Win7 Install potential on a Coffee lake laptop

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by dreamydreamy, Jan 6, 2020.

  1. exilor

    exilor MDL Novice

    Dec 27, 2019
    7
    5
    0
    That is the drver for UHD Intel graphics that is working fine. It is a driver for dedicated graphics card nVidia GTX 1650 Max-Q that I could not find anywhere.
     
  2. dreamydreamy

    dreamydreamy MDL Junior Member

    Dec 25, 2019
    74
    17
    0
  3. dreamydreamy

    dreamydreamy MDL Junior Member

    Dec 25, 2019
    74
    17
    0
  4. exilor

    exilor MDL Novice

    Dec 27, 2019
    7
    5
    0
    Okay let's start with nVidia problem.

    Full hardware ID for my dedicated card is: PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1F91&SUBSYS_50C11558&REV_A1
    But I am still a bit concerned because even in the newest 442.19 drivers (from yesterday) there are still only 2 entries for 1650's and none of them has any signs of Max-Q Design version (it supposed to be 10-15% slower than regular 1650 as the core clock is significantly lowered (1020-1245 (Boost) MHz vs 1395-1560 (Boost) MHz for regular version) so I am guessing that the driver suppose to be slightly different too). But still I can still give it a go and see what will happen!

    Regarding installation of Windows 7 on my machine - I also do not have CSM option in my BIOS so I have used live Windows 10 ISO and dism command to get proper installation files on my NVME SSD. I will pm you tomorrow with all the installation details because as a new member of the community I cannot paste any links here yet ;o)
     
  5. dreamydreamy

    dreamydreamy MDL Junior Member

    Dec 25, 2019
    74
    17
    0
    #25 dreamydreamy, Feb 4, 2020
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2020
    (OP)
    Heres the text you need to add:
    in the devices area:
    %NVIDIA_DEV.1F91.50C1.1558% = Section221, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1F91&SUBSYS_50C11558

    strings area:
    NVIDIA_DEV.1F91.50C1.1558 = "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 MaxQ Custom"



    The real problem is choosing the section number ie: "Section221"
    Different section numbers provide different amount of controls in the nvidia control panel. I assume it affects the gpu functions as well? Although i saw no diffrence in gpu clock speed trying out different section numbers of other gpus.

    For me, running the same whql (non dch) driver for win 10, section221 works perfectly.
    On windows 7, im not sure which section number to use.


    Oh and not sure if you know this, you need to disable driver signing verification before installing modded drivers.
    command:
    bcdedit -set TESTSIGNING ON
    and restart
     
  6. exilor

    exilor MDL Novice

    Dec 27, 2019
    7
    5
    0
    Thank you for your reply. I have tried to modify inf file by myself yesterday and I was able to install drivers for that card.
    I have used Section 183 which is section for regular GTX 1650

    %NVIDIA_DEV.1F91% = Section183, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1F91

    The driver does work but MSI Afterburner shows that the core clock is way higher than it supposed to be for Max-Q version - under load it is always above 1400 MHz while it supposed to be between 1020-1245MHz. Of course I can bring it down to that range (-375 for core clock) with MSI Afterburner but I am still wondering if it is really safe to use it under that condition.

    By the way - I know that you wer modifying different driver but I was wondering where did you get section 221 from? I could not find such section in newest Win 10 nVidia drivers. What core clock speed have you got with your modified drivers? And last but not least what is your GPU hardware ID? Do you also have Max-Q version?
     
  7. The Freeman

    The Freeman MDL Novice

    Dec 7, 2018
    15
    8
    0
    Hi exilor.
    I also have a Clevo laptop, model N871EK with Intel i5 8300H, UHD 630, GTX 1050 Ti, and I can't find a solution to install W7.
    Installation is always gets stuck at W7 logo.
    Would you mind pm me the installation details? Thank you.
     
  8. exilor

    exilor MDL Novice

    Dec 27, 2019
    7
    5
    0
    Instalation will always get stuck in there because vga driver is not supported in UEFI installation and it needs to be disabled in order to proceed. Check your PM.
     
  9. dreamydreamy

    dreamydreamy MDL Junior Member

    Dec 25, 2019
    74
    17
    0
    #29 dreamydreamy, Feb 6, 2020
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2020
    (OP)
    You have slightly older hardware then mine, you might be lucky and have CSM in your UEFI settings. If you do change to CSM, install should be easy.

    Funny thing is, if you have CSM on your older hardware. Id trade you my gtx 1650 laptop, if i actually knew you in reall life :) I made the mistake of looking for the fastest laptop for the $$$, instead of looking for something that is win 7 compatible, didnt realize just how bad things got with latest win 10 versions.
     
  10. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    3,536
    2,093
    120
    Where are you? I'll be happy to trade a W7 laptop with you (please pm)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. dreamydreamy

    dreamydreamy MDL Junior Member

    Dec 25, 2019
    74
    17
    0
    #31 dreamydreamy, Feb 7, 2020
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2020
    (OP)
    Try pm'ing me instead. I just wrote you a whole message and then i got this error:
    "You may not start a conversation with the following recipients: Joe C."


    Edit: I must say, im really curious about what you have. Throw in the spec details for your laptop.
     
  12. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    3,536
    2,093
    120
    #32 Joe C, Feb 8, 2020
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2020
    Are you in or near Michigan?
    I have two laptops, both older models that came with Windows 7... not what I would consider a "gaming laptop"
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. dreamydreamy

    dreamydreamy MDL Junior Member

    Dec 25, 2019
    74
    17
    0
    #33 dreamydreamy, Feb 8, 2020
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2020
    (OP)
    To be honest, im a bit of a collector. I have several laptops that came with windows 7 natively. What i want right now, is a newish laptop that can run windows 7 without much hassle, meaning minimum modding.
    Id trade my 9300h gtx 1650 for a bit older quadcore cpu and like a gtx 1050 gpu or even gtx 8/9 gpu series laptop.


    If you can pm me, id rather discuss the details in private. If you cant pm, what is the cpu/gpu on those laptops you got?

    I am probably 12hr drive away from michigan. If its not to much of hassle, change your settings pm me, id rather talk privately about this kind of stuff.
     
  14. LittlePro

    LittlePro MDL Senior Member

    Jan 19, 2017
    344
    115
    10
    #34 LittlePro, Feb 9, 2020
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2020
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    3,536
    2,093
    120
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    3,536
    2,093
    120
    I'll look into my settings... did not know I had my pm's blocked.
    Honestly these are older laptops and not worth a 12 hr drive much less the trade for a nice laptop that you have. Why not put 10 LTSC on it and use it that way?
    I don't think they have more than a dual core cpu in them, I'll have to dig them out to see. I know that they have Intel graphics
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. The Freeman

    The Freeman MDL Novice

    Dec 7, 2018
    15
    8
    0
    #37 The Freeman, Feb 11, 2020
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2020
    I do not have the bloody CSM option hence my struggle. The laptop has UEFI class 3.
    I never imagined they will find a way to stop people installing W7!
     
  18. LittlePro

    LittlePro MDL Senior Member

    Jan 19, 2017
    344
    115
    10
    #38 LittlePro, Feb 11, 2020
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2020
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. LittlePro

    LittlePro MDL Senior Member

    Jan 19, 2017
    344
    115
    10
    1. Real Genius Bro!

    2. You don't have CSM in your BIOS. Is there any setting available for Legacy Boot in your BIOS ? I never came across a 3rd type of UEFI BIOS.

    Thanks. ...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...