Windows 8.1 EI.cfg Broken?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by pilot76103, Aug 30, 2013.

  1. pilot76103

    pilot76103 MDL Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    190
    33
    10
    #1 pilot76103, Aug 30, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  2. McLovin

    McLovin MDL Junior Member

    Aug 7, 2009
    69
    20
    0
    yes, same here
     
  3. Neyder

    Neyder MDL Novice

    Oct 28, 2012
    12
    5
    0
    #3 Neyder, Aug 30, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Don't put edition ID and run it from /Sources/Setup.exe
    It'll ask for version

    Code:
    [EditionID]
    [Channel]
    Retail
    [VL]
    0
    
     
  4. pilot76103

    pilot76103 MDL Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    190
    33
    10
    #4 pilot76103, Aug 30, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    This is mine below, do I have to have the [EditionID] statement in it?

    Code:
    [Channel]
    Retail
    
    [VL]
    0
    
     
  5. ambidav

    ambidav MDL Guru

    May 14, 2008
    2,441
    5,520
    90
    #5 ambidav, Aug 30, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Still get the same error when doing this with an aio :eek:
     
  6. pilot76103

    pilot76103 MDL Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    190
    33
    10
  7. pilot76103

    pilot76103 MDL Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    190
    33
    10
    #7 pilot76103, Aug 30, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    I officially think the EI.cfg trick is broken. Does not work even when running from \Sources\Setup.exe. I am trying this with Windows 8 Pro with Media Center though so maybe just a regular Windows 8 Pro will be different. I'll test and report.
     
  8. ambidav

    ambidav MDL Guru

    May 14, 2008
    2,441
    5,520
    90
    It works when you boot from the media :eek:
     
  9. pilot76103

    pilot76103 MDL Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    190
    33
    10
    That's the odd thing. Boot from Media clean install is fine. Upgrade, totally broken. So now instead of an AIO we need 3 discs... An AIO Clean Install, x86 Upgrade (Requires Key), and x64 Upgrade (Requires Key). :mad: :(
     
  10. Neyder

    Neyder MDL Novice

    Oct 28, 2012
    12
    5
    0
    You can't upgrade if your base OS is not the same language as the newer OS.
    You can keep only personal files in this case, maybe that's the problem ?
    If you don't put ei.cfg, you'll can chose between "keep nothing" or "keep personal data" if you run the root setup.exe
     
  11. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,787
    10,365
    210
    You cannot upgrade to Windows Pro with Media Center. It's a straight boot install only
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. pilot76103

    pilot76103 MDL Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    190
    33
    10
    That's correct however because AIO discs use both x86 and x64 setup files modified and the EI.cfg method is broken for upgrading it makes the AIO less useful that it used to be thus now the requirement to have an AIO for clean installs and a seperate x86 and x64 disc for upgrades.
     
  13. pilot76103

    pilot76103 MDL Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    190
    33
    10
    #13 pilot76103, Aug 30, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2013
    (OP)
    Actually it is possible. I just did it on a VM. You have to add the Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center image as an install option to the install.wim then use a WMC product key when upgrading.
     
  14. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,787
    10,365
    210
    I stand corrected then. Maybe in my testing I should have used the default key instead of my own...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. pilot76103

    pilot76103 MDL Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    190
    33
    10
    Well so far now the issue is trying to activate. I'm working on that.
     
  16. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,787
    10,365
    210
    That's the problem with not using your own key to install. Which is probably why I remember having problems doing this...

    What you can do is install pro, activate, upgrade, activate, then save the data.dat and tokens.dat from the spp\2.0 folder and replace them on a new install of prowmc, much the same way we did for 8.0
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. pilot76103

    pilot76103 MDL Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    190
    33
    10
    Well the issue for me is I don't have a valid 8.0 key to activate with. I used the Install, KMS Activate, and then Upgrade using free WMC to get Windows 8 Pro with Media Center. Need to find a way to activate without a valid Windows 8.1 Pro activation.
     
  18. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,787
    10,365
    210
  19. pilot76103

    pilot76103 MDL Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    190
    33
    10
    Well I have confirmed that EI.cfg is broken 100% when it comes to upgrades. :mad: :( Anyone else able to get it to work?