Windows 11 Tweaks, Fixes and Modifications [Overview]

Discussion in 'Windows 11' started by Enthousiast, Jul 1, 2021.

  1. parafer

    parafer MDL Member

    Dec 20, 2016
    160
    98
    10
    LOL, this if what I'm here for
     
  2. hannubys

    hannubys MDL Novice

    Jun 21, 2007
    35
    4
    0
    doesn't work
     
  3. expert

    expert MDL Junior Member

    Nov 3, 2007
    90
    98
    0
    #203 expert, Jul 17, 2021
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2021
    It's not {HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\ but {HKEY_CURRENT_USER\

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\HideDesktopIcons\ClassicStartMenu]
    "{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}"=dword:00000001
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\HideDesktopIcons\NewStartPanel]
    "{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}"=dword:00000001
     
  4. stylemessiah

    stylemessiah MDL Novice

    Aug 14, 2009
    29
    12
    0
    You have to wonder why they ask for feedback if theyre going to ignore it, and now that people are turning the new taskbar and explorer off (to get rid of the context menu), whats the point of feedback at all because people will have it disabled for the next update they put out and wont notice any changes

    Microsoft...it was better when Bill ran it, and not millennials obsessed with tarting up to make the gui to look pretty
     
  5. d5aqoëp

    d5aqoëp MDL Addicted

    Jan 19, 2017
    702
    515
    30
    Defender Automatic Sample Submission fix (Temporary fix till Microsoft fixes this in future update)

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows Defender\Spynet]
    "SubmitSamplesConsent"=dword:00000001
     
  6. sizen

    sizen MDL Novice

    Jun 4, 2009
    46
    14
    0
    sure?
    It's working fine on my PC.
     
  7. TShadow

    TShadow MDL Junior Member

    May 21, 2007
    84
    33
    0
    I guessed it, but for .jpg and .png extensions there is no change menu. For most other extensions like .tif etc, there is,
     
  8. nosirrahx

    nosirrahx MDL Expert

    Nov 7, 2017
    1,088
    516
    60
    Interesting, I can do that just fine on my test VM.
     
  9. moglai

    moglai MDL Junior Member

    Jul 2, 2015
    54
    26
    0
    Does not work after a restart
     
  10. Xtreme21

    Xtreme21 MDL Addicted

    Jun 21, 2021
    691
    1,030
    30
    Damn, didn't check that - thanks. What's more after a reboot you're stuck with the "Always show all icons" checked and can't uncheck it.

    To uncheck it and enable it again run RegEdit and navigate to:
    Code:
    Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer
    Set EnableAutoTray to 1 and restart Explorer. "Always show all icons" will be unchecked, you can set it again but what's the point if it doesn't survive a reboot!?
     
  11. moglai

    moglai MDL Junior Member

    Jul 2, 2015
    54
    26
    0
    EnableAutoTray no longer exists after a clean installation. It is probably no longer supported
     
  12. Xtreme21

    Xtreme21 MDL Addicted

    Jun 21, 2021
    691
    1,030
    30
    #214 Xtreme21, Jul 18, 2021
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2021
    Thank you, updated main post above. No use if it doesn't survive a reboot.

    Just been reading that the setting can be made to stick by clearing another two registry entries relating to the notification area icon settings - but it doesn't work, it fixes corrupted or ghost icons in the notification area, nothing to do with showing them all.
     
  13. RanCorX2

    RanCorX2 MDL Addicted

    Jul 19, 2009
    976
    529
    30
  14. TShadow

    TShadow MDL Junior Member

    May 21, 2007
    84
    33
    0
    Very strange indeed. Yesterday got the message "Windows is adding some features etc.", and when I switched my Laptop on this morning it works now. It lives, lol.
     
  15. eemuler

    eemuler MDL Senior Member

    Jul 31, 2015
    440
    165
    10
    Maybe we could have a script that runs at startup - every startup. Kludgy, yes, but might be a viable workaround.
     
  16. BELNN

    BELNN MDL Junior Member

    Apr 2, 2016
    89
    63
    0
    Who knows how to turn on the seconds on the clock? The method that was used before does not work.
     
  17. acer-5100

    acer-5100 MDL Expert

    Dec 8, 2018
    1,016
    668
    60
    Still works using explorer from serv 2022
     
  18. BELNN

    BELNN MDL Junior Member

    Apr 2, 2016
    89
    63
    0
    I need a method using the registry