Win 11 Boot And Upgrade FiX KiT

Discussion in 'Windows 11' started by Enthousiast, Jun 28, 2021.

  1. scaramonga

    scaramonga MDL Senior Member

    Oct 27, 2012
    309
    175
    10
    It's just MS being themselves, a cunt! ;)
     
  2. Mellipes

    Mellipes MDL Senior Member

    Jun 17, 2021
    272
    164
    10
    #802 Mellipes, Mar 17, 2022
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2022
    I have this gut feeling that M$ thought that few people would be able to load Windows 11 on unsupported machines. BUT as time went by, M$ saw there are quite a few workarounds that allow people to use Windows 11 on any machine. In fact too many that they can stop --- so M$ has decided they have to move to the next level, ------ The good ol NAG MESSAGE (WATERMARK).

    How this nag message evolves will be interesting. Already there are ways to remove it, so one wonders how long M$ will persist trying to force this.

    To state again, this fix WILL ALLOW windows 11 to load properly and fully on your machine. The nag message has to be removed separately after Windows 11 is loaded.
     
  3. rpo

    rpo MDL Expert

    Jan 3, 2010
    1,294
    1,224
    60
    Apply
    Code:
    reg add "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\UnsupportedHardwareNotificationCache" /v SV2 /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f
    as admin and refresh your desktop
     
  4. vigipirate

    vigipirate MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2011
    264
    61
    10
    #804 vigipirate, Mar 17, 2022
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2022
    bonjour spriting svp merci
     
  5. Carlos Detweiller

    Carlos Detweiller Emperor of Ice-Cream

    Dec 21, 2012
    5,329
    5,692
    180
    For 22000.588, it is SV1, not SV2.

    Best is to apply both.
     
  6. Raptor333

    Raptor333 MDL Novice

    Jun 16, 2021
    20
    1
    0
    #806 Raptor333, Mar 19, 2022
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2022
    hello. thanks for answering. I did not say that the iso is bad. read my previous message.
    I simply said that after installing it, that message appears.
    then we have to touch the registry? i search how. thanks.

    do i have to create a new registry entry? I do not understand what you put me.

    hello. both? I have to create 2 registry entries or modify 2 existing entries? Thank you.
     
  7. KedarWolf

    KedarWolf MDL Addicted

    Mar 17, 2016
    883
    773
    30
    Open a Command Prompt as Admin and run the below two commands.

    Code:
    reg add "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\UnsupportedHardwareNotificationCache" /v SV1 /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f
    Code:
    reg add "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\UnsupportedHardwareNotificationCache" /v SV2 /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f
     
  8. Raptor333

    Raptor333 MDL Novice

    Jun 16, 2021
    20
    1
    0
    Thank you. I have done it differently. the SV1 entry already exists in the registry. I have modified it to 0. On the other hand, I have created another entry equal to SV2 with the same value. it is right? only by modifying the SV1 input, the message no longer appears. Thank you.
     
  9. Mellipes

    Mellipes MDL Senior Member

    Jun 17, 2021
    272
    164
    10
    The SV1 modification is for the 22000.xxx builds. That works. The SV2 entry is for the 225xx builds. I think people enter it for the new build release later this year, as a " just in case" entry so they can upgrade their system and hopefuly not worry about it.

    So yes SV1 entry modification is all you need to modify as a minimum for the 22000 series..
     
  10. Raptor333

    Raptor333 MDL Novice

    Jun 16, 2021
    20
    1
    0
    I have added the other one too, so I have the system ready for the future. Thank you.
     
  11. W_fantasma

    W_fantasma MDL Member

    Apr 10, 2012
    170
    137
    10
  12. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    40,945
    73,235
    450
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Mellipes

    Mellipes MDL Senior Member

    Jun 17, 2021
    272
    164
    10
    It would be a little foolish and even a waste of time at present to consider adding a NAG MESSAGE/WATERMARK removal to the Fix, until one knows for certain how M$ plans to fully implement this "feature". For instance, it may be reloaded and registry entries amended every time one updates, making it usless to add a removal script to the fix for a build.

    A little patience, and manually doing it is the better option at present.
     
  14. W_fantasma

    W_fantasma MDL Member

    Apr 10, 2012
    170
    137
    10
    Could be, but i suggested to add that option to avoid that infamous nag watermark on clean installations, i think no harm on trying
     
  15. Mellipes

    Mellipes MDL Senior Member

    Jun 17, 2021
    272
    164
    10
    I hear you, but consider these points too. THE FIX is perfect. It works and does the job intended, allows Windows 11 to be installed on any machine. The old saying if it aint broke dont fix it comes to mind. Next point is we dont know what format, timing, etc M$ will roll out this Nag Message, and where it will appear. Til we know the full extend what M$ intends, one will chase their tail with no results. Finally, til we see what counter measures M$ tries to bring out to circumvent the ways people come up to remove the NAG, one cant fully incorporate its removal in any install.

    On a side note, the people most hurt with the NAG/WATERMARK message is those selling dodgy machines with Windows 11 installed. At present they are selling machines as approved Windows 11 machines as they have that operating system on them. This message will undercut them, and make them do a lot of work. Instead of just loading W11 on dodgy machines and selling them, now they have to remove the NAG messages, and also deal with customers who get a update and the NAG message. A lot more work.
     
  16. ohenry

    ohenry MDL Member

    Aug 10, 2009
    213
    103
    10
    Who exactly would be selling "dodgy machines" with Windows 11? That is not something I've encountered, or expect to encounter. Perhaps in third world countries?
     
  17. Yuos

    Yuos MDL Novice

    Mar 29, 2022
    1
    1
    0
    What is the readme password
     
  18. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    40,945
    73,235
    450
    Readme password? There is a pw for the project zip: MDL2021
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. strotee

    strotee MDL Member

    Jan 30, 2011
    215
    186
    10
    I thought this was strange, but I made a .652 ISO and had to uncheck Enable EFI under Settings - System - Motherboard tab for the ISO to boot after using 2.2.
     
  20. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    40,945
    73,235
    450
    Did you update the ISO by using W10UI and left :: update ISO boot files bootmgr/bootmgr.efi/efisys.bin from Cumulative Update
    set UpdtBootFiles=1 or 0?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...