Windows 10 ei.cfg / Support for multiple editions

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by kokosmann, Jul 31, 2015.

  1. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,826
    10,422
    210
    #21 murphy78, Aug 1, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I have been digging into this AIO situation with Enterprise skus.
    It seems that Enterprise simply does not have _default (Retail) licensing information in Windows 10.
    Also, OEM channel seems to lack LTSB versions.

    You have 2 options for an AIO:
    1) use an ei.cfg set to VL
    Code:
    [channel]
    Volume
    [VL]
    1
    2) Copy the Volume license.rtf to a new _default folder in the language you're using for setup (for me it's en-us)
    This is harder than it sounds because you have to takeown and icacls permissions for each folder you create.
    When I did it on win81 I had to run these commands 5x per index to copy all of the licensing info to the index:
    Code:
    takeown /f c:\mount\windows\system32\en-US\Licenses /r /d y & icacls c:\mount\windows\system32\en-US\Licenses /grant Administrators:F /t
    xcopy /cey e:\win81slipstream\Licenses\* c:\mount\windows\system32\
    Before you copy the info, make sure you make the appropriate folder structure and license.rtf or it won't do much.

    So there. There's your definitive answer for the ei.cfg issues for Windows 10 build 10240 and AIO versions.
     
  2. kuroda

    kuroda MDL Senior Member

    Aug 25, 2012
    445
    32
    10
    How to create a iso aio with support for uefi/efi bios? The thread of Ambidav tutorial for create aio by Windows 8.1 works for Windows 10 to...?:confused:
     
  3. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,826
    10,422
    210
    #23 murphy78, Aug 1, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Something like this:
    Code:
    e:\waik6\amd64\oscdimg.exe -o -u2 -udfver102 -bootdata:2#p0,e,bc:\win10\boot\etfsboot.com#pEF,e,bc:\win10\efi\microsoft\boot\efisys.bin -lYourlabelmax32chars c:\win10 c:\temp\AIOfilename.iso
     
  4. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    7,506
    14,881
    240
    #24 Mr.X, Aug 1, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Actually the same command for Win8.1 aio. Only relative paths changes though.
     
  5. s1ave77

    s1ave77 Has left at his own request

    Aug 15, 2012
    16,130
    24,270
    340
    OSCDIMG will gather needed info from etfsboot.com and efisys.bin of the Win 7/8/8.1/10 Setup and create the according ISO.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,826
    10,422
    210
    Yes, it hasn't been updated since 2012. I don't even think you need to use oscdimg. The old cdimage works fine IIRC.
     
  7. cengizhan

    cengizhan MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    464
    151
    10
    #27 cengizhan, Aug 1, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    i think you dont need to take ownership before. use xcopy with /E /I /Y /O parameters. it should copy file with ownership without error.
     
  8. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,826
    10,422
    210
    Yes, probably with the /o option. I don't know. I just brute force it a few times. They don't count as system files because they're made to be modified, so I don't worry too much.
     
  9. jonaand

    jonaand MDL Senior Member

    Aug 4, 2012
    318
    26
    10
    #30 jonaand, Aug 1, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    i make aio with

    enterprise ltsb
    home
    pro
    education
    enterprise

    i've used this command
    Code:
                           ===========integrar versiones de 32 bits (x86)=========      
    
    Dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:E:\win\entL86/install.wim /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:E:\win\base\sources\install.wim /DestinationName:"Windows 10 Enterprise 2015 LTSB" /compress:maximum
    
    Dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:E:\win\win86/install.wim /SourceIndex:2 /DestinationImageFile:E:\win\base\sources\install.wim /DestinationName:"Windows 10 Home" /compress:maximum
    
    Dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:E:\win\win86/install.wim /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:E:\win\base\sources\install.wim /DestinationName:"Windows 10 Pro" /compress:maximum
    
    Dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:E:\win\edu86\install.wim /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:E:\win\base\sources\install.wim /DestinationName:"Windows 10 Education" /compress:maximum
    
    Dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:E:\win\ent86\install.wim /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:E:\win\base\sources\install.wim /DestinationName:"Windows 10 Enterprise" /compress:maximum
    
    
                           ======ahora vamos con las de 64 bits (x64)========
    
    
    Dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:E:\win\entL64\install.wim /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:E:\win\base\sources\install.wim /DestinationName:"Windows 10 Enterprise 2015 LTSB" /compress:maximum
    
    Dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:E:\win\win64/install.wim /SourceIndex:2 /DestinationImageFile:E:\win\base\sources\install.wim /DestinationName:"Windows 10 Home" /compress:maximum
    
    Dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:E:\win\win64/install.wim /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:E:\win\base\sources\install.wim /DestinationName:"Windows 10 Pro" /compress:maximum
    
    Dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:E:\win\edu64\install.wim /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:E:\win\base\sources\install.wim /DestinationName:"Windows 10 Education" /compress:maximum
    
    Dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:E:\win\ent64\install.wim /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:E:\win\base\sources\install.wim /DestinationName:"Windows 10 Enterprise" /compress:maximum
    
                                 ======agregar  ei.cfg========
    
    
    
    Code:
    [EditionID]
    
    [Channel]
    Retail
    [VL]
    0
    
    
    ======ahora vamos a crear el ISO======== oscdimg -bE:\win\base\boot\etfsboot.com -h -u2 -m -lWindows_10_x86_x64 E:\win\base\ E:\win\Windows_10_x86_x64.iso

    but when run iso, enteprise and ltsb say dont have licence file

    how can i solve it?
    any suggestion about my command?
    it work in uefi and old bios?
    thanks
     
  10. runnyeggsham

    runnyeggsham MDL Novice

    Dec 27, 2010
    18
    3
    0
    Oi, you guys need to write a tut for us noobs. W7 was easy but all these apps... :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:
    :worthy::worthy::worthy:
    I'll wait until someone has time to write up a dummy guide.
    From what I can tell, you have to DL every single version before you can make an AIO or do you just add files to one iso image and copy them over for each edition?o_O
     
  11. Mandy

    Mandy MDL Member

    Oct 15, 2010
    128
    40
    10
    You did a good job with Josh Cell's tool it does the work
    However since the created media 8 in 1 contains the Enterprise WIM not allowed in the upgrade path the I upgrade path fails even if you use the setup within the source folder

    A semi AIO (4 in 1) media created from 4 individual Pro & Home / Core WIM s made the in-place upgrade path smoothly

    So looks like for now the 8 in 1 USB is for clean install boot with the 4 in 1 copied on as an ISO onto the 8 in 1 created USB boot media
     
  12. sound2006

    sound2006 MDL Novice

    Feb 2, 2013
    19
    6
    0
    Hi All
    Im having the same probs as @jonaand

    I have created an Win 10 AIO all everything works except Enterprise (says that licence cannot be loaded)

    Funny thing is Enterprise LTSB and Pro Vl load ok its only Enterprise.

    Can anyone help please??
     
  13. sound2006

    sound2006 MDL Novice

    Feb 2, 2013
    19
    6
    0
    #35 sound2006, Aug 12, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2015
    @murphy78
    I saw your comments and was confused.
    The ei.cfg still causes Enterprise to error out.

    The obtain the licence file, do i have to install Enterprise and run the command??

    Ps
    Just wanted to say i have followed you guide in the past and it works so work, as does your win10 AIO disc!!!
     
  14. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,826
    10,422
    210
    #36 murphy78, Aug 12, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    without ei.cfg set to volume license, it will look for a license in the _default directory.
    Since this directory does not exist, it will give you a license error.

    You can either set ei.cfg to volume like:
    Code:
    [channel]
    Volume
    [VL]
    1
    Or you can copy the folders from enterprise versions Volume folders to _default folders.

    It looks for them like this (example based on my en-us install index):
    %windir%\system32\en-us\Licenses\Volume\Enterprise\license.rtf

    That's for volume. If it is not set via ei.cfg, it will look in:
    %windir%\system32\en-us\Licenses\_default\Enterprise\license.rtf

    It's different if you choose a different language for your setup.
     
  15. sound2006

    sound2006 MDL Novice

    Feb 2, 2013
    19
    6
    0
    @murphy78
    I have tried amending my ei.cfg and everything works on VMware but on a real system, enterprise shows the error.
    I will try to rebuild my iso and if all else fails i shall try to import the licenses in my iso

    Thank you so, so much for your help
    Your a true gentleman!!!
     
  16. Panco1

    Panco1 MDL Novice

    Dec 29, 2014
    17
    3
    0
    [EditionID]

    [Channel]
    OEM
    [VL]
    0

    :D
     
  17. hakd

    hakd MDL Novice

    Dec 25, 2012
    1
    0
    0
    #39 hakd, Aug 13, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    New ei.cfg file...
    Code:
    [EditionID]
    
    
    
    [Channel]
    Volume
    
    
    [VL]
    1
    
    
    
     
  18. AlexRuiz

    AlexRuiz MDL Novice

    Aug 26, 2009
    35
    12
    0
    Have you tried it and know for sure that it works?