Windows 10 - serious question for the experts

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by lostpassword, May 12, 2015.

1. lostpassword

lostpassword MDL Member

Nov 21, 2009
    Thanks to all the help I have had from this forum, I was able to download the right 32 bit version and install Windows 10 on my spare desktop. As I said before the installation went very well until it asked for a Microsoft Account, which I did not have. I created one on my other PC and started again. All went well until I started playing around with monitors and such.

I really wanted to get the USB to VGA device from China working (FLUSBVGA-1.1.302.0.exe). This had been working perfectly when the machine was on 8.1. I had to go back to the onboard Video rather than an ASUS card, but eventually I got it to work using the latest version above (it was working on 8.1 with an older version supplied by disc). This enables 2 VGA monitors to run, and I find it very hard to cope with one monitor now.

I then switched monitors over and could not get 2 monitors to work. Each would work one at a time, so were not faulty. Eventually I ran Killdisk again, and re-installed windows from the DVD.

It seems to me that any problem with 10 cannot be solved unless the drive is wiped and a fresh install is made.

I have mentioned the use of Killdisk before, (legally free for the basic version) but never had any reaction. In my opinion it is the most useful utility available, and I can never solve problems without a truly clean install. This also applied to 7 and 8.1. Always run Killdisk on a new PC supplied with OS to get rid of all the junk. This might help someone out there who is having trouble with 10, which I find very good once running properly. Have any of the experts managed to solve Win 10 problems without clean install ?, the repair option seems a waste of time to me.

2. MS_User

MS_User MDL Guru

Nov 30, 2014