Windows 8 - UEFI Install - File more than 4 GB - How?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by valued17, Jul 7, 2013.

  1. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    7,221
    2,273
    240
    Just curious: What's about to use and DL (Double Layer) DVD and burn the files to that? Would the installation work in that way? DL DVD's having up to 8.5GB!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. ljimbo

    ljimbo MDL Novice

    Mar 10, 2010
    48
    11
    0
    This was something i looked into ages ago i never actually got around to trying anything because i didnt really find it..
    but there was talk of a way to install NTFS drivers into the UEFI bios that would allot booting from an NTFS formatted stick in UEFI mode

    tho my search ended up into some Mac forums and drivers and even then it was still very experimental...
     
  3. valued17

    valued17 MDL Member

    Jul 1, 2013
    149
    10
    10
    i have a 16gb USB which I created 2 partitions. One fat32 for all windows setup and boot files and one ntfs partition for install.wim.

    i was then unable to pull install.wim from the ntfs partition (don't know the commands etc) lol
     
  4. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    7,221
    2,273
    240
    DVD's are using ISO Standards. That should mean that the filesize didn't matters others than the max of capacity of the Media used. DL Capacity is 8.5 GB (or 7.9GiB) That would be much enough for your 7GB .wim file! From my understanding what I'd read on the Internet, it should be possible for to use DL-DVD's for EFI Installations.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Humphrey

    Humphrey MDL Expert

    Dec 13, 2011
    1,466
    990
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    18,681
    18,589
    340
  7. NICK@NUMBER11

    NICK@NUMBER11 MDL Expert

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,503
    720
    60
    #28 NICK@NUMBER11, Jul 8, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    It works 100%.. this is what i did ...

    Original iso is en-gb_windows_8_x64_dvd_915412
    then i took the install.wim file and ran this code to enable netframework 3.5
    (*copied the sxs folder from iso to local drive)

    Code:
    DISM /Mount-Wim /WimFile:C:\WMC\install.wim /index:1 /MountDir:C:\WMC\mount
    DISM /image:c:\WMC\mount /Enable-Feature /FeatureName:NetFx3 /All /LimitAccess /Source:c:\WMC\dotnet35\sxs 
    Dism /unmount-wim /mountdir:C:\wmc\mount /commit
    i then injected the KMS client key using this command

    Code:
    cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.0\Assessment and Deployment Kit\Deployment Tools
    Dism.exe /Mount-Wim /WimFile:%~dp0install.wim /Index:1 /MountDir:%~dp0MOUNT
    Dism /Image:C:\Inject8\mount /Set-ProductKey:*****-*****-*****-*****-J8CK4
    Dism.exe /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:%~dp0MOUNT /commit
    pause
    I then injected all available updates and all drivers required using this code

    Code:
    MD %~dp0MOUNT
    
    Dism.exe /Mount-Wim /WimFile:%~dp0install.wim /Index:1 /MountDir:%~dp0MOUNT
    Dism.exe /image:%~dp0MOUNT /Add-Package /PackagePath:"%~dp0x64"
    Dism.exe /image:%~dp0MOUNT /Add-Driver /Driver:"%~dp0x64-Drivers" /Recurse
    dism.exe /image:"e:\inject8\Mount" /get-packages /format:table /English /loglevel:2 /LogPath:"%~dp0DISM.log" >"e:\inject8\Injected_packages.txt"
    Dism.exe /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:%~dp0MOUNT /commit
    REM Check for errors before closing.
    PAUSE
    then i had myself an install.wim totalling 5,087,718, so i split the image within windows 8 as follows

    Code:
    Dism /Split-Image /ImageFile:e:\wim\install.wim /SWMFile:e:\wim\install.swm /FileSize:2500
    the result was that i had 2 files named install.smw, install2.smw

    i copied these 2 files to the original iso (deleting the original install.wim from the iso first) then copied my $oem$ folder used to install off line updates etc..

    i then made the required ei.cfg as follows and placed this into the source folder.

    Code:
    [EditionID]
    [Channel]
    Retail
    [VL]
    0
    extracted new build iso to usb stick formatted to fat32.. installed from usb using UEFI without any issues.


     
  8. valued17

    valued17 MDL Member

    Jul 1, 2013
    149
    10
    10
    I also have that same iso. I have changed it to core single language.

    Then I took install.wim from my recovery and it was in Russian language. I changed its language to English and then replaced it with original iso's install.wim

    then as you suggested, I split it and made 3 parts. Then when I boot via this USB, it gives this error -"windows cannot find the Microsoft software license terms. Make sure the installation sources are valid and restart the installation"

    (with the above set up, I am able to install with legacy mode).
     
  9. crappy44

    crappy44 MDL Novice

    Apr 22, 2011
    35
    10
    0
    Boot into Efi Shell and load ntfs.efi. Then you can use ntfs formated usb devices.
     
  10. Atari800XL

    Atari800XL MDL Addicted

    Apr 3, 2011
    961
    1,678
    30
    Nick@Number11: thanks for that very clear example!!!
     
  11. valued17

    valued17 MDL Member

    Jul 1, 2013
    149
    10
    10
    So I made a win pe USB. Applied install.wim using dism.

    Now do I need to copy boot files ? If so how ? I have cmd open in winpe and image has been applied using dism.
     
  12. NICK@NUMBER11

    NICK@NUMBER11 MDL Expert

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,503
    720
    60
    #33 NICK@NUMBER11, Jul 8, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    This is the command, just change for your correct drive letter

    Code:
    g:\windows\system32\bcdboot g:\windows
    
    then 
    
    g:\Windows\system32\shutdown /r /t 0
    
     
  13. Humphrey

    Humphrey MDL Expert

    Dec 13, 2011
    1,466
    990
    60
    #34 Humphrey, Jul 8, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    What do you mean?
    Did you setup your partitions?

    Below, g: is an example, you will need to find out what drive your computer is using for main install disk. Its not always C:
    Code:
    [image.bat]
    @echo off
    diskpart /s z:\diskpartrans.txt
    z:
    imagex /apply z:\%1 1 g:
    g:\windows\system32\bcdboot g:\windows
    g:\Windows\system32\shutdown /r /t 0
    
    [diskpartrans.txt]
    select disk 0
    clean
    create partition primary size=100
    select partition 1
    format fs=ntfs quick label=system
    active
    create partition primary
    select partition 2
    format fs=ntfs quick label=windows
    assign letter=g
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. valued17

    valued17 MDL Member

    Jul 1, 2013
    149
    10
    10
    #35 valued17, Jul 8, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    using disk part - my winpe is D, I am installing windows on H and i applied image which was saved on a partition named G. I have couple other partitions as well.
     
  15. NICK@NUMBER11

    NICK@NUMBER11 MDL Expert

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,503
    720
    60
    Then to make you windows boot able type this command

    H:\windows\system32\bcdboot H:\windows

    Then restart system... :biggrin:
     
  16. valued17

    valued17 MDL Member

    Jul 1, 2013
    149
    10
    10
    it said - Failure when attempting to copy boot files.

    i then used this command - bcdboot H:\Windows /s H:

    it copied files successfully but windows doesn't start after reboot.
     
  17. NICK@NUMBER11

    NICK@NUMBER11 MDL Expert

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,503
    720
    60
    #38 NICK@NUMBER11, Jul 8, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    was this the command that you typed to apply the install.wim...

    Code:
    Dism /apply-image /imagefile:G:\install.wim /index:1 /ApplyDir:H:\
    Then did you type

    Code:
    H:\windows\system32\bcdboot H:\windows
     
  18. valued17

    valued17 MDL Member

    Jul 1, 2013
    149
    10
    10
    #39 valued17, Jul 8, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    exactly. One thing here - this H already had a windows installed before I applied the image. May be I need to format it and start afresh ? I didn't format it before applying the image.

    p.s - thanks for your valuable time and thanks to others as well for being patient and helping.
     
  19. NICK@NUMBER11

    NICK@NUMBER11 MDL Expert

    Mar 23, 2010
    1,503
    720
    60
    #40 NICK@NUMBER11, Jul 8, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I see yes you are better off running diskpart to clean the disk and then create the partitioons use these commands...

    Code:
    [diskpartrans.txt]
    select disk 0
    clean
    create partition primary size=100
    select partition 1
    format fs=ntfs quick label=system
    active
    create partition primary
    select partition 2
    format fs=ntfs quick label=windows
    assign letter=g
    *change to correct driver letter