Windows 8.1 Build 9600.16610 DISM Now Can Work On ESD

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by FaiKee, Feb 10, 2014.

  1. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    7,389
    11,614
    240
    #101 murphy78, Apr 10, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2014
    I updated the script a little.
    There was a bug in the wim iso option where it wouldn't put the install.wim in the sources\ folder.
    I also changed the script to quit with exit /b so it wouldn't go out of command prompt when the script exits.
    It's still pretty unpolished. If anyone feels like modding it, by all means do...

    also bug fixes a few... v3'd it

    fixed vdisk bug, v4'd it.
     
  2. Sydnelson

    Sydnelson MDL Novice

    Apr 28, 2010
    11
    1
    0
    #102 Sydnelson, May 16, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I download a Windows 7 ISO that is on ESD format, since I need to add some updates I try to use above script to convert ESD to WIM and add the updates, works fine but I can't delete the mount dir.

    I try:
    rd /q/s
    Dism /Cleanup-Wim
    Dism /Cleanup-Mountpoints
    Dism /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:%MountPoint% /discard

    and none works, try to delete folder over windows and also LockHunter and none work. What I need to do to delete those folder?
     
  3. FaiKee

    FaiKee Misinformation spreader

    Jul 24, 2009
    4,303
    5,816
    150
    Sometimes it's a real pain to remove the "mount" folder because of permissions:
    1. (if you don't have it) google "right-click get ownership", download/install a small app which is actually some registry scripts.
    2. Open up "mount" folder, delete the sub-folders one-by-one, if you see things like "you don't have permission....blah blah", click "do same for similar files", then click "skip".
    3. After that, right-click the folder and take ownership, then delete it again.
    4. If you still can't delete the whole folder, go-into its sub-folder(s) and take ownership and delete.
     
  4. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    16,219
    84,892
    340
  5. Sydnelson

    Sydnelson MDL Novice

    Apr 28, 2010
    11
    1
    0
    #105 Sydnelson, May 16, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Thanks for tip, I donwload take owner reg tweak and works fine. With that I create a script to remove that folder easy.

    Code:
    :unmount
    "%DISM%" /Cleanup-Wim
    "%DISM%" /Cleanup-Mountpoints
    IF EXIST "%WIM%" (
       "%DISM%" /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:"%WIM%" /discard
       TAKEOWN /F "%WIM%" /R /D Y
       ICACLS "%WIM%" /T /L /GRANT *S-1-1-0:F
       RD /s /Q "%WIM%"
    )
    GOTO :eof
     
  6. Sydnelson

    Sydnelson MDL Novice

    Apr 28, 2010
    11
    1
    0
    #106 Sydnelson, May 16, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I tried the method indicated by you, the problem is after adding the updates that I wanted windows instalation freezes on the last step. I also tried to do with this method and then use the WinToolkit and the same happened.
     
  7. FaiKee

    FaiKee Misinformation spreader

    Jul 24, 2009
    4,303
    5,816
    150
    You could still try another way (next time...), make a VHD and apply to VHD, after unmount, just delete the VHD. :D
     
  8. Caspar1643

    Caspar1643 MDL Novice

    Mar 13, 2012
    22
    3
    0

    I already post this in:
    h ttp://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/53855-Windows-8-1-with-Update-ESDs-Repository?p=921098&viewfull=1#post921098, hope no infringing rules

    I want to create an ISO file for Windows 8.1 CSL ESN x64 Update 1; my OS is Win 8.1 Pro x64 Update 1. I have a doubt: I don't know if I need something else in the ESD folder to create the ISO like the previous Win8.1 CSL x64 ISO.

    ... and I have a trouble:


    • I download ESD file (9600.17050.winblue_refresh.140317-1640_x64fre_client_coresinglelanguage_es-es-ir3_csla_x64frer_es-es_esd_8480cfff1a8145fa6c8b2290ff5b73d3b041bddd.esd)
    • Then I create a folder in C: like C:\ESD
    • After that I copied the ESD downloaded to C:\ESD
    • I open a command promt as admin and execute the script but it says me "Incorrect file name or path"


    I tried changing the name of the ESD file to "x64fre_coresinglelanguage_es-es.esd", execute the script as admin by rigth click an says the same. My first folder was created on another unit E:\ESD. But with the same result on all tries.

    I don't know what else to do, please help me
     
  9. FaiKee

    FaiKee Misinformation spreader

    Jul 24, 2009
    4,303
    5,816
    150
  10. Caspar1643

    Caspar1643 MDL Novice

    Mar 13, 2012
    22
    3
    0
    Irony? :eek: I already did

    Steps:
    1. I download 2 files:
      1. esd-decrypter-v3.7z
      2. 9600.17050.winblue_refresh.140317-1640_x64fre_client_coresinglelanguage_es-es-ir3_csla_x64frer_es-es_esd_8480cfff1a8145fa6c8b2290ff5b73d3b041bddd.esd
    2. I create a ESD folder in E:\, so I got E:\ESD
    3. Extracted "esd-decrypter-v3.7z" to E:\ESD (I have "decrypt.cmd" script and "E:\ESD\DISM" folder)
    4. Copy "9600.17050.winblue_refresh.140317-1640_x64fre_client_coresinglelanguage_es-es-ir3_csla_x64frer_es-es_esd_8480cfff1a8145fa6c8b2290ff5b73d3b041bddd.esd" to E:\ESD
    5. Run elevated CMD and then type: "decrypt 9600.17050.winblue_refresh.140317-1640_x64fre_client_coresinglelanguage_es-es-ir3_csla_x64frer_es-es_esd_8480cfff1a8145fa6c8b2290ff5b73d3b041bddd.esd"
    6. "Incorrect file name or path"

    I tried:
    • Rename the ESD file shorter even "esd.esd"
    • Do it on C:\ESD instead E:\ESD
    • Use v4 by @murphy78: "qad-esd-decrypter-v4.7z"

    Result: "Incorrect file name or path"

    Hope you can help me to identify the problem
     
  11. FaiKee

    FaiKee Misinformation spreader

    Jul 24, 2009
    4,303
    5,816
    150
  12. s1ave77

    s1ave77 Has left at his own request

    Aug 15, 2012
    16,104
    24,378
    340
    #112 s1ave77, Jun 8, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2014
    Forums software inserted it due to 50 chars in a row :cool2:.

    EDIT: For that reason CODE tags are recommended :good3:.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. FaiKee

    FaiKee Misinformation spreader

    Jul 24, 2009
    4,303
    5,816
    150
    OIC, tks. :D
     
  14. Caspar1643

    Caspar1643 MDL Novice

    Mar 13, 2012
    22
    3
    0
    yeap:

    I tried in my unit "E:\" so I have:

    E:\
    |_ESD
    |_DISM
    |_9600.17050.winblue_refresh.140317-1640_x64fre_client_coresinglelanguage_es-es-ir3_csla_x64frer_es-es_esd_8480cfff1a8145fa6c8b2290ff5b73d3b041bddd.esd
    |_decrypt.cmd

    When I run command promt as admin:
    Microsoft Windows [VersiĆ³n 6.3.9600]
    (c) 2013 Microsoft Corporation. Todos los derechos reservados.


    C:\Windows\system32>e:


    E:\>cd ESD

    E:\ESD\decrypt 9600.17050.winblue_refresh.140317-1640_x64fre_client_coresinglelanguage_es-es-ir3_csla_x64frer_es-es_esd_8480cfff1a8145fa6c8b2290ff5b73d3b041bddd.esd

    I tried with and without quotes, the same when I tried on "C:\" Unit

    Thanks,
    hope I been clear


     
  15. FaiKee

    FaiKee Misinformation spreader

    Jul 24, 2009
    4,303
    5,816
    150
    I see @abbodi has answered you, follow his instructions. :D
     
  16. moderate

    moderate MDL Guru

    Aug 31, 2009
    3,381
    2,479
    120
    Please how to detach/un-apply/unmount ESD image?
     
  17. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    7,389
    11,614
    240
    #117 murphy78, Oct 12, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    You cannot unmount or un-apply an esd image. This is a one-way transaction.
    You can takeown and icacls permission mod the folder and then delete it though...
    Code:
    takeown /f e:\mount /r /d y & icacls e:\mount /grant administrators:F /t
    rd /q/s e:\mount
     
  18. moderate

    moderate MDL Guru

    Aug 31, 2009
    3,381
    2,479
    120
    #118 moderate, Oct 12, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    BTW1: Thanks, will I be able to I delete ESD itself after that?

    BTW2: So there is no way to make changes in Mount directory tree and then propagate /Commit them to ESD, right?

    BTW3: Is it possible anything like with ESD(?):
    Code:
    dism /image:C:\mount /get-drivers /all /format:table > C:\DriverLog.txt
    BTW4: Is it possible (that /get-drivers) even with extracted RAR containing image directory structure?
     
  19. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    7,389
    11,614
    240
    #119 murphy78, Oct 13, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    If you're going to be wanting to mount and unmount stuff, you should convert to wim.
    I am pretty sure abbodi1406 has a script for that, but it's something like this:
    Code:
    mkdir .\temp
    dism /capture-image /imagefile:install.wim /capturedir:.\temp /name:"Bogus" /description:"Bogus"
    rd /q/s .\temp
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:install.esd /sourceindex:1 /destinationimagefile:install.wim /compress:recovery
    dism /delete-image /imagefile:install.wim /index:1
     
  20. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    16,219
    84,892
    340
    #120 abbodi1406, Oct 13, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Code:
    mkdir temp
    dism /Quiet /Capture-Image /ImageFile:install.wim /CaptureDir:.\temp /Name:container /Compress:max /CheckIntegrity
    rmdir /s /q temp
    dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:install.esd /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:install.wim /compress:recovery /CheckIntegrity
    dism /Quiet /Delete-Image /ImageFile:install.wim /Index:1 /CheckIntegrity