Windows 10 Automatic Updates Enable/Disable script

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by murphy78, Jul 18, 2015.

  1. elzna

    elzna MDL Senior Member

    Aug 28, 2013
    434
    54
    10
    well that sucks
     
  2. blued

    blued MDL Junior Member

    May 31, 2007
    51
    3
    0
    Ok found something...

    go to settings and type Device Installation Settings

    That will bring up device driver installation options including not to automatically install them. Not sure if it just changes same reg settings mentioned in thread. If it does, well at least theres a GUI for it rather than messing with scripts and registry.
     
  3. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,719
    6,741
    270
    nice find regardless if mentioned. First I seen this, thanks :)

    -ed-
    going to quote you in the tweaks thread, think thats a good place for this.
     
  4. acyuta

    acyuta MDL Expert

    Mar 8, 2010
    1,712
    397
    60
    A halfway house for people with bandwidth or usage limitations.
    On a clean install, within 10 mins, win 10 starts downloading updates and they can be several GB.
    So, I did this,
    gpedit.msc
    administrative components-windows (or store?) components-windows updates
    In one entry (configure automatic updates), I enabled it and then configured it to `notify download and to notify install' (number 4). This does help as updates are not downloaded and installed automatically. I do not
    So far this works, but this is a huge problem for me personally in win 10.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cyberloner

    cyberloner MDL Member

    Sep 19, 2009
    230
    45
    10
    hi murphy78 is there anyway we can run it silently without those prompt yes and no?
    need make auto install usb here ... installation get screw by windows update that restart by it own .. lol
    Thanks
     
  6. bleedlikeme

    bleedlikeme MDL Novice

    Jul 24, 2015
    22
    5
    0
    #89 bleedlikeme, Jul 27, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    @cyberloner:

    Here's a modified script to disable AU. Works just like Murphy's but without user input. Copy and paste to Notepad, then save as .bat file.

    Code:
    @echo off
    FOR /f "tokens=4-5 delims=. " %%i in ('ver') do (
       set OSVER=%%i.%%j
    )
    if "%OSVER%" == "10.0" goto CheckAdmin
    echo ============================================================
    echo.
    echo           !!! This script requires Windows 10 !!!
    echo.
    echo ============================================================
    goto Quit
    :CheckAdmin
    FSUTIL dirty query %systemdrive% >nul
    if %errorlevel% EQU 0 goto AUStatus
       echo Set UAC = CreateObject("Shell.Application") > "%TEMP%\getadmin.vbs"
       echo UAC.ShellExecute "cmd", "/c ""%~f0 %*""", "", "runas", 1 >> "%TEMP%\getadmin.vbs"
       cscript.exe /nologo "%TEMP%\getadmin.vbs"
       EXIT /B
    :AUStatus
    cd /d "%~dp0"
    set KEY_NAME="HKLM\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsUpdate\AU"
    set VALUE_NAME="NoAutoUpdate"
    FOR /f "usebackq tokens=3*" %%A in (`REG QUERY %KEY_NAME% /v %VALUE_NAME% 2^>nul`) do (
       set VAR=%%A
    )
    if "%VAR%" == "0x1" (
       echo ============================================================
       echo.
       echo          Automatic Updates are currently DISABLED.
       echo.
       echo ============================================================
       goto Quit
    ) else (
       echo ============================================================
       echo.
       echo          Automatic Updates are currently ENABLED.
       echo.
       echo ============================================================
       echo.
       echo Disabling... please wait.
       net stop wuauserv >nul 2>&1
       REG ADD %KEY_NAME% /v %VALUE_NAME% /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f >nul
       ping -n 4 127.0.0.1 >nul
    )
    cls
    goto AUStatus
    :Quit
    echo.
    echo Closing in 5 seconds...
    ping -n 6 127.0.0.1 >nul
    EXIT
    
     
  7. Zardoc

    Zardoc MDL Addicted

    Feb 7, 2008
    590
    276
    30
    Same as Reg setting
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\DriverSearching]
    "SearchOrderConfig"=dword:00000000

    0 = "No, let me choose what to do - Never install driver software from Windows Update"
    1 = "Yes, do this automatically (recommended)"

    and I found that it does sqwat. nVidia installed driver anyways. :tasty:
     
  8. cyberloner

    cyberloner MDL Member

    Sep 19, 2009
    230
    45
    10
    #91 cyberloner, Jul 27, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    thank you pro :worthy:
     
  9. CyberTech28

    CyberTech28 MDL Junior Member

    Mar 8, 2014
    59
    7
    0
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. wasd123

    wasd123 MDL Novice

    Jul 20, 2015
    29
    11
    0

    ESET 4? Too new, I prefer ESET 2
     
  11. CyberTech28

    CyberTech28 MDL Junior Member

    Mar 8, 2014
    59
    7
    0
    It's the same as leaving all of you window's wide open with a big orange sign that says, "I'm not at home so go ahead and steal stuff out of my house".
    It's everyone own choise but still, always make sure your system is up-to-date and above all your Antivirus, Internet Security and firewall is on the latest version.:biggrin:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Ducati

    Ducati MDL Member

    Dec 8, 2008
    187
    51
    10
    Does enterprise version have a different Windows Update module or is there just a registry setting that we can modify in Windows pro to match enterprise control Windows Update.
     
  13. carstenohne

    carstenohne MDL Novice

    May 22, 2010
    7
    0
    0
    Virus alert!Auto-Update-Win10-v2.7z.exe Disable / Enable Windows Automatic Updates 10

    Hello murphy78
    Achim here is from Germany.
    Currently I prepare my PC before the Upgarde Win 10.

    I have your file

    Auto-Update-Win10-v2.7z.exe Disable / Enable Windows Automatic Updates 10

    downloaded and get a virus alert!

    Can you check it again?

    Best regards from Achim
    ____________________________________________________
    AVIRA Free Antivirus
    Erstellungsdatum der Reportdatei: Montag, 27. Juli 2015 19:07

    Lizenznehmer : Avira Antivirus Free

    Plattform : Windows 8.1 Pro
    Windowsversion : (plain) [6.3.9600]

    Versionsinformationen:
    BUILD.DAT : 15.0.12.408 93846 Bytes 15.07.2015 08:38:00
    AVSCAN.EXE : 15.0.12.402 1171384 Bytes 24.07.2015 06:36:11

    Beginn des Suchlaufs: Montag, 27. Juli 2015 19:07

    Der Suchlauf über die ausgewählten Dateien wird begonnen:

    Beginne mit der Suche in '\\TS-212P\Download\Auto-Update-Win10-v2.7z.exe'
    \\TS-212P\Download\Auto-Update-Win10-v2.7z.exe
    [FUND] Enthält Erkennungsmuster der Adware ADWARE/MultiPlug.Gen7

    1 Dateien wurden geprüft
    1 Viren bzw. unerwünschte Programme wurden gefunden

    1 Warnungen
    0 Hinweise
     
  14. Zardoc

    Zardoc MDL Addicted

    Feb 7, 2008
    590
    276
    30
    It's a false positive. Don't worry. It's OK. :tasty:
     
  15. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    7,389
    11,614
    240
    Hah, you didn't read carefully. :(
    It's some sort of download manager.
    You gotta make sure you don't run an exe program guys. It's just a 7z file with the txt inside.
    You can copy text from front page and rename to blah.cmd and run it.
     
  16. carstenohne

    carstenohne MDL Novice

    May 22, 2010
    7
    0
    0
    Feedback to Windows 10 Automatic Updates Enable/Disable script

    Hello murphy78
    I tried your script.
    My PC is new installed and has at the time no network connection.

    On the first pass of the script I get the message
    "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ SOFTWARE \ Policies \ Microsoft \ Windows \ Windows Update \ AU" was not found.

    A check of the Reg. confirmed this.

    The script then says that Automatic Updates are enabled and then asks it, if I want to block this?

    I answer with No: everything stays the same and I get the the same message.
    I answer yes: and the Reg Key is generated and the script works properly!

    :)
     
  17. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    7,389
    11,614
    240
    The first time you run the script it gives that message because the key doesn't exist.
    It's a bug.
    I could get around with with a better detection algorithm, but alas it's not super important.