Windows 10 Login Screen Background Changer! [Uploaded to GitHub!]

Discussion in 'MDL Projects and Applications' started by Krutonium, Jul 13, 2015.

  1. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,769
    1,106
    60
    Did you compile with a manifest for elevation.

    It's possible you are spawning a non-admin session when you call the cmd from VB.
     
  2. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    409
    285
    10
    #422 Krutonium, Jul 23, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Code:
            Dim TakeOwn As New ProcessStartInfo
            TakeOwn.UseShellExecute = True
            TakeOwn.WorkingDirectory = System.Environment.GetEnvironmentVariable("windir")
            TakeOwn.Verb = "runas"
            TakeOwn.WindowStyle = ProcessWindowStyle.Hidden
            TakeOwn.FileName = "cmd.exe"
            TakeOwn.Arguments = "/c " & Temp & "/takemyfiles.bat"
            Dim L = Process.Start(TakeOwn)
            Do Until L.HasExited
                System.Threading.Thread.Sleep(100)
            Loop
    
    The verb "runas" indicates should run as admin, and my manifest specifies Admin:

    Code:
    <requestedExecutionLevel level="highestAvailable" uiAccess="false" />
     
  3. cainwireshark

    cainwireshark MDL Novice

    Jul 23, 2015
    12
    0
    0
    ok i dunno but i think i fixed it somehow i disabled windows defender and i run the command you posted in cmd as admin and downloaded the app you posted thanks mate its working :clap:
     
  4. rajneesh93

    rajneesh93 MDL Novice

    Mar 23, 2015
    3
    2
    0
    I' m getting "Severe error occurred" error...any idea how to fix it???

    Thanks in Advance..
     
  5. CyberTech28

    CyberTech28 MDL Junior Member

    Mar 8, 2014
    59
    7
    0
    Okay, i give up.. It looks like it won't happen. :weep:
    Used all scrips, files and the login changer and the trythis version. Nothing seems to work.

    Thanks for all the things you guys have tried to help me with but it seems that i just can't change the background.

    Back to Win 8.1 then.. :(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. pauliewog

    pauliewog MDL Member

    Jul 24, 2009
    108
    55
    10
    I got a black screen that bricked my laptop on the login and I can't do anything. HELP!!!!!! lol
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. LEXX911

    LEXX911 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    289
    33
    10
    LOL. I have already ask people here if this is going to do the same thing as UXstyle and UltraUXThemePatcher with the stupid bug when you uninstall it, it will give you a black screen at the login. !##! UXstyle said they fix that so I uninstall it last night and got the $#!#!! black screen at log in so I have to reset Windows 8.1 again to do my Windows 10 upgrade. I guessed I will stay away from this if this is doing the same black screen crap.
     
  8. labvxe

    labvxe MDL Expert

    Mar 24, 2015
    1,375
    163
    60
    Hope you didn't already reset as there's a method to fix that takes 5 minutes
     
  9. LEXX911

    LEXX911 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    289
    33
    10
    No, I'm talking about the UXstyle. SFC /SCANNOW couldn't fix it. I probably could have fix it if I remove the OS SSD drive and access it on another computer and probably change the file back to it original but it was too late.
     
  10. pauliewog

    pauliewog MDL Member

    Jul 24, 2009
    108
    55
    10
    Too late I already did a reset. lol smh
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. bdl

    bdl MDL Addicted

    Aug 8, 2012
    565
    43
    30
    version 13 now work well ? :confused:
     
  12. labvxe

    labvxe MDL Expert

    Mar 24, 2015
    1,375
    163
    60
    All you had to do was boot from the media press shift + f10, type notepad,exe, find the file and replace it with the backup

    Reboot and fixed
     
  13. Belarathon

    Belarathon MDL Senior Member

    Nov 21, 2007
    316
    37
    10
    I found that if you use the recovery option from the boot disc, then click the image recovery button, you can use the "find driver" option to use as a file explorer with cut, paste and delete options. That's how I avoided a reset.
     
  14. pauliewog

    pauliewog MDL Member

    Jul 24, 2009
    108
    55
    10
    Damn it! haha:eek:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    409
    285
    10
    So I have a theory that takeown and icacls can't be run in a hidden command prompt, so for the next version you will see a prompt flash for a second. Someone that previously had troubles, please tell me if this works.
     
  16. labvxe

    labvxe MDL Expert

    Mar 24, 2015
    1,375
    163
    60
    Next time bud :D
    Next time...
     
  17. chowchilla

    chowchilla MDL Novice

    Jul 23, 2015
    3
    0
    0
    Greetings. I too have the black screen. I replaced the deleted the PRI and replaced it with the PRI.bak and I still have a black screen. Are they supposed to be 0kb files?