Fixes for "1809 deleting user accounts and data"

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by pf100, Oct 5, 2018.

  1. pf100

    pf100 MDL Expert

    Oct 22, 2010
    1,832
    2,757
    60
    I use a crappy netbook for all these new builds. When I updated 1803 to 1809 with an iso, after it was finished installing I noticed lots of bandwidth being used. So I looked in process explorer and it was onedrive sucking down all my available bandwidth so I killed it. I was shocked. I don't use onedrive and had it disabled. I had to disable it again. 1809 re-enabled it and I have no idea what it was doing. I didn't lose any data and I'm thinking onedrive may play a part in this data deletion idiocy.
     
  2. rayleigh_otter

    rayleigh_otter MDL Expert

    Aug 8, 2018
    1,121
    923
    60
    The word on the grapevine was that a users stuff was uploaded to one drive. I thought they stopped that :g:
     
  3. rayleigh_otter

    rayleigh_otter MDL Expert

    Aug 8, 2018
    1,121
    923
    60
    See if there is a master setting in group policy.
     
  4. valued17

    valued17 MDL Member

    Jul 1, 2013
    143
    10
    10
    So those who don't use a Microsoft account and OneDrive were safe? Including those who didn't change the location where their music, photos, documents etc are saved.
     
  5. zen45

    zen45 MDL Addicted

    Feb 25, 2010
    684
    1,432
    30
    oct 9 MS released a "fix" for the file system error ! I never lost any data and I had reassigned my pictures to another drive so I guess I was lucky
    also I have an SSD (and used AHCI, so that TRIM was enabled)
     
  6. BAU

    BAU MDL Addicted

    Feb 10, 2009
    626
    1,101
    30
     
  7. MELERIX

    MELERIX MDL Expert

    Nov 7, 2011
    1,081
    542
    60
    #89 MELERIX, Oct 11, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2018
    only the people that have changed folder locations was affected, and no, is not related with account type, neither with OneDrive I guess.
     
  8. pf100

    pf100 MDL Expert

    Oct 22, 2010
    1,832
    2,757
    60
    • The user used an early version of the OneDrive client and used the OneDrive settings to turn on the Auto save feature. This feature turned on KFR for the Documents and/or Pictures folders based on the user’s choice but did not move the existing files from the original “old” location to the new location. For example, if a user turned on Auto Save for pictures the location of the Pictures folder would be changed from c:\users\username\pictures to c:\users\username\onedrive\pictures, but no files would be moved. The current version of this feature moves the files. If the files were not moved and the October 2018 Update was installed the original “old” folder was deleted including the files in that folder (in this example c:\users\username\pictures would be deleted; c:\users\username\onedrive\pictures, the new location, would be preserved).
     
  9. MELERIX

    MELERIX MDL Expert

    Nov 7, 2011
    1,081
    542
    60
    so only if a user was using an older OneDrive version and enabled manually the Auto Save feature it affected Pictures and Documents folders ?
     
  10. pf100

    pf100 MDL Expert

    Oct 22, 2010
    1,832
    2,757
    60
    Yes. I don't know if there's a list anywhere, but I heard the old Google Drive app used Known Folder Redirection too. Basically anything that used KFR without moving the files, the original folder got deleted when updating to 1809.
    For example, if you made your Documents folder point to another location (KFR) either manually or through a program (/onedrive/documents), then leave files in the original location, 1809 deleted the files in the original Documents folder even if the redirected folder was empty.
     
  11. Shayne

    Shayne MDL Addicted

    Jul 31, 2009
    750
    181
    30
    Porn really? not really a good come back for deleting a small networks or offices filing system and not the depiction I take away. I find it to be a big plunder from M$ and definitely makes the list. I have never up graded an OS and always install clean, however, I am wondering. I normally go to the user directory and point users doc, music, pics etc. (prop location move) to separate drives named data, music, etc.. Wonder if this bug during upgrading would wipe these drives, without my back up that would be just sick and you always loose a bit. Lesson: let the others beta test, that is why there is ltsc ............... now that is what is really funny. :confused:

    Regards
     
  12. RanCorX2

    RanCorX2 MDL Addicted

    Jul 19, 2009
    927
    492
    30
    i saw one user on a site said they lost 200+gb from their documents folder....who keeps that much stuff there? i store most of my files on a seperate drive.
     
  13. rayleigh_otter

    rayleigh_otter MDL Expert

    Aug 8, 2018
    1,121
    923
    60
    Ouch :tooth:
     
  14. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami MDL Addicted

    Mar 15, 2014
    942
    819
    30
    People had removed folders, which were on separate drives and even using the resumed upgrade, so I guess that MS has decided to just ignore the issue, the damage is done, so whatever. :pissy:
     
  15. rayleigh_otter

    rayleigh_otter MDL Expert

    Aug 8, 2018
    1,121
    923
    60
    Im all set with 8.1 for the foreseable future, just hope these kind of foulups dont trickle down. 5 years and ms may have pulled their finger out and sacked ghandis lookalike.
     
  16. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    3,535
    2,091
    120
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. rayleigh_otter

    rayleigh_otter MDL Expert

    Aug 8, 2018
    1,121
    923
    60
  18. Saxle

    Saxle MDL Novice

    Mar 13, 2018
    30
    26
    0