Windows 10 Hotfix Repository

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Tito, Oct 1, 2014.

  1. SAM-R

    SAM-R MDL Guru

    Mar 21, 2015
    5,402
    5,047
    180
    Go to System / About/
    It will tell you what you need to know about PC, CPU, OS.
     
  2. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    470
    33
    10
    Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6850K CPU @ 3.60GHz 3.60 GHz
    Installed RAM 64.0 GB
    System type 64-bit operating system, x64-based processor

    Edition Windows 10 Pro
    Version 21H2
    Installed on ‎10/‎11/‎2020
    OS build 19044.1348
    Experience Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.3920.0

    Feature Updates
    Update to Win10 v21H2 successful on 12/06/2021
    Update to Win10 v21H1 successful on 06/27/2021
    Update to Win10 v20H2 successful on 11/14/2020

    Quality Updates
    2022-01 Cumulative Update for Windows 10 Version 21H2 for x64-based systems (KB5009543)
    Failed to install (0x800700c1)
    2022-01 Cumulative Update for Windows 10 Version 21H2 for x64-based Systems (KB5010793)
    Failed to install (0x800700c1)

    C:\Windows\system32>sfc /scannow

    Windows Resource Protection could not start the repair service.

    C:\Windows\system32>DISM /Online /Cleanup-Image /CheckHealth

    Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
    Version: 10.0.19041.844

    Image Version: 10.0.19044.1348

    The component store cannot be repaired.
    The operation completed successfully.

    C:\Windows\system32>DISM /online /cleanup-image /startcomponentcleanup /restorehealth

    Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
    Version: 10.0.19041.844

    Image Version: 10.0.19044.1348


    Error: 193

    %1 is not a valid Win32 application.

    The DISM log file can be found at C:\Windows\Logs\DISM\dism.log
     
  3. case-sensitive

    case-sensitive MDL Expert

    Nov 7, 2013
    1,411
    621
    60
    DeathStalker77

    > Your system seems heavily malfunctioned
    >i guess the last resort is to backup your data, format and do clean installation

    noone here can know what youve done with your system ........... so noone can tell you whats wrong with it ............ but its definately f**ked and the only realistic option you have is to do what abbodi1406 said
     
  4. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    470
    33
    10
    Well I guess I'm just SOL until the next nice holiday weekend. PITA.
     
  5. case-sensitive

    case-sensitive MDL Expert

    Nov 7, 2013
    1,411
    621
    60
    and then come back and tell us if it solves your problems ;)
     
  6. OldMX

    OldMX MDL Addicted

    Jul 30, 2009
    535
    218
    30
    Just leave it as is, the conversion enable other options like enteprise, pro for workstation, etc which dont apply to your situation.
     
  7. OldMX

    OldMX MDL Addicted

    Jul 30, 2009
    535
    218
    30
    What you mean failed? failed to create the .iso or failed the inplace upgrade?
     
  8. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    470
    33
    10
    I mean the upgrade in-place failed. I also tried it skipping and including updates running the install.
     
  9. OldMX

    OldMX MDL Addicted

    Jul 30, 2009
    535
    218
    30
    Maybe you need to boot off the iso you made and select the repair installatoin when prompted?
     
  10. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    470
    33
    10
    Hmm, hadn't thought of that. Moving some stuff around right now, but will try that afterwards. Also, imho, your answer was the BEST - THAT is what I meant by "simple & easy" - that tool just does it all! :)

    Will update after I've given the repair from boot a try.

    --- DS
     
  11. bogol

    bogol MDL Junior Member

    Dec 30, 2009
    57
    55
    0
    If creating an up to date ISO with UUP didn't work, I was advising to use this script because it can download and create an ISO (and do other things), but what I was mainly advising is the "auto upgrade" function, which in your case is automating the in place upgrade.
    It auto downloads the corresponding media creation tool, auto downloads Windows installation files (esd format), auto downloads the corresponding updates, creates and mounts the ISO, auto selects "keep files and documents" and do the in place upgrade.

    Once the install is done, you're left with the same result as an in place upgrade: a "windows.old" folder in C: (old windows install that you can remove using the disk cleaning tool) and the hidden "$Windows.~BT" folder also in C: (containing the windows installation files, you can delete it).
    I've used it several times on friends/family machines and it always worked fine.
    Now why it doesn't work in your case I don't know...as others have said something must be broken in your install :/
     
  12. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    14,008
    71,106
    340
    Most of his system tools fails with %1 is not a valid Win32 application.

    he would not be able to create iso or perform upgrade from within system
     
  13. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    470
    33
    10
    No. NO issue with any SOFTWARE running. Just something WITHIN Windows itself. ISO was created fine.
     
  14. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    470
    33
    10
    #13458 DeathStalker77, Jan 23, 2022
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2022
    There is only the Startup Repair option - there's no "Repair Windows Installation" or anything like that. It BOOTS and RUNS fine - the issue is ONLY (afaik) with the Windows Update and related functions.

    Thoughts on removing the recent Feature option?
     
  15. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    470
    33
    10
    Exact dialog (small white box) -
    Windows 10 Setup
    Windows 10 Installation Has Failed [OK]
     
  16. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    42,174
    76,828
    450
    #13460 Enthousiast, Jan 25, 2022
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2022
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...