a way to mod insyde bios which can't be opened with ezh2o

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by oho77, Aug 3, 2009.

  1. The1n

    The1n MDL Novice

    Sep 26, 2008
    38
    0
    0
  2. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,230
    12,734
    340
    I've found the OEMID TABLE ID header addresses.
    They are structured like this:

    OEMID: ACRSYS
    OEMTable ID: ACRPRDCT

    They are grouped like this:
    ACRS YS
    ACRP RDCT

    4+2+4+4 :D

    Should work to replace them and finally the pubkey and the marker!
    Always make sure winhex shows NO changes while editing to avoid unwanted changes....:)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. bgage

    bgage MDL Senior Member

    Jul 7, 2009
    421
    1
    10
    Yen... your first file... the one you mod is JM31_MOD.fd right?
    when I open it... I still see ACRPRDCT? I thought you change it to HP :confused:

    The second file, I can't find OEMID TABLE ID :p
    Edit : okay.. found it using 4+2+4+4
     
  4. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,230
    12,734
    340
    No, I wanted to do that first at the second bios, step by step.
    IMO we are able now to mod any Insyde to any OEMID we need....needs to be confirmed anyway.

    Will post the second mod which I've changed to HPQ...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    498
    180
    #25 911medic, Aug 3, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Bagheera

    Bagheera MDL Member

    Jul 21, 2009
    146
    0
    10
    Anyone care to translate the chinese doc (pdf) ??

    please share i'm curious... :cool:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. bgage

    bgage MDL Senior Member

    Jul 7, 2009
    421
    1
    10
    I'll use translator... still confusing believe me :p

    Oh and btw.. the first file is your BIOS... if you wanna try... I still need the confirmation from yen to compare :D
     
  8. bgage

    bgage MDL Senior Member

    Jul 7, 2009
    421
    1
    10
    #29 bgage, Aug 3, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  9. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,230
    12,734
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,230
    12,734
    340
    A byte to byte comparison of my mod and yours does NOT match. Have to figure it out what went different...:confused:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. bgage

    bgage MDL Senior Member

    Jul 7, 2009
    421
    1
    10
    Okay yen... will do

    btw Bagheera... the first one after I recheck.. the OEMID still ACRSYS :eek:
    please don't use it :p
     
  12. bgage

    bgage MDL Senior Member

    Jul 7, 2009
    421
    1
    10
    I'll try to do 2nd mod then compare with my 1st mod

    Edit : My 1st mod & 2nd mod is matching byte to byte... Did you find what went different with your mod yen?
     
  13. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,230
    12,734
    340
    I did it 2 times and they are matching. You have to make sure that winhex doesn't show message that some changes occur. I was only able to do that by firstly replacing the pubkey and marker, then save the pre-mod. After that I've re-opened the pre-modded file and changed the OEMIDs.


    Edit The OEMID has not changed.. will do a new one...:rolleyes:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,230
    12,734
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,230
    12,734
    340
    #38 Yen, Aug 3, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    OK now, here are the instructions how to modify a bios >1Mbyte, not to open with EzH20:D

    Open bios with hexeditor and search for the _FV module indicator:

    Code:
    Offset      0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7   8  9  A  B  C  D  E  F
    
    00010000   00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00   ................
    00010010   D9 54 93 7A 68 04 4A 44  81 CE 0B F6 17 D8 90 DF   ÙT“zh.JDÎ.ö.Øß
    00010020   00 D0 16 00 00 00 00 00  5F 46 56 48 FF 8E FF FF   .Ð......_FVHÿŽÿÿ
    00010030   48 00 87 AC 00 00 00 01  01 00 00 00 00 D0 16 00   H.‡¬.........Ð..
    
    Here it starts the module we want cut.(offset 10000h)
    The red bytes are the module length bytes to be reversed.
    00 D0 16 00--->0016D000, which means the module size is 16D000h

    Cut them and save it to a new file FV00.fd
    This file is now editable with EzH20. Do the modifications, direct memory edit, save it and write it back to the biosfile to the same offset again, done!

    @bgage, great work IMO we did it, thanks to Oho77, you did a great job!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. bgage

    bgage MDL Senior Member

    Jul 7, 2009
    421
    1
    10
    #39 bgage, Aug 3, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Thanks Yen for the pointer... It's been a real fun for a while...
    Thanks Oho77 for finding it... Many people with Acer lappy will happy now :D:D
     
  17. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,230
    12,734
    340
    Yeah, it was a lot of fun! Another breakthrough was Dell. Now still to figure it out how to fix checksum at HP's own bios....;)

    I'm making it sticky a few days...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...