Which bulid will I get if I download Windows 10 using Media Creation Tool

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Ultra Male, Dec 3, 2015.

  1. Ultra Male

    Ultra Male MDL Expert

    May 30, 2014
    1,127
    503
    60
    so if I use the Media Creation Tool now, which build would it download?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    16,848
    21,186
    340
    For the xxxxxth time, 10586.0 ;)
     
  3. Ultra Male

    Ultra Male MDL Expert

    May 30, 2014
    1,127
    503
    60
    :D
    For the xxxxxxth time, thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    16,848
    21,186
    340
    When you start the MCT, (unhide hidden files) and go to "C:\$Windows.~WS" there should be a file called "products.xml", that shows which esd file the MCT downloads to create the iso.
     
  5. Gharlane00

    Gharlane00 MDL Addicted

    Aug 26, 2009
    530
    133
    30
    Just hovering the mouse over the media creation tool .exe file will tell you the build number it points to
     
  6. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    16,848
    21,186
    340
    When the refresh esd's (10240.16393) were released you could download them using the same mct which downloaded earlier the 10240.16384 esd's, so the properties of the exe are not always 100% trustworthy.
     
  7. naxal

    naxal MDL Junior Member

    May 15, 2014
    92
    6
    0
    Blame MS for this confusion, we the poor users aren't upto the new infos all the time..

    :mad:

    First it was updated to 10586, the some reported getting 10586.03.. Then it went back to 10240, now again it seems its coming to 10586.00

    :g:
     
  8. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    16,848
    21,186
    340
    #8 Enthousiast, Dec 3, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2015
    When people first properly read the threads there wouldn't be so many multiple questions ;)

    Those who reported it whas 10586.3 were not trustworthy or didn't now what they were talking about, the iso whas and still is 10586.0 (only the en-us and en-gb sites/mct gave 10240 for a few days), after install the oobe zdp and maybe the latest cumulative were already installed and than it could be 10586.3 or higher.
     
  9. Ultra Male

    Ultra Male MDL Expert

    May 30, 2014
    1,127
    503
    60
    ohh you were right, this is the version it downloaded:

    10586.0.151029-1700.th2_release_CLIENTMULTI_RET_x64fre_ar-sa.esd
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Gharlane00

    Gharlane00 MDL Addicted

    Aug 26, 2009
    530
    133
    30
    If the machine is connected to the internet there is a good chance that it will say 10586.17 by the time it takes you to the desktop, but it will start with 10586.0 until the major build number goes up and we get new ISOs
     
  11. Sakuya

    Sakuya MDL Junior Member

    Jul 16, 2015
    58
    17
    0
    Oh so it's at 10586.17 already? I just updated to 10586.14 the other day, as I have deferred updates turned on, I have to turn it off to receive build updates.

    But yeah, if your computer is connected to the internet and W10 has the drivers built in, it will start downloading and installing the build updates before reaching the desktop.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. MrG

    MrG MDL Addicted

    May 31, 2010
    855
    201
    30
    I have build 10586.17 also in Regedit & winver.
    Just finished updating the Win7 x86 Main OS to Win10 x86 Pro.
    At the beginning of the update I chose "Download & install updates"

    note: I used the WU to do the update as it wanted a PW to run the update off the DVD.
     
  13. Kim100

    Kim100 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 17, 2009
    347
    100
    10
    #13 Kim100, Dec 6, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2015
    It would seem that each Media Creation Tool is linked to a build number which is a real pain. The original Media Creation Tool I have still points to an old build but a newer version obtained from the MS site yesterday points to the latest build. The new tool provides very limited choices compared to the old one, just x64 or x32. Or am I missing something? Will this new ISO images recognise and update Home and/or Pro?:g:
     
  14. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    16,848
    21,186
    340
    You have the 10240 Tool, and the new tool downloads (available since nov. 14th) 10586.0 the same as the MSDN/Techbench iso's.
     
  15. Kim100

    Kim100 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 17, 2009
    347
    100
    10
    #15 Kim100, Dec 6, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2015
    Yep, that's what I said, but its a crap tool, very limited choice compared to the original. Why have a different tool for each build? Its completely retarded. A Windows 10 Media Creation Tool should always link to the latest build no matter when it was obtained.:mad:
     
  16. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    16,848
    21,186
    340
    Maybe it will, the 10240.16384 MCT also did downwload 10240.16393. But we already have all MSDN iso's in reach, so no panic ;)
     
  17. Ultra Male

    Ultra Male MDL Expert

    May 30, 2014
    1,127
    503
    60
    #17 Ultra Male, Dec 6, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Home / Pro are now in the same ISO, depending on what product key you enter in the setup

    or if you use the eif.cg file and copy it to the sources folder, you would be given a choice even without entering a key:

    Code:
    [EditionID]
    Pro
    [Channel]
    Retail
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    16,848
    21,186
    340
    #18 Enthousiast, Dec 6, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    When upgrading on a self build system or a system without a win 8.x oem:Dm key, 10586 will (as 10240 also did) choose the right version for upgrading (even x86 or x64) by itself. Even when you have more indexes (such as enterprise and education) added to the install.wim/esd/swm.

    Because of the new 10586 feature to read out oem:Dm bioskeys (8 and up) and some users did the "Upgrade to get a HWID process or the gatherosstate.exe trick" to get a Pro HWID on a win 8.x/10 Home system they have to mod the iso/usb media with an ei.cfg to force professional or give you the choice between Home and Pro during a clean install.

    So if there isn't a 8.x Core/10 Home oem:Dm bioskey it will give you the choice during a clean install between Home and Pro (or other indexes when put in) without the use of an ei.cfg, you only have to skip any key input questions.

    @J-Lawrence, actually it should be "Professional" (as abbodi1406 also mentioned in a earlier comment) in the ei.cfg but it also would work if you put in _Default instead.

    Code:
    [Channel]
    _DEFAULT
    
    [VL]
    0
    This one also gives you the choice between the indexes:

    Code:
    [Channel]
    OEM
    
    [VL]
    0
     
  19. Kim100

    Kim100 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 17, 2009
    347
    100
    10
    Is there a tutorial regarding this file, I have not looked at before:g:
     
  20. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    16,848
    21,186
    340