Windows 10 Automatic Updates Enable/Disable script

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by murphy78, Jul 18, 2015.

  1. cyberloner

    cyberloner MDL Member

    Sep 19, 2009
    225
    42
    10
    yes welcome to auto reboot pc... :biggrin:
     
  2. Shayne

    Shayne MDL Addicted

    Jul 31, 2009
    752
    181
    30
    Has M$ not already carried this out, out of the box, many look to fix it and are not worried about a 15 minute install.

    Could not a Hotfix Repository be developed with a 3rd party software solution to download and update, under user control and time frame, like what has been carried out here with previous windows versions?

    You do not enter into M$'s equation as we all live in California and have unlimited bandwidth and resources, we do not care if you require to turn your PC off quickly or when you want to restart it as we have full control of your lifestyle. This is a decision made for you, for your own good, as you are not intelligent enough to know what is good for you or make decisions on your own, :roflmao:, I only joke and intend no disrepect as you make a very valid point, you should be able to download them elsewhere and install them where bandwidth is a problem, not anymore.

    Regards
     
  3. Matchless

    Matchless MDL Novice

    Nov 10, 2009
    42
    7
    0
    What a life saver! After updating to Windows 10 Home, I found my old laptop TW3M very slow and noticed further updates being installed hours later.
    Its going to hog my download capped and slow bandwidth and I need to control updates and only allow when I am not using the laptop and can sacrifice my download cap!

    This actually needs to be stickied as more people are going to need something like this!
    Thanks murphy78 much appreciated!:clap:
     
  4. werwaok

    werwaok MDL Junior Member

    Sep 20, 2013
    60
    3
    0
    Just to be sure: it works on Home edition?
     
  5. niel88

    niel88 MDL Novice

    Apr 13, 2015
    5
    0
    0
    Thanks a lot:)
     
  6. prakrit

    prakrit MDL Novice

    Apr 4, 2015
    11
    0
    0
    Forgive me noobie self :weep: but why is there a need to disable automatic updates? is there some danger in auto updates?? o_O
     
  7. revertex

    revertex MDL Member

    May 30, 2010
    119
    46
    10
  8. sukinsin88

    sukinsin88 MDL Addicted

    Oct 17, 2012
    732
    43
    30
    hmm why disable aut updates ? just need something to see and choose which updates i want install like in previous version of OS

    also where is option if i want insall updates for example on 15:00 hour.:confused:
     
  9. maverick09

    maverick09 MDL Junior Member

    May 30, 2012
    70
    14
    0
    #130 maverick09, Aug 5, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2015
    thx work with win10 pro 32-bit
     
  10. agodng

    agodng MDL Novice

    Aug 4, 2015
    39
    22
    0
    Hi I'm a little confused :g:
    at today after the final release 10240 was released this script "Auto-Update-Win10-v3" from murphy78 and PowerShell Module works??
    thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Y314K

    Y314K MDL Junior Member

    May 25, 2014
    51
    13
    0
    So can some of you confirm it works on Home Edition ? I see it was asked but never confirmed. Or is the auto update to hard coded into W10 Home ?
     
  12. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,826
    10,422
    210
    It should work fine on home. I tried it in a vm, but I don't think it's any different on normal machine.
     
  13. reb000t

    reb000t MDL Novice

    Oct 2, 2015
    3
    1
    0
    When visiting the download link.. "Get the zip file. It is not passworded:" mir.cr/0NBNQQE3

    Is anyone else getting a dodgy download file "AutoUpdateWin10v3.zip__15022_i1688720322_il1846593.exe" 1.2mb?

    all mirrors say from "please-road48.info" --- ??? :eek:
     
  14. erpsterm35

    erpsterm35 MDL Expert

    May 27, 2013
    1,109
    703
    60
    what web browser are you using & where are you downloading it from? try another site (the file is not that big - it's really 1.15kb)

    it'll be nice if this topic is made a sticky
     
  15. Nucleus

    Nucleus MDL Guru

    Aug 4, 2009
    2,873
    2,948
    90
    #136 Nucleus, Oct 2, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. reb000t

    reb000t MDL Novice

    Oct 2, 2015
    3
    1
    0
    #137 reb000t, Oct 3, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2015
    I am using Firefox.. 40.0.1 with noscript enabled... when clicking on the link from Nucleus (with noscript blocking all)... i was prompted to download a weird 900kb exe with same name.. not 1kb zip.. when allowing the page via noscript.. it downloads the zip, never seen this before where blocking javascript results in a suspicious trojan download. Regarding mir.cr/0NBNQQE3 - i am prompted to save an exe from "please-road56.info" and recently "stop-road1.info".. whois shows these were only registered few days ago from Panama... does anyone know whats happening? dns injection? trojan? virus? Could there be a trojan on the server (mirrorcreator.com)?

    i have tested this on a few computers and getting same results. really want to figure this out..
     
  17. reb000t

    reb000t MDL Novice

    Oct 2, 2015
    3
    1
    0
    #138 reb000t, Oct 3, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    thank you.. ;)
     
  18. zamica

    zamica MDL Member

    Oct 1, 2012
    147
    21
    10
    thanks alot
     
  19. XRobRoyX

    XRobRoyX MDL Junior Member

    Nov 17, 2012
    54
    8
    0
    When I try to download I also get an .exe file even from the link provided by Nucleus #136 Anyone know why it downloads the wrong file?

    I created .cmd file from the text in murphy78 #1 and it works, but I would like to know why the wrong file is downloaded from the links.