Windows 10 Hotfix Repository

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Tito, Oct 1, 2014.

  1. A-bit_Tinkerer

    A-bit_Tinkerer MDL Junior Member

    Mar 24, 2014
    61
    45
    0
    #2041 A-bit_Tinkerer, Mar 14, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  2. A-bit_Tinkerer

    A-bit_Tinkerer MDL Junior Member

    Mar 24, 2014
    61
    45
    0
    #2042 A-bit_Tinkerer, Mar 14, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Yes, when updates occur, monthly or otherwise, the x86 and x64 .msu or .cab files would need to be copied or added to the appropriate d:\images\x86 and d:\images\x64 folders. Then, the UpdateWinX.cmd script also would need to be modified. Change the FOR statements in the :install and/or :winre subroutines as required to add and remove the update numbers. Also, the <list_of_update_numbers> specifies the install order.

    Code:
    'for %%i in (<list_of_update_numbers>) do (call :AddPackage %1 %%i %3)
    Code:
    :winre
    for %%i in (3139907 3142588) do (call :AddPackage %1 %%i %3)
    set dism_opt=/Image:%MountDir% /Cleanup-Image /StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase
    call :DISM_exe %3
    goto :EOF
    
    :install
    if NOT EXIST .\%1-winre.wim (
      copy %MountDir%\Windows\System32\Recovery\winre.wim .\%1-winre.wim 1>NUL 2>&1
      if EXIST .\%1\winre.wim del /F /A .\%1\winre.wim
    )
    if EXIST .\%1\winre.wim (
      copy /Y .\%1\winre.wim %MountDir%\Windows\System32\Recovery 1>NUL 2>&1
    )
    for %%i in (3139907 3142588 3140768 3144756 2693643) do (call :AddPackage %1 %%i %3)
    goto :EOF
    
    Then in an Administrator: Command Prompt window:
    Code:
    For x86 (32-bit):
    d:\images\UpdateWinX.cmd x86 winre
    d:\images\UpdateWinX.cmd x86 install
    
    For x64 (64-bit):
    d:\images\UpdateWinX.cmd x64 winre
    d:\images\UpdateWinX.cmd x64 install
    
    The integration process always starts 'clean' with the original x86 and x64 image files (boot.wim, winre.wim, and install.wim) that were copied to the d:\images folder.

    Always update the install.wim last because:
    (1) the updated winre.wim file is copied to the mounted install.wim image, and
    (2) after the install.wim is updated, the esdXwim.cmd script is used to create an updated install.esd
     
  3. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,774
    67,894
    450
    #2043 Enthousiast, Mar 14, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2016
    Mount install.wim and go to "Mountfolder:\windows\system32\recovery" here you'll find what you're looking for :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. HosseinMoradi

    HosseinMoradi MDL Novice

    Apr 11, 2013
    4
    3
    0
    use NTLite from ntlite.com
     
  5. Prosto

    Prosto MDL Addicted

    Mar 18, 2015
    769
    307
    30
    It's shareware.
    MSMG Toolkit is freeware and this by our MDL team ;))) must have!
     
  6. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,774
    67,894
    450
    #2046 Enthousiast, Mar 14, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2016
    It's not about what "software" you use to integrate them with, it's about which updates to integrate where.

    To integrate updates NO external software is needed, native DISM (which is used by ALL software who can integrate updates into wim files) does it all.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Mr Been

    Mr Been MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2008
    262
    69
    10
    That's what I do, but I dont know where!
     
  8. michiel.686

    michiel.686 MDL Novice

    Jul 17, 2007
    45
    9
    0
    That's what I needed, thanks a lot!
     
  9. A-bit_Tinkerer

    A-bit_Tinkerer MDL Junior Member

    Mar 24, 2014
    61
    45
    0
    #2049 A-bit_Tinkerer, Mar 16, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Issue with DISM /Cleanup-Image /ResetBase percent complete

    After adding both KB3139907 and KB3142588 updates to the boot.wim (index:1&2) and winre (index:1) images copied from the install media, running DISM /Cleanup-Image /StartComponentCleanup with the /ResetBase option gives me the following results.

    Note that the percent complete varies and does not show 100.0%, even though "The operation completed successfully."

    When adding the KB3139907 and KB3142588 packages, DISM does show 100.0% complete as well as "The operation completed successfully."

    Is this simply a display issue with the /ResetBase percent complete, OR are the boot.wim and winre.wim files corrupted during the /ResetBase operation?

    I have tried running the DISM commands multiple times, starting each time with 'clean' boot.wim and winre.wim images. The percent complete varies from 20.0% to 100.0% (yes, sometimes it does show 100.0% complete).

    If the system makes a difference, here are the basic specs: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, Intel Core i7-5930K, 64GB RAM, Samsung SSD 850 EVO M.2 500GB, MSI X99 XPOWER AC.

    For x86 boot.wim Index:1
    Code:
    dism.exe /Image:.\x86\MountDir /Cleanup-Image /StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase
    
    Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
    Version: 10.0.10586.0
    
    Image Version: 10.0.10586.0
    
    [===========================98.9%========================= ] 
    The operation completed successfully.
    
    For x86 boot.wim Index:2
    Code:
    dism.exe /Image:.\x86\MountDir /Cleanup-Image /StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase
    
    Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
    Version: 10.0.10586.0
    
    Image Version: 10.0.10586.0
    
    [===========================99.6%========================= ] 
    The operation completed successfully.
    
    For x86 winre.wim Index:1
    Code:
    dism.exe /Image:.\x86\MountDir /Cleanup-Image /StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase
    
    Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
    Version: 10.0.10586.0
    
    Image Version: 10.0.10586.0
    
    [===========================99.1%========================= ] 
    The operation completed successfully.
    
    For x64 boot.wim Index:1
    Code:
    dism.exe /Image:.\x64\MountDir /Cleanup-Image /StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase
    
    Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
    Version: 10.0.10586.0
    
    Image Version: 10.0.10586.0
    
    [===========================98.3%========================= ] 
    The operation completed successfully.
    
    For x64 boot.wim Index:2
    Code:
    dism.exe /Image:.\x64\MountDir /Cleanup-Image /StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase
    
    Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
    Version: 10.0.10586.0
    
    Image Version: 10.0.10586.0
    
    [===========================98.3%========================= ] 
    The operation completed successfully.
    
    For x64 winre.wim Index:1
    Code:
    dism.exe /Image:.\x64\MountDir /Cleanup-Image /StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase
    
    Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
    Version: 10.0.10586.0
    
    Image Version: 10.0.10586.0
    
    [===========================98.5%========================= ] 
    The operation completed successfully.
    
     
  10. cengizhan

    cengizhan MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    467
    151
    10
    you may have some problem with your system or image. i never saw anything other than 100%. i have never had any problem with my updated boot.wim
     
  11. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,774
    67,894
    450
    I sometimes have this too, the progress bar sometimes shows less then 100% but "the operation completed succesfully" shows all went okay.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. kuroda

    kuroda MDL Senior Member

    Aug 25, 2012
    445
    32
    10
    ...Reset Base for Boot.Wim?:eek: I think dont it need....just install.wim.....
     
  13. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,774
    67,894
    450
    It reduces size of boot.wim (have to do it at both indexes), winre.wim and install.wim (can only be done on install.wim when none of the update has "pending install", this happens when you activate dotnetfx3 on an offline image).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. A-bit_Tinkerer

    A-bit_Tinkerer MDL Junior Member

    Mar 24, 2014
    61
    45
    0
    If the /ResetBase is not done for boot.wim (index:1&2) and winre.wim (index:1) the added updates will be in an "Install Pending" state. So, the /ResetBase completes the install as well as reducing the size of the WIM. After processing all the updates in the WIM for each index, the DISM /Export-Image commands can be used to further compress the WIM size.
     
  15. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,774
    67,894
    450
    #2055 Enthousiast, Mar 16, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Standard the packages in boot.wim and winre.wim have state "installed".

    Code:
    Command line that ran is dism.exe /image:e:\mount /Get-Packages
    
    
    Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
    Version: 10.0.10586.0
    
    Image Version: 10.0.10586.0
    
    Packages listing:
    
    Package Identity : Microsoft-Windows-WinPE-LanguagePack-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~nl-NL~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Language Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:35
    
    Package Identity : Microsoft-Windows-WinPE-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Foundation
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 05:42
    
    Package Identity : WinPE-EnhancedStorage-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~nl-NL~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Language Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:39
    
    Package Identity : WinPE-EnhancedStorage-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Feature Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:38
    
    Package Identity : WinPE-Scripting-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~nl-NL~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Language Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:38
    
    Package Identity : WinPE-Scripting-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Feature Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:38
    
    Package Identity : WinPE-SecureStartup-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~nl-NL~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Language Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:38
    
    Package Identity : WinPE-SecureStartup-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Feature Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:38
    
    Package Identity : WinPE-Setup-Client-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~nl-NL~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Language Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:40
    
    Package Identity : WinPE-Setup-Client-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Feature Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:40
    
    Package Identity : WinPE-Setup-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~nl-NL~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Language Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:40
    
    Package Identity : WinPE-Setup-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Feature Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:40
    
    Package Identity : WinPE-SRT-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~nl-NL~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Language Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:38
    
    Package Identity : WinPE-SRT-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Feature Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:38
    
    Package Identity : WinPE-WDS-Tools-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~nl-NL~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Language Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:38
    
    Package Identity : WinPE-WDS-Tools-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Feature Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:38
    
    Package Identity : WinPE-WMI-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~nl-NL~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Language Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:38
    
    Package Identity : WinPE-WMI-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~10.0.10586.0
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Feature Pack
    Install Time : 30-10-2015 14:38
    
    The operation completed successfully.
    This is with updates integrated:

    Code:
    Package Identity : Package_for_KB3139907~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~10.0.1.1
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Update
    Install Time : 16-3-2016 16:29
    
    Package Identity : Package_for_KB3140768~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~10.0.1.3
    State : Installed
    Release Type : Security Update
    Install Time : 16-3-2016 16:33
    In 7 or 8.x (or maybe even in the earlier 10240) it had state pending, not on 10 anymore.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    13,119
    64,183
    340
    It seems just a timing race between the command and the percentage api

    to work around it, run the ResetBase command first, add the packages, then run ResetBase again
     
  17. A-bit_Tinkerer

    A-bit_Tinkerer MDL Junior Member

    Mar 24, 2014
    61
    45
    0
    Thank you for suggesting a workaround. If I run the ResetBase option before adding the packages, the progress display always goes to 100.0%.

    However, running the ResetBase option after adding the packages, the operation completes much faster and the progress display again varies between 20% and 25%.

    So, are the updated images usable and not corrupted as long as "The operation completed successfully."?
     
  18. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    13,119
    64,183
    340
    For me it gave 100% on both runs

    yes, if dism doen't report error, percentage doesn't matter
     
  19. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,774
    67,894
    450
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. acyuta

    acyuta MDL Expert

    Mar 8, 2010
    1,679
    387
    60
    Running the resetbase command as admin on latest update (3140768) applied on Nov 2015 iso does give 2 quick 100% which then hangs there for a long time.
    On at least 2-3 update installs, I have had to hard reboot after 10-15 mins and then do resetbase again. That gave the proper progress from 0% to ....100%... completed successfully.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...