguest MDL Junior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    66
    1
    0
    Ok, I know that vista needs too much ram and other resources to run on this nb.
    But Win7 is said to be much more economical (for RAM...) - of course without all the graphic-gimmicks ;)
    Thx anyway