Why Microsoft Discontinuing Windows Embedded family?

Discussion in 'Windows Embedded' started by Shortyportuguese, Oct 9, 2021.

  1. Shortyportuguese

    Shortyportuguese MDL Senior Member

    Apr 3, 2019
    268
    82
    10
    I don't understand the reason of Microsoft Discontinuing Windows Embedded Family of OSes.
    What was the reasons behind? Is this gap making Linux grows in market share?
    Thanks in beforehand.
     
  2. Michel

    Michel MDL Expert

    Jul 29, 2009
    1,859
    254
    60
    That's not bad either because linux can do alot these days. Games from windows runs as great if not better in linux then in windows. Running Pop! OS 21.04 and i am 2 months windows free now. All my games runs great, everything i did in windows i can easely do in linux.

    Oh and a few more things, Linux does not have telemetery and it does not need to reboot after every update that got released LOL!
     
  3. pm67310

    pm67310 MDL Expert

    Sep 6, 2011
    1,272
    758
    60
    Not discontinued => windows 10 iot enterprise and LTSC are the new familly
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Shortyportuguese

    Shortyportuguese MDL Senior Member

    Apr 3, 2019
    268
    82
    10
    But they are not modular and lightweight as WES
     
  5. pm67310

    pm67310 MDL Expert

    Sep 6, 2011
    1,272
    758
    60
    Yes last product modular was windows 8.0 embedded standard but no kms capable... and not activation other than retail keys works / slic not possible / not Hwid... only sad key with networks required..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. vmvmx

    vmvmx MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2016
    2
    0
    0
    Android or other trimmed Linux have taken the position.
     
  7. Tiger-1

    Tiger-1 MDL Guru

    Oct 18, 2014
    7,550
    9,794
    240
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. acer-5100

    acer-5100 MDL Expert

    Dec 8, 2018
    1,508
    1,024
    60
  9. pm67310

    pm67310 MDL Expert

    Sep 6, 2011
    1,272
    758
    60
  10. acer-5100

    acer-5100 MDL Expert

    Dec 8, 2018
    1,508
    1,024
    60
    I wrote "not 100% true" and not "false" for a reason

    Whatever this way you can even use the WMC which (unlike WES7) is impossible to run on WES8 (given there isn't a patched version of WMC for W8).
     
  11. acer-5100

    acer-5100 MDL Expert

    Dec 8, 2018
    1,508
    1,024
    60
    Install?

    download

    Standard_8_32Bit_Bootable_IBW.iso

    or

    Standard_8_64Bit_Bootable_IBW.iso

    boot and follow the instructions
     
  12. kkhww

    kkhww MDL Junior Member

    Mar 15, 2021
    58
    21
    0
    And how to activate wes 8? None of the keys on Google are useful to activate it. Only trial keys were found.
     
  13. acer-5100

    acer-5100 MDL Expert

    Dec 8, 2018
    1,508
    1,024
    60
    #14 acer-5100, Mar 9, 2022
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2022

    There is no known, "normal" method to activate it.

    But you can use my way, turn it to w8 pro/wmc/enterprise, then activate it.

    You need also to disable/delete the embedded licensing service, or after 6 months your sistem will shut down every 2 hrs, no matter if activated or not.
     
  14. kkhww

    kkhww MDL Junior Member

    Mar 15, 2021
    58
    21
    0
    And how to turn to win8 pro/wmc/ent successfully?
    And I'd like to deploy it offline to delete the licensing service.
     
  15. acer-5100

    acer-5100 MDL Expert

    Dec 8, 2018
    1,508
    1,024
    60
  16. kkhww

    kkhww MDL Junior Member

    Mar 15, 2021
    58
    21
    0
    #17 kkhww, Mar 10, 2022
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2022
    And
    And which files should i copy as the sku cert? Just what i described?
    Like files in Windows/servicing/package
    Ms.brandng.package.....pro......mum and.cat files
    Ms.edition.package.....pro......mum and.cat files
    Ms.professional.package...........mum and.cat files
    And
    Ms.sku.package.....professional......mum and.cat files
     
  17. acer-5100

    acer-5100 MDL Expert

    Dec 8, 2018
    1,508
    1,024
    60

    Copy the sku you want to use, Pro/Enterprise/ProWMC/....

    then use it's serial to activate

    Dont forget to replace also the \ẁindows\branding folder, given in this case the switch is not meant to be temporary,
     
  18. kkhww

    kkhww MDL Junior Member

    Mar 15, 2021
    58
    21
    0
    Ye
    Yes, but my question is that i just place the Windows/branding folder from professional system inside wes8 permanently, right?
     
  19. acer-5100

    acer-5100 MDL Expert

    Dec 8, 2018
    1,508
    1,024
    60
    just follow what i wrote.

    branding folder is needed to activate successful, is not mandatory if you are going from server to client, just to install a driver or a program, then going back to server