Hdd problems with windows

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by dragonfire665, Jun 23, 2018.

  1. dragonfire665

    dragonfire665 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2008
    258
    3
    10
    #1 dragonfire665, Jun 23, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2018
    Hello everyone Is been awhile. But I have come across a problem that I need help with.
    So I installed windows 10 on a new computer. I went to used my old windows Daz loader and gave me a "unsupported system" message. Never seen it before. Mind you, I used an old windows 10 disc with old update.
    So, I tried to use kmspico. I was unable to find a copy in this website to download since every page was found to be no longer working. I found a version online. But while installing it, it installed a bunch of ads and crap. I immediately restarted my system and just tried to start fresh with a windows 7 disc.
    Windows 7 was not finding my hdd even thought it was loading and showing within bios.
    I then tried again Windows 10 again. This time when I boot with cdrom and start the I stallion loading process, my screen goes to a dot blinking page then the whole screen turns gold and nothing happens.
    So, Yea. Now I'm stuck and can't figured out what happened or how to fix it so I can install windows 7 instead.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,842
    2,021
    210
    I would first do a Low-Level format of the System HDD (I use LLFMT from hddguru.com for such). After doing that, I would install Windows 7 Ultimate and use (after the full install) DAZ Loader for to 'activate' Windows. If that were successful, I would use a freshly downloaded Windows 10 ISO, mount that one on the running Windows 7 Ultimate and use the Setup.exe for to start the Upgrade Process to Windows 10. If asked for a Product Key I would 'check' that I didn't have one and carry on the install.

    That should do the Job! After that was done completely, you'll have a new HWID for your machine and could directly start a new and clean install of Windows 10, which would be auto-activated with your new HWID. Not forget to be online while doing the Upgrade and also Clean Install!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Sajjo

    Sajjo MDL Senior Member

    Feb 6, 2018
    442
    524
    10
  4. dragonfire665

    dragonfire665 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2008
    258
    3
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. dragonfire665

    dragonfire665 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2008
    258
    3
    10
    Thought low level format was a no go with new sata drives? Just learned something. Every day is a learning day.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. pf100

    pf100 MDL Expert

    Oct 22, 2010
    1,014
    1,252
    60
    Daz' loader has never worked with Windows 10, only Windows 7.
    A "low-level format" nowadays is just writing zeroes to the drive. Low-level format sounds better so everyone still uses the term including me.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. dragonfire665

    dragonfire665 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2008
    258
    3
    10
    is there away to make hdd low level bootable?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,842
    2,021
    210
    In general yes, you're right!

    I'm not really a fan of SSD's, simply because of to much problems with those within the Warranty time. On one of those, A OCZ SSD, which I wasn't able to claim (after 13months of using) I tested to get it back to work with using the low-level formatting and that worked just fine. What those other Special SSD Tools were not able, the LLFMT does the job and that SSD is still running 2 years later in a daily used Laptop o0f one of my workers!

    Anyway, LLFMT should only be used by some people who know what they're doing, and, regarding SSD's as last resort.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Hadron-Curious

    Hadron-Curious MDL Guru

    Jul 4, 2014
    3,521
    515
    120
    Have you checked the BIOS of the system if UEFI is enabled?
     
  10. pf100

    pf100 MDL Expert

    Oct 22, 2010
    1,014
    1,252
    60
    I don't understand what you're asking me.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 MDL Senior Member

    Dec 9, 2011
    295
    110
    10
    I believe in learning from mistakes & everyone makes them so pointing them out on tech forums is what I do & what I expect from others,you see glass half empty I see glass half full.
     
  12. ShiningDog

    ShiningDog MDL Senior Member

    Feb 25, 2018
    483
    487
    10
    #13 ShiningDog, Jun 23, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2018
    i dont understand why people here suggesting low level format. whats the advantage of doing that?
    it only reduces storage life.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. whitestar_999

    whitestar_999 MDL Senior Member

    Dec 9, 2011
    295
    110
    10
    It literally took me 1min to find a working download link for kmspico from the 1st page of thread here.I do read & as you said I will keep my messages to myself from now on in this thread.Good luck solving your issue.
     
  14. dragonfire665

    dragonfire665 MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2008
    258
    3
    10
    Here is my new issues. After formatting the drive, windows 7 wont let me install because it tells me the following message:

    "
    windows cannot be installed to this disk the selected disk is of the gpt partition style

    I have tried everything, but at the end, it only shows and uses 746GB. It will install there but the other 2TB are no where to be found, not even as unllocated. I have tried other partition program, but none see the missing 2TB. How can i recover the missing 2TB.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. eemuler

    eemuler MDL Member

    Jul 31, 2015
    191
    37
    10
    Nothing condescending about it, IMHO.
     
  16. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,842
    2,021
    210
    Not really true.

    In some cases, the low-level formatting is the only way to get an HDD back to work. But, who will use those apps, should do that very carefully and know what he/she is doing! Fatalities maybe not far away!

    If someone telling that Low-Level Format is same as Zero'ing the HDD, that's not entirely true either. What (as an example) LLFMT is doing, is even cleaning/clearing the otherwise protected Track Zero. What Apps like Drevitalize, HDD Regenerator, HD Sentinel and so doing, isn't Low-Level formatting. They're overwriting all accessible Sectors and maybe marking those which could net accessed as Bad Sectors. In Drevitalize is a question of settings how many time that should be done, in HDD Regenerator it's a fixed number or re-writes (3 AFAIK) and in HD Sentinel it's at least 5 times. Read more about that at the specific sites on the Internet.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. eemuler

    eemuler MDL Member

    Jul 31, 2015
    191
    37
    10
    AFAIK the disk controller on board the HDD or SSD intercepts all commands and basically does its own thing. What happens at the low level is not under our control.
     
  18. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,842
    2,021
    210
    Now, WHAT HDD you try to install Windows 7 too?

    If I were you, I would just use any single (maybe old) HDD and install Windows 7 Ultimate to it in MBR scheme. Finish installing, as I wrote in my post (Post: #3) use DAZ Loader to activate and upgrade to Windows 10 after that. That would create a "legal" new HWID for your computer. Now, remove that 'old HDD' with Windows 7 and clean install Windows 10 (what version you want) and get it auto-activated on the Boot System you want.

    That's it!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,842
    2,021
    210
    The Firmware of an HDD could be interrupted with some 'good old' Debug commands, which is done in LLFTM!

    But I don't want to go into a discussion about that. If you like to know more about that, you'll need to invest a lot of time and learn even more! And some like that would end up in nothing good on THIS FORUM!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...