Windows 10 Login Screen Background Changer! [Uploaded to GitHub!]

Discussion in 'MDL Projects and Applications' started by Krutonium, Jul 13, 2015.

  1. crossup

    crossup MDL Member

    Jun 20, 2015
    113
    153
    10
    I'm in the same situation. :(
     
  2. labvxe

    labvxe MDL Expert

    Mar 24, 2015
    1,375
    163
    60
    Okay maybe I take plunge :D

    But what do we replace in the script
    I see outputpath and replacement path

    Are those the ones we change.
     
  3. alexwilson

    alexwilson MDL Junior Member

    Oct 8, 2014
    86
    34
    0
    Yes, thought that was obvious. outputPath is the location where the new pri file gets stored and replacementPath is the path to your new logon image. After running the script you will need to replace the pri file in the system directory with the new file.
     
  4. labvxe

    labvxe MDL Expert

    Mar 24, 2015
    1,375
    163
    60
  5. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    409
    285
    10
    What size should I choose for 1280x1024?
     
  6. labvxe

    labvxe MDL Expert

    Mar 24, 2015
    1,375
    163
    60
    For that one try commenting it out on line 15 like this

    # 1280x1024 10


    Then change the number on line 4 to 10
     
  7. alexjomp2

    alexjomp2 MDL Novice

    Mar 18, 2015
    2
    0
    0
    Anyone can give instructions on how to use the script. as he ran but the background is not changed by placing one in the same folder. help. :worthy:
     
  8. labvxe

    labvxe MDL Expert

    Mar 24, 2015
    1,375
    163
    60
    Hi all.

    I'll give heavy detailed instructions in the next hour or so...
    Stay tuned :D
     
  9. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    409
    285
    10
    I'll make a nice GUI app once you do :p
     
  10. labvxe

    labvxe MDL Expert

    Mar 24, 2015
    1,375
    163
    60
    #70 labvxe, Jul 16, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Okay let's get started

    ------------------------

    1. Start by going to pastebin.
    2. Copy the "RAW PASTE DATA" into windows notepad (notepad.exe)
    3. Look at $outputpath. The location that it tells you needs to be replaced. It's where the BRAND NEW PRI FILE WILL BE PLACED. You can place it anywhere for now. Relatively on the root of the drive is preferred So e.g (c:\windows.ui.logon_new.pri)
    4. Look at $replacemetpath. THIS IS THE JPG THAT WILL REPLACE THE LOCKSCREEN WALLPAPER. IT MUST BE JPG FILE. So simply specify the path to the jpg (eg) c:\img3.jpg
    5. Next you need to set the screen resolution.
    6. Look at line 4 $blobtoreplace. The numbers are specified for you. So like 3 would be 1366x768. SO REPLACE THE NUMBER ON LINE 4 WITH THE APPROPRIATE SCREEN RESOLUTION #
    7. Custom resolutions... Enter your custom resolutions on the line after 2560x1600 LIKE THIS
    # 1280x1024 10
    8. Go back to $blobtoreplace and enter the screen resolution code that corresponds to your screen resolution. So 1-whatever numbers. The one that matches
    9. Once you have finished, save the file exactly like this "CLW_Script.ps1"
    It MUST HAVE quotation marks. BTW. CLW_Script is the file name. It can be anything you want just have the quotations along with ps1
    10. Execute the script through ELEVATED POWERSHELL ... PAY ATTENTION TO WHERE YOU STORED THE BRAND NEW PRI FILE! You will need it
    11. Unfortunately the location of the old pri file is extremely protected by the OS, so we need to unlock it :D
    12. Open elevated cmd.
    13 Type the following commands.
    Code:
    takeown /f \windows\systemresources\windows.ui.logon & ICACLS \windows\systemresources\windows.ui.logon
    14. Do the same for the file windows.ui.logon.pri.
    14. Go to \windows\systemresources\ and select the FOLDER windows.ui.logon
    Right click and select properties, security, advanced security, and go to the top where it says change owner. Put in your username and click ok. If you get anything about propagation just click cancel. Then go to edit users and put in username. Put FULL PERMISSION. Everything. Read modify etc.
    15. Okay awesome. Now go into the folder and you'll see the old pri file. Do the same thing for windows.ui.logon.pri. I said it in step 14.
    *****YOU WILL ONLY HAVE TO FOLLOW STEP 14 and 15 ONE TIME
    16. Make a copy of the old file just in case
    17. Delete the old pri and paste the new one in from the ps1 file we executed earlier
    winkey + l to see the changes :D
    Edit: the new one must be exactly like this
    windows.ui.logon.pri

    BTW. Let me know if you get stuck at any certain point and I'll Help you. Also feel free to pM me if you want as well

    It's a lot yes. But I'm going very very detailed for everyone. It actually took me roughly two minutes to replace the file so it's not as hard as it seems :)

    Update 1. I didn't look at the MD5 of my new file and it still worked so don't fret over that :)
     
  11. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    409
    285
    10
    It seems the MD5 on my file is wrong... :/
     
  12. labvxe

    labvxe MDL Expert

    Mar 24, 2015
    1,375
    163
    60
    What do you mean. Ignore that and paste it in. Don't worry about that :)
     
  13. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    409
    285
    10
    I mean the MD5 of my PRI File is wrong :/
     
  14. labvxe

    labvxe MDL Expert

    Mar 24, 2015
    1,375
    163
    60
    I didn't bother checking the md5 of my file and it still worked for me :)
    I don't believe that matters bud :D
     
  15. unrealmaniac

    unrealmaniac MDL Novice

    Apr 29, 2015
    35
    33
    0
    Didn't work for me in 10176. everything ran perfectly, no errors, had to make a custom resolution, I replaced the PRI file but still have the default picture.
     
  16. labvxe

    labvxe MDL Expert

    Mar 24, 2015
    1,375
    163
    60
    The custom resolution is the issue.
    @alexwilson will come back soon to help out but I'm sure you didn't write it correctly in the ps1 file

    Tell you what's give me your resolution and I'll send a custom ps1 file your way :)
     
  17. unrealmaniac

    unrealmaniac MDL Novice

    Apr 29, 2015
    35
    33
    0
    1280x800
    Im just testing it out on this computer my main has a standard resoltuion
     
  18. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    409
    285
    10
    #78 Krutonium, Jul 16, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2015
    (OP)
    It also didn't work for me - and I had to comment out the exception about the bad MD5. No change to the background after replacing the file.
     
  19. unrealmaniac

    unrealmaniac MDL Novice

    Apr 29, 2015
    35
    33
    0
    still didn't work. I'm not worried about it will try it on 10166 later