Windows 10 Product Keys & Upgrade Questions

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by crazymadanimal, Aug 2, 2015.

1. crazymadanimal

crazymadanimal MDL Novice

Aug 1, 2015
    I'm new to MDL and after browsing a huge amount of threads I've been left with a few unanswered questions I'm hoping starting this thread will answer :biggrin:

1) After upgrading from win 7 to win 8(8.1) then to win 10 on my main PC, I have product keys I believe to be valid for win 7 and win 8. Can I use my win 7 & win 8 installation media and product keys on 2 other machines?

2) After the installation shown above made on my main PC, I used Nirisoft's "Product Key" tool and discovered what my Win 10 product key is (yes i know its done by HWID online), but, should i change my motherboard, SSHD or other key piece of hardware would this "Product Key" actually work during the installation or would the telephone activation be needed after the installation has completed and the HWID activation (in theory) has failed?

I apologize to everyone if this has already been covered elsewhere and would appreciate replies showing the link to other relevant threads (if there is any).
    Thanks to all who help.

2. Dolorous Edd

Dolorous Edd MDL Expert

Aug 31, 2009
    Question one, I don't believe anyone knows yet. However, with MS's knew approach to activation I would think that they have the ability to restrict the use of upgraded keys. Whether they will or not is to be seen.

From what I read if you change your hardware enough to require reactivation you will need to do a phone activation. If you change too much, like everything but the screws holding your power supply in I imagine you would need to purchase a new key.

I intend on upgrading all of my eligible systems but if I buy a completely new system or do a major upgrade I will buy an OEM key.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. s1ave77

s1ave77 Has left at his own request

Aug 15, 2012