Win 7 Embedded Standard "Activation System"

Discussion in 'Windows Embedded' started by Avexrion, Dec 21, 2014.

1. Avexrion

Avexrion Guest

I thought I would ask here as people seem to be familiar with how this rather niche OS works.

I know that Windows 7 (and Server 2008 R2) have three main activation methods:
    1. Standard retail "FPP" authentication with Microsoft.
    2. Volume license "VOL" with MAC or an internal KMS server.
    3. OEM license "OEM" which seems to check computer BIOS information.

These may not be 100% accurate as I am still learning about the overall process.

Now, Windows 7 Embedded has a fourth method very similar to the old Windows XP VOL licenses where a key is entered and the OS appears to be locally activated in a permanent method. What exactly is done differently with this OS compared to the others?

Therefore, my question is, is Windows Embedded Standard 7 similar in that it has files dealing with licensing/activation that are different or is this built closer to the kernel somehow?

Some forum posts mention converting between retail "FPP" to "VOL" copies by replacing certain files. However, the files replaced already came from the VOL version of the OS.

Thanks!

2. superKangaroo

superKangaroo MDL Novice

Jan 4, 2015
    #2 superKangaroo, Jan 12, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2015
    I have activated “Standard 7 SP1 32bit IBW.iso” simply entering the key.
    "slmgr.vbs -ipk XGY72-BRBBT-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX"

Without KMS emulators, without any modifications or invasions.

It works for 32 and 64 bit.

It is strangely, but...

This image:
    Sha1:828311930602a92278e6857ae5cf1338c021ad09
    Md5: 8928dc77319cde42985eabd9b431de97
    Downloaded from MS (find “Standard 7 SP1 32bit IBW.iso” via Google on MS site - I can not insert the link, the forum engine does not allow).

And this:
    “Standard 7 SP1 64bit IBW.iso”
    Sha256:A371D165C6F6E6012BA6F01942ABB252E613FAD454557FC32E48F0130E0934EC