Windows MCE2005 preinstalled on Acer Desktop

Discussion in 'Windows XP / Older OS' started by mt28468, Jan 28, 2009.

  1. mt28468

    mt28468 MDL Novice

    Jan 28, 2009
    4
    0
    0
    #1 mt28468, Jan 28, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2009
    Windows MCE2005 preinstalled on Acer Desktop, Help reload after change of motherboard

    I purchased one Desktop PC Acer Espire 500 with Licenced Windows MCE 2005 preinstalled (along with set of recovery CDs) in October 2006. The motherboard of the PC failed in August 2008 (after expiry of warranty period of 1 Year), OEM, i.e. M/s Acer India, didn't made available the replacement of the motherboard, terming it as an obsolete.

    Later I purchased an ASUS motherboard P5B-VMSE from local market & get fitted the same (CPU: Pentium D, S.No.-830, sSpec#SL8CN).

    But the recovery CDs that came with the PC supports only Acer System and not getting installed with Asus motherboard.

    Please help me in installing my Licenced copy of Windows XP MCE 2005.

    Regards,

    MT
     
  2. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,646
    3,003
    300
    #2 urie, Jan 28, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    download this file and unpackit and run it will tell you if you have SLP in your ASUS bios.


    here is sample txt of report from my dell machine which means i can use any of those bios sets with corresponding CRC numbers.
    Code:
    Windows XP OEMBIOS Test v1.0/168/66 (C) 2007 severach @ msfn forums
    F:Dell System OEMBIOS.CAT CRC=63875D1F
    F:Dell System OEMBIOS.CAT CRC=B6F0EEFD
    These Royalty OEM install CD's should preactivate (SLP) on your system.
    Either that easiest way would probably got to you mother board manufacturer and find out the latest bios and post a request for a bios mod in xp section named. Request to insert SLP1.0 into modded BIOS
     

    Attached Files:

  3. mt28468

    mt28468 MDL Novice

    Jan 28, 2009
    4
    0
    0
    #3 mt28468, Jan 28, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2009
    (OP)
    dear urie thanks for your reply, but I could not understand the method you suggested; please explain how will this facilitate me in installation of my liceced Win MCE to a new motherboard system?

    Also, please explain that how the SLP of the new Asus Motherboard would match with that of SLP BIOS of Original motherboard of Acer?

    Regards,

    MT
     
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,646
    3,003
    300
    #4 urie, Jan 28, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  5. mt28468

    mt28468 MDL Novice

    Jan 28, 2009
    4
    0
    0
    dear urie, Hello.
    Actually the set of recovery CDs I have, are having recovery system with Norton Ghost.

    Please advise.

    Regards

    MT
     
  6. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,646
    3,003
    300
    What more can i say, try flashing your bios with mod i did and try the recovery cd's.
     
  7. mt28468

    mt28468 MDL Novice

    Jan 28, 2009
    4
    0
    0
    Dear Urie,
    thanx for your kind suggestions. But I am afraid that flashing the BIOS may damage the motherboard. as such I have the licence for Win XP MCE 2005, if I arrange a retail copy of Win MCE (licenced to someone else), can it be validated in my name by crack / keygen?

    Kindly suggest methods.

    Regards,

    MT
     
  8. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,646
    3,003
    300
    To be honest no it will fail validation eventually, also you don't have a licence for Win XP MCE 2005 that was only for your ACER machine it is OEM SLP and the only way is to flash your bios, you can try hack cracks e.c.t but they will fail eventually, the only real way is to flash your bios even then it is recovery cd's you have, your choice motherboard quite cheap if bios flash go's wrong or buy windows MCE if you can still get it.

    sorry can't say any more if your not willing to try.