Set Base Priority Idle CPU, Lowest IO, Low Paging

Discussion in 'Application Software' started by shewolf, Jun 9, 2017.

  1. shewolf

    shewolf MDL Senior Member

    Apr 16, 2015
    338
    880
    10
    #1 shewolf, Jun 9, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2018
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    15,699
    22,600
    340
    Might be better to post the code in [CODE][/CODE] tags to avoid errors due to page formatting.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. shewolf

    shewolf MDL Senior Member

    Apr 16, 2015
    338
    880
    10
    ?? :(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    6,148
    13,728
    210
  5. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    6,148
    13,728
    210
    And... In my humble opinion, you should call it "context menu (right-click) reg tweak" not "utility".
    As soon as I hear utility I think of a lil program. A third party program, of course.
    In this case it's not.
     
  6. shewolf

    shewolf MDL Senior Member

    Apr 16, 2015
    338
    880
    10
    #6 shewolf, Jun 9, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2018
    (OP)
    The requirements determined the choice, it should be a scripting language, follow-up have shown that even a PowerShell is not necessary, it will be enough conventional syntax CMD and the VBS, fit a single operation on a single line, rather than the bat-file, and then since in any case the required entry in the registry, the idea was to fit everything in the registry, thus fulfilling the condition for the missing file.

    So, the result was a utility that looks like a drop-down submenu in the properties of executable files, not reg tweak.
    I hope you understand and understand the difference, considering your poor level of knowledge in writing code. ? :laie: :laie:

    :eek:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. shewolf

    shewolf MDL Senior Member

    Apr 16, 2015
    338
    880
    10
  8. shewolf

    shewolf MDL Senior Member

    Apr 16, 2015
    338
    880
    10
  9. shewolf

    shewolf MDL Senior Member

    Apr 16, 2015
    338
    880
    10
  10. shewolf

    shewolf MDL Senior Member

    Apr 16, 2015
    338
    880
    10
  11. shewolf

    shewolf MDL Senior Member

    Apr 16, 2015
    338
    880
    10
    reserved
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. MonarchX

    MonarchX MDL Expert

    May 5, 2007
    1,369
    236
    60
    Great! Its a bit limited though - I always set game .exe files to Above Normal for CPU and High for IO and that option is not available... I just use Process Hacker and do it manually.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. MonarchX

    MonarchX MDL Expert

    May 5, 2007
    1,369
    236
    60
    #14 MonarchX, Jun 19, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2017
    I thought I/O was drive-performance load/priority, kind of like CPU but for drives (HDD, SSD, etc.). I guess I was wrong! Wouldn't setting I/O Wait fo rLow or Very Low improve performance? I am still low - why are you then coupling idle CPU and low IO? Obviously low IO = worse performance, which means high IO = increased performance? From personal experience, I noticed games loading quicker when I/O Total Rate in Process Hacker 3 (latest nightly beta) is set to High, but maybe its just placebo...

    EDIT: I am confused - is I/O Wait same as I/O TOTAL RATE I see in Process Hacker? There are some intensive tasks that programs themselves, even Windows processes that deal with DISM that automatically set IO Total Rate to High... And since both HDD's and SSD's are much slower than RAM and CPU, then it would make even more sense to set I/O Total Rate to High - so that it catches up to CPU, which I set to Above Normal for games.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. shewolf

    shewolf MDL Senior Member

    Apr 16, 2015
    338
    880
    10
    #15 shewolf, Jun 19, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2017
    (OP)
    I/O = input/output, term I/O is used to describe any program, operation or device that transfers data to or from a computer and to or from a peripheral device. Every transfer is an output from one device and an input into another.

    iowait = time spent by the CPU waiting for a I/O operations to complete.

    IoPriority = change a user's I/O priority settings.


    Above Normal for CPU + I/O = Normal (Default) = good compromise
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. MonarchX

    MonarchX MDL Expert

    May 5, 2007
    1,369
    236
    60
    I know you're trying to help, I do appreciate it, and I guess I am not as bright as I thought I was, but are you saying that:
    CPU Priority set to Above Normal + I/O Priority set to Normal = Good compromise for performance?

    And that:
    CPU Priority set to Above Normal + I/O Priority set to High = Possible performance problems due to increase I/O Wait?

    I/O Priority set to High = increased I/O Wait for other processes / threads, correct?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. shewolf

    shewolf MDL Senior Member

    Apr 16, 2015
    338
    880
    10
    -- yes

    -- yes

    -- yes
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. freddie-o

    freddie-o MDL Novice

    Jul 29, 2009
    27
    22
    0
    Hi. Thanks @shewolf for this "utility". I want to backup my registry settings because I re-install Windows frequently and I don't want to have to go through Setting Base Priority again for my (portable) apps. So I exported the "Image File Execution Options" reg file. Is this all I need? Because it seemed it didn't have the info on the location of my apps.
     
  18. shewolf

    shewolf MDL Senior Member

    Apr 16, 2015
    338
    880
    10
    --- that's enough
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    6,148
    13,728
    210
    Oh I do, so I was wrong and I wanted you to know that, considering your high level of arrogance in life code /huge ego
    :tooth: