Windows Integration Guide - murphy78

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by murphy78, Sep 5, 2013.

  1. s1ave77

    s1ave77 Has left at his own request

    Aug 15, 2012
    16,134
    24,034
    340
    Yep, script is working and part of my JATD script for quite a while now :cool2:. Works like a charm in Audit Mode :good3:.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. kastrel

    kastrel MDL Member

    Mar 7, 2013
    247
    50
    10
    Slave77,really works? WU works in auditory mode using that scripts?Please you could me send this script for me down?Thanks:worthy:
     
  3. s1ave77

    s1ave77 Has left at his own request

    Aug 15, 2012
    16,134
    24,034
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. JohnyGS

    JohnyGS MDL Member

    Apr 11, 2014
    100
    23
    10
    #504 JohnyGS, Jun 9, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    @murphy78 If possible I want to ask you something, for example: I do a snapshot of the windows through a virtual machine, creating a custom iso only with integrated updates, but even I using an ESD iso and it is capturing the install.esd the same size of a install.wim with the same procedure.

    The command used for this capture is this:

    Code:
    cd sysprep
    sysprep
    dism /online /cleanup-image /startcomponentcleanup
    sysdm.cpl
    lusrmgr
    cleanmgr
    dism /capture-image /imagefile:<local which will save> /capturedir:<drive letter the VHD> /name:<description> /compress:max

    To some command that I can use so you can decrease the size of install.esd?
     
  5. s1ave77

    s1ave77 Has left at his own request

    Aug 15, 2012
    16,134
    24,034
    340
    #505 s1ave77, Jun 9, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    To my knowledge you can only capture as WIM file with these commands. Even if you name it ESD it's still a WIM file. You can convert the WIM to ESD afterwards.
    Code:
    dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:"path\to\install.wim" /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:"path\to\new\install.esd" /Compress:recovery 
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. JohnyGS

    JohnyGS MDL Member

    Apr 11, 2014
    100
    23
    10
    #506 JohnyGS, Jun 9, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    @s1ave77 Thanks Bro!

    But the question I'm sorry, I did not understand much of it:doh:, following the procedure I use to capture the install.wim (or.esd), at what time I could use the command mentioned by you? I can replace the command I use for what you showed me?

    Code:
    dism /capture-image /imagefile:<local which will save> /capturedir:<drive letter the VHD> /name:<description> /compress:max
    for this
    Code:
    dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:"path\to\install.wim" /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:"path\to\new\install.esd" /Compress:recovery
     
  7. s1ave77

    s1ave77 Has left at his own request

    Aug 15, 2012
    16,134
    24,034
    340
    #507 s1ave77, Jun 9, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    After the capture of the WIM you can convert it to ESD with that command. It will decrease size by ~25%.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. JohnyGS

    JohnyGS MDL Member

    Apr 11, 2014
    100
    23
    10
    @s1ave77 Ok bro understand now,thank you for the clarification!
     
  9. s1ave77

    s1ave77 Has left at his own request

    Aug 15, 2012
    16,134
    24,034
    340
    You're welcome :D.

    NOTE: The conversion process is very CPU consuming :cool2:.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. atplsx

    atplsx MDL Member

    May 11, 2009
    129
    84
    10
    How to enable microsoft hyper-v offline image
    thanks
     
  11. silverbios

    silverbios MDL Novice

    Jun 14, 2014
    4
    0
    0
    i have a question:
    how to preinstalled some app and driver with winreducer?
    for example how to preinstalled nvidia and intel driver with program?
     
  12. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,740
    10,314
    210
    #512 murphy78, Jun 16, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    I think this will work...
    Code:
    dism /image:c:\mount /enable-feature /featurename:microsoft-hyper-v-all /all
     
  13. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,740
    10,314
    210
    There's a drivers addition section in winreducer. I don't really know beyond that.
    I'd prefer to stick to Microsoft methods.
     
  14. silverbios

    silverbios MDL Novice

    Jun 14, 2014
    4
    0
    0
    okay!
    but how to add app with ms method?
    because not find any method :(
     
  15. gdblaster

    gdblaster MDL Novice

    Feb 15, 2011
    32
    8
    0
    did anyone try to integrate 2969339 in the ISOs with the update 1, that already have 2919442 integrated?

    from my observations, i saw that adding 2969339 before doing any other operation (like enabling NetFx3 or adding all the updates), that status of the update is Installed
    if 2969339 is added after enabling NetFx3 for example, it will have the status as "Install Pending"

    so i am wondering, which method is best to deal with this update offline, a) adding it before everything else, b) adding it before everything else and then cleanup the image with /resetbase, because there is no pending action, or c) adding it as any regular update in no particular order?

    i read a while ago a post made by murphy and he said that using /resetbase after adding a servicing stack update to install.wim could cause some issues, but can't find the post anymore it seems. i know that /resetbase is good for boot.wim and winre.wim as it cleans up the images, but i am mostly interested about install.wim
     
  16. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    9,802
    37,147
    300
    option c is good, or:
    d) adding it before everything else, without running /resetbase

    if one update triggers the Pending status, any update integrated after it will have the Pending status
    for now, those three updates doesn't trigger penging status 2969339, 2966870, 2959977
    2934018 will trigger it, so leave it after them
     
  17. gdblaster

    gdblaster MDL Novice

    Feb 15, 2011
    32
    8
    0
    thank you for the reply, your option D was my option A but i didn't make myself clear :) sorry
    and yes i know, even NetFx3 sets the Pending status to future updates, but i don't mind about the Pending flag to the other updates, was just interested about how to deal with the servicing stack update
    thank you for the answer :)
     
  18. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,740
    10,314
    210
    Once you trigger the pending status, everything installed past that point will also be added pending, whether or not it needs to.
     
  19. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    6,433
    14,190
    210
    #520 Mr.X, Jun 27, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    When compressing wim files to esd files, DISM utility stops working with a dialog that says something went wrong bla bla bla. Any ideas?
    Sometimes works fine without issues so it's an intermittent fail.
    The problems shows up when export process goes at 1%, if by any lucky chance it surpasses 2% the thing finishes without issues. The problems seems to appear just when I start to export a new index, but not always, it's a random issue.
    Code:
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:W:\win81aio\esd\install.wim /sourceindex:1 /destinationimagefile:W:\win81aio\esd\install.esd /checkintegrity /compress:recovery
    
    I've already did the following recommended export commands prior the above one:
    Code:
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:W:\win81aio\win81x64\sources\install.wim /sourceindex:1 /destinationimagefile:W:\win81aio\esd\install.wim /checkintegrity /compress:max
    
    
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:W:\win81aio\win81x64\sources\install.wim /sourceindex:2 /destinationimagefile:W:\win81aio\esd\install.wim /checkintegrity /compress:max
    
    
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:W:\win81aio\win81x64\sources\install.wim /sourceindex:3 /destinationimagefile:W:\win81aio\esd\install.wim /checkintegrity /compress:max
    
    
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:W:\win81aio\win81x64\sources\install.wim /sourceindex:4 /destinationimagefile:W:\win81aio\esd\install.wim /checkintegrity /compress:max
    
    
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:W:\win81aio\win81x64\sources\install.wim /sourceindex:5 /destinationimagefile:W:\win81aio\esd\install.wim /checkintegrity /compress:max
    
    
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:W:\win81aio\win81x64\sources\install.wim /sourceindex:6 /destinationimagefile:W:\win81aio\esd\install.wim /checkintegrity /compress:max
    
    
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:W:\win81aio\win81x64\sources\install.wim /sourceindex:7 /destinationimagefile:W:\win81aio\esd\install.wim /checkintegrity /compress:max
    
    
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:W:\win81aio\win81x64\sources\install.wim /sourceindex:8 /destinationimagefile:W:\win81aio\esd\install.wim /checkintegrity /compress:max
    
    
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:W:\win81aio\win81x64\sources\install.wim /sourceindex:9 /destinationimagefile:W:\win81aio\esd\install.wim /checkintegrity /compress:max
    
    
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:W:\win81aio\win81x64\sources\install.wim /sourceindex:10 /destinationimagefile:W:\win81aio\esd\install.wim /checkintegrity /compress:max
    
    
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:W:\win81aio\win81x64\sources\install.wim /sourceindex:11 /destinationimagefile:W:\win81aio\esd\install.wim /checkintegrity /compress:max
    

    All commands are made in an open command prompt, not a script.