[Guide]Way to Disable Keylogger/ Telemetry v3.55

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by LiteOS, Oct 9, 2014.

  1. LiteOS

    LiteOS MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2014
    1,827
    788
    60
    #901 LiteOS, Jul 23, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2016
    (OP)
    Then its didn't removed
    cos UAC and metro app doesn't work on it

    edit: RS1 Issues
    Played with server 2016 14393 RTM for 3 hours
    ms create it harder to tame, i mean to disable service change settings
    services that mostly gathering data is unable to disable or delete will crash the system after deleting
    in other builds system will run without it

    Same for client, most of script running without a problem, but to go extreme will crash it
    like disable task scheduler will make explorer unstable and wont work most of the time
    deleting unistore, will crash the system with bsod

    With build 14388 i could deny access to taskhostw.exe to disable task scheduler functions and explorer works ok
    but now with this build, its unstable

    will be happy to hear ideas

    edit2:
    Smart OS, its checking it self if is there something different right away :D

    edit3:
    found a way to fix both problem
     
  2. e5tfn

    e5tfn MDL Novice

    Mar 21, 2014
    22
    13
    0
    At this point is cat and mouse game, they are committed and want our data really bad.
    The telemetry will get more and more complex ...now i don't even trust that something disabled stays disabled, using windows as a rolling release is privacy suicide IMHO.
     
  3. LiteOS

    LiteOS MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2014
    1,827
    788
    60
    I'm pretty sure task scheduler re-enable
    its can be disable its a bit extreme
     
  4. bakagaijin1

    bakagaijin1 MDL Novice

    Aug 3, 2016
    3
    1
    0
    Okay, I don't really feel like digging through 91 pages on this thread, so I will try to make this simple:

    I plan on updating from 7 Ultimate to 10 pro, then updating that to enterprise.

    Will I be able to disable telemetry on enterprise, and/or block the packets from sending to MS?
     
  5. jose_marino

    jose_marino Guest

    Dude just use LTSB 10240.
     
  6. maestrosir

    maestrosir MDL Junior Member

    Aug 1, 2016
    65
    43
    0
    Guys, how I can verify that I disabled telemetry?
    Sorry I am not very good with networks,
     
  7. LiteOS

    LiteOS MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2014
    1,827
    788
    60
    is there upgrade path to this ? i dont know ,properly there no way to upgrade to enterprise mb for OEM ?
    Windows made task scheduler a must ,to run explorer.exe and others application
    so u can but u dont know if its will re-enable

    anyways appling this method with cody firewall blocking method should bring back the performance and responsiveness(most of the time) and block telemetry


    wireshark application to monitor network traffic
     
  8. RobertJ

    RobertJ MDL Senior Member

    Apr 4, 2014
    319
    79
    10
    Yes, Pro can be switched to Enterprise, but of course then you'll need to activate using MAK or KMS.
     
  9. Capum130

    Capum130 MDL Member

    Jan 25, 2011
    228
    4
    10
    What am I doing wrong?
    also the package removing procedure doesn't seem to change standard user account as you can see in an administrator account, not THE administrator account (which is disabled). The start menu icons remained the same.
     
  10. LiteOS

    LiteOS MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2014
    1,827
    788
    60
    Remove the icons
    if its new user u can del the profile and login then will not appear
     
  11. dobbelina

    dobbelina MDL Senior Member

    Apr 2, 2009
    426
    523
    10
    #911 dobbelina, Aug 6, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Hi,

    Trying to #Removing packages - Online

    But get an error on line 12:
    Code:
    $s | foreach { join-path $PSItem \owners | rd }
    Error is:
    rd : Requested registry access is not allowed.
    At line:1 char:44
    + $s | foreach { join-path $PSItem \owners | rd }
    + ~~
    + CategoryInfo : PermissionDenied: (HKEY_LOCAL_MACH...4~~10.0.10586.0:String) [Remove-Item], Se
    curityException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : System.Security.SecurityException,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.RemoveItemComm
    and


    Running elevated Powershell ISE 64 bit.
    Wazzup...?
     
  12. LiteOS

    LiteOS MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2014
    1,827
    788
    60
    Read the topic u need to run it as TI
     
  13. dobbelina

    dobbelina MDL Senior Member

    Apr 2, 2009
    426
    523
    10
  14. dobbelina

    dobbelina MDL Senior Member

    Apr 2, 2009
    426
    523
    10
    Hi lite8!

    Thanks for your reply.
    I have done some more testing in Vmware.
    The symptoms I describe above happens with dism as well when uninstalling more than 1 package.
    After some googling I learned that the Windows Update & System Restore services might be the cause for this.
    It is recommended to disable both when uninstalling packages with dism.
    I can't confirm it as of yet, as I haven't had time to experiment.
    I will get back to you in this thread if or when confirmed.
     
  15. ylx

    ylx MDL Novice

    Dec 14, 2014
    22
    6
    0
    cool,thanks
     
  16. dobbelina

    dobbelina MDL Senior Member

    Apr 2, 2009
    426
    523
    10
    #919 dobbelina, Aug 10, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2016
    Good news!

    I have now done some extensive testing, and can confirm the conflict between
    Windows Update & both the tools install_wim_tweak.exe and Dism.exe.
    (In online mode, not Mounted Wim)

    I literally teared the guts out of Win 10, using both the above tools with no problem,
    when WU was disabled.
    When I come to think about it it's quite obvious,
    Each time you use Dism & IWT and do a re-boot, you get the "Windows is being uppdated" message
    while shutting down.
    This process and WU aren't the best of buddies, you could easily screw the system.

    Please lite8, update the first post so people don't find it out the hard way.
    I say it here again with loud letters, so people hopefully don't miss this important info:

    DISABLE WINDOWS UPDATE & SYSTEM RESTORE WHILE USING THESE TOOLS !!!
    Afterwards you can activate them again after at least 1 re-boot or....:throw:
     
  17. LiteOS

    LiteOS MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2014
    1,827
    788
    60
    #920 LiteOS, Aug 15, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2016
    (OP)
    Due to error in Event Logger, i found /norestart parameter cause to faulty removing of packages
    so need to remove all the packages in same cmd which make it bit hard cause the limitation of bat file line

    found that using cbsenum uninstall packages list correctly

    so 3.5 version:
    fixing this bug