Struggling to install Win7-64 bit on UEFI laptop

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by goodflood, Feb 10, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    29,072
    44,605
    390
    Waiting for screens, because i don't get what the OP is doing at all :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    29,072
    44,605
    390
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mehdibleu

    mehdibleu MDL Expert

    Jun 14, 2017
    1,009
    246
    60
    That's correct so as i said in my previous post you have to enable UEFI to be able to install win7 using GPT disk
     
  4. goodflood

    goodflood MDL Junior Member

    Feb 16, 2011
    86
    9
    0
    @Enthousiast

    BIOS-BOOT--OPTION.jpg
    I get this when I hit F7. Normally, I go into setup with F2. In this screen shot the M2 is disabled.
    But, I have the WD M2 enabled when I tried.

    @mehdibleu
    Actually, I have converted both the install media (USB) and the medium to be installed (M2) from GPT to MBR.
    So, at the moment I am trying LEGACY mode.
     
  5. goodflood

    goodflood MDL Junior Member

    Feb 16, 2011
    86
    9
    0
    #26 goodflood, Feb 10, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2018
    (OP)
    I just noticed that the USB ports on my system are: USB 2, USB 3.1 (2) and USB-C... and NO DVD ROM drive
     
  6. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    29,072
    44,605
    390
    I said before, for Legacy BIOS boot only you can format the USB key NTFS, then it will only boot when Legacy BIOS is set (or as in your case UEFI disabled).\

    I would like to see the screen where you disabled UEFI in the bios?

    On kaby and up all usb ports are xhci controlled, usb2 ports too, so the correct drivers are needed and inside the USB3.x package..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. mehdibleu

    mehdibleu MDL Expert

    Jun 14, 2017
    1,009
    246
    60
    I find odd that your usb drive shows UEFI when pressing F7 when you said that you choose usb drive to be installed with mbr.

    Are you sure that you have made your usb drive bootable ? I have a doubt about this.

    if you took the habit of using rufus , so use it and select MBR for bios as disk and NTFS as file system and boot from it and see the result
     
  8. goodflood

    goodflood MDL Junior Member

    Feb 16, 2011
    86
    9
    0
    @Enthousiast

    Starting over in NTFS format... will format, will copy ISO, will copy BOOT.WIM mod and will report back.

    In the meantime, my OLD BIOS screenshots. 1 OF 2
     

    Attached Files:

  9. goodflood

    goodflood MDL Junior Member

    Feb 16, 2011
    86
    9
    0
    @Enthousiast

    BIOS screenshots in order of TABs on top. 2 OF 2
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    29,072
    44,605
    390
    All is still set to UEFI, for win 7 Ultimate it's best to set all to non UEFI.

    What happens when you change this:
    [​IMG]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. mehdibleu

    mehdibleu MDL Expert

    Jun 14, 2017
    1,009
    246
    60
    It also works with FAT32, i've already installed several times windows on legacy boot using bootable usb drive with FAT32 and it always worked.
     
  12. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    29,072
    44,605
    390
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. mehdibleu

    mehdibleu MDL Expert

    Jun 14, 2017
    1,009
    246
    60
    Ok sorry, didn't pay attention to your previous posts.
     
  14. goodflood

    goodflood MDL Junior Member

    Feb 16, 2011
    86
    9
    0
    @Enthousiast

    Remember, these are OLD... BIOS screenshots. When I change the ENABLED, it just becomes DISABLED, like the item status below it.

    @mehdibleu

    Good to know that WIN 7 64 installation in LEGACY mode works with FAT32 install media.

    BOTH

    At the moment, UEFI OR NON-UEFI, I don't care (as either will do), I am simply wanting to install WIN 7 64 on this laptop, if I can.

    And reporting back, I get the same blinking screen with NTFS formatted drive.
     
  15. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    29,072
    44,605
    390
    For Ultimate to be able to activate you need to be on MBR for DAZ" WL to be able to work, or you have to modify the bios by inserting a valid slic table or use windslic OR use a legit key, more info:
    https://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/guide-activate-windows-7-on-pcs-with-uefi.61595/

    You could opt for Pro or Enterprise, they can be KMS activated, and with KMS there is no need to be on MBR.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    29,072
    44,605
    390
    But more importantly, do you now have a MBR partitioned USB installmedia and NTFS formatted, and extracted the iso to it?

    Can you tell what mobo it exactly is? NVM it's a laptop, you didn't mention that when i asked if it was OEM or not, you only said it was the store who assembled it. On laptops it can be UEFI only.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. mehdibleu

    mehdibleu MDL Expert

    Jun 14, 2017
    1,009
    246
    60
    Ok first you have to be sure that your usb drive is bootable so i suggest to repeat the procedurr uding rufus with settings that i mentionned in my previous post. Once the operation is finished you boot from the usb drive again and you see the result.

    if it does not boot, disable "windows boot manager" as i've read that this option should be disabled as well when it comes to install windows using legacy/bios.
     
  18. goodflood

    goodflood MDL Junior Member

    Feb 16, 2011
    86
    9
    0
    @Enthousiast

    Yes, I was going for WIN 7 64 ULTIMATE... hmm... I have installed WIN 10 and some other linux distros on it. Would I be able to mod the BIOS if I had WIN 10 installed in UEFI mode?

    Yes, my media is MBR partitioned in NTFS format. Yes, ISO extracted also. But, I have also added the MODDED BOOT.WIM file. Should I redo without the WIM file and try?

    MOBO info from SIW TECH Edition running on WIN 10 UEFI MODE:

    Property Value
    Summary
    Manufacturer Not Available
    Model Gazelle
    Version gaze12
    Serial Number Not Applicable
    Bridge
    North Bridge Intel Kaby Lake Revision 05
    South Bridge Intel HM175 Revision 31
    CPU
    Name Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-7100H CPU @ 3.00GHz
    CPU Socket Socket 1440 FCBGA
    Max CPU Speed 8300 MHz
    Memory Summary Reported by BIOS
    Memory Type DDR4
    Installed Memory 8192.0 MB
    Available Memory 8042.0 MB
    Channels 1
    Maximum Capacity 32.0 GB
    Maximum Memory Module Size [unknown]
    Memory Slots 2
    Error Correction None
    System Slots
    ISA 0
    PCI 1
    AGP 0
    VL-BUS 0
    EISA 0
    PCMCIA 0
    ExpressCard 0
    MCA 0
     
  19. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    29,072
    44,605
    390
    I did strike through that question. and added a comment to my reply.

    If you want to go on, trying to get win 7 installed on UEFI, here some info: https://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/fixing-a-image-for-uefi.75244/#post-1375604
    But as i said, the Laptop Bios can be UEFI only, but when the option can be disabled there should be new options showing up. Did you go thru all bios settings to search for more boot/bios options?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...