Windows 10 Creators Update OOBE settings

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by cocachris89, Apr 12, 2017.

  1. cocachris89

    cocachris89 MDL Senior Member

    Mar 1, 2013
    492
    147
    10
    Hey everyone,

    During the installation of the Creators Update we now have the option of using Cortana's voice control to setup your region, keyboard layout, as well as user creation.

    Is there a way in OOBE to disable the voice control, automatically setup region, keyboard etc. using an unattended answer file?
     
  2. GodHand

    GodHand MDL Senior Member

    Jul 15, 2016
    373
    401
    10
    In short: Yes. There are a handful of ways to do what you want - be it through the oobeSystem Settings Pass within the Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup hierarchy - with an unattend.xml and assigning "FirstLogonCommands" to change the group policy settings that dictate this using registry entries. You can further assign synchronous commands to do a bunch at once.

    I personally use this setting for custom batch files I have that will auto-delete oobe backup files in the Panther directory, as well as add registry settings to customize my Group Policy (disable Cortana, disable HomeGroup, disable Microsoft's shady Enhanced Storage control, etc.)
     
  3. Zot

    Zot MDL Novice

    Oct 1, 2015
    25
    10
    0
    #3 Zot, Apr 12, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Just use your old unattend file. I think there is no serious change.
    Sample
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
        <settings pass="specialize">
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-SQMApi" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="blablabla" xmlns:xsi="blablablablabla">
                <CEIPEnabled>0</CEIPEnabled>
            </component>
        </settings>
        <settings pass="windowsPE">
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="x64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="blablabla" xmlns:xsi="blablablablabla">
                <SetupUILanguage>
                    <UILanguage>en-us</UILanguage>
                </SetupUILanguage>
                <InputLocale>en-us</InputLocale>
                <SystemLocale>en-us</SystemLocale>
                <UILanguage>en-us</UILanguage>
                <UserLocale>en-us</UserLocale>
            </component>
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="blablabla" xmlns:xsi="blablablablabla">
                <UserData>
                    <AcceptEula>true</AcceptEula>
                </UserData>
                <ImageInstall>
                    <OSImage>
                        <InstallFrom>
                            <MetaData wcm:action="add">
                                <Key>/IMAGE/NAME</Key>
                                <Value>Windows 10 ENTERPRISE</Value>
                            </MetaData>
                        </InstallFrom>
                    </OSImage>
                </ImageInstall>
            </component>
        </settings>
        <settings pass="oobeSystem">
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="blablabla" xmlns:xsi="blablablablabla">
                <AutoLogon>
                    <Password>
                        <Value>UABhAHMAcwB3AG8AcgBkAA==</Value>
                        <PlainText>false</PlainText>
                    </Password>
                    <Enabled>true</Enabled>
                    <LogonCount>1</LogonCount>
                    <Username>User</Username>
                </AutoLogon>
                <OOBE>
                    <HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>true</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>
                    <ProtectYourPC>3</ProtectYourPC>
                    <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
                    <HideOnlineAccountScreens>true</HideOnlineAccountScreens>
                </OOBE>
                <UserAccounts>
                    <LocalAccounts>
                        <LocalAccount wcm:action="add">
                            <Password>
                                <Value>UABhAHMAcwB3AG8AcgBkAA==</Value>
                                <PlainText>false</PlainText>
                            </Password>
                            <DisplayName>User</DisplayName>
                            <Group>Administrators</Group>
                            <Name>User</Name>
                            <Description>LocalAdmin</Description>
                        </LocalAccount>
                    </LocalAccounts>
                </UserAccounts>
            </component>
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="blablabla" xmlns:xsi="blablablablabla">
                <InputLocale>en-us</InputLocale>
                <SystemLocale>en-us</SystemLocale>
                <UILanguage>en-us</UILanguage>
                <UserLocale>en-us</UserLocale>
            </component>
        </settings>
    </unattend>
    

    After such few Great S? Update if we want to shutdown our PC first we will have to get permission from this ugly Viatch.
     
  4. °ツ

    °ツ MDL Addicted

    Jun 8, 2014
    637
    737
    30
    #4 °ツ, Apr 12, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  5. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    8,074
    26,876
    270
    #5 abbodi1406, Apr 12, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Yep
    even though these two settings are deprecated since Windows 8
    but it seems now they are de-deprecated with Win10 ver 1703 :sneaky:
     
  6. Zot

    Zot MDL Novice

    Oct 1, 2015
    25
    10
    0
    SkipUserOOBE thing deprecated even earlier. Windows 7 i think. Personally never used those settings in my answer files since their deprecation
    but i know many people using those settings without a problem. In my WSIM (1703 image) 2 settings are still shown as deprecated.
    Maybe it is because im using ADK 1607 on LTSB 2016.
     
  7. redxii

    redxii MDL Novice

    Aug 7, 2016
    22
    4
    0
    #7 redxii, Apr 13, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Does Enterprise have that new Cortana OOBE? From 15042 (non-Enterprise) I had to add SkipMachineOOBE and SkipUserOOBE when using AutoLogon otherwise it hangs at "Just a moment..." (OOBE was still skipped entirely without them in 1607/pre-15042).
     
  8. Zot

    Zot MDL Novice

    Oct 1, 2015
    25
    10
    0
    Yes.
    Only answer file changes
    httts://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/hardware/commercialize/customize/desktop/unattend/changed-answer-file-settings-for-windows-10-build-1703
    Underlying answer file settings, way of automating windows setup and installation procedure are all same for Windows 10. Home, Pro, Ent, Ent LTSB, Edu (Any builds)
    SkipUserOOBE+AutoLogon do not understand
     
  9. cocachris89

    cocachris89 MDL Senior Member

    Mar 1, 2013
    492
    147
    10
    Interesting they re-added SkipUserOOBE and SkipMachineOOBE. Thanks for the info.