Activating Windows 10 (KMS, etc.)

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by riahc3, Jun 1, 2015.

  1. Nucleus

    Nucleus MDL Guru

    Aug 4, 2009
    2,873
    2,948
    90
    #61 Nucleus, Jun 5, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. BrucieK

    BrucieK MDL Novice

    Sep 13, 2012
    4
    0
    0
    Just checked, I have it installed
     
  3. Don

    Don MDL Expert

    Jul 29, 2009
    1,366
    124
    60
  4. Nucleus

    Nucleus MDL Guru

    Aug 4, 2009
    2,873
    2,948
    90
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    7,042
    2,140
    240
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    7,042
    2,140
    240
    #66 pisthai, Jun 5, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I wasn't able to get the e-mail, nor on MS website, to do that reservation. I finally used the ReserveWindows10.cmd command and that worked well. The Windows Logo is shown in lower right taskbar as well as the Reservation is shown in Windows Update (from within Control Panel)!

    Create the file ReserveWindows10.cmd with Notepad and run from and elevated CMD! Need a bit of time, just let run till is finish. If your OS could be updated, the Windows Logo will show up in lower right Taskbar, and in Windows Update!

    Content of ReserveWindows10.cmd
    Code:
    REG QUERY "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\UpgradeExperienceIndicators" /v UpgEx | findstr UpgEx
    if "%errorlevel%" == "0" GOTO RunGWX
    reg add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Appraiser" /v UtcOnetimeSend /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f
    schtasks /run /TN "\Microsoft\Windows\Application Experience\Microsoft Compatibility Appraiser"
    :CompatCheckRunning
    schtasks /query /TN "\Microsoft\Windows\Application Experience\Microsoft Compatibility Appraiser"
    schtasks /query /TN "\Microsoft\Windows\Application Experience\Microsoft Compatibility Appraiser" | findstr Ready
    if NOT "%errorlevel%" == "0" ping localhost >nul &goto :CompatCheckRunning
    :RunGWX
    schtasks /run /TN "\Microsoft\Windows\Setup\gwx\refreshgwxconfig"
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. whwebsolutions

    whwebsolutions MDL Junior Member

    Jun 1, 2015
    87
    0
    0
    #67 whwebsolutions, Jun 5, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    This does work as I did this and got the logo and reserved and the email. Only thing is I have Win Pro activated via KMS. My wife has the same thing and she had hers pop up by itself. I still wonder why MS would send us this invite if they say we cant get the upgrade? Anyone know anything for sure about this and why MS is still offering it to us?

     
  8. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    7,042
    2,140
    240
    I use legit Windows Licenses only, NO KMS or pirated in any means. The KMS I use are also legit but private, those are related to my own and the Companies of my customers.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. whwebsolutions

    whwebsolutions MDL Junior Member

    Jun 1, 2015
    87
    0
    0
    Same here, a friend of mine who works at a university did the KMS activation for me. Still wondering if we will get the full version, or if they will give us some crap when its time to install it (or afterwords )

     
  10. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    7,506
    14,881
    240
    Most likely the latter! :biggrin: :death:
     
  11. SCBrigth

    SCBrigth MDL Senior Member

    May 9, 2009
    486
    70
    10
    This question was not answered.
    I have the same situation in one of my machines, but the "Get Windows 10" icon is in the tray. Do I get the upgrade and still activated?:g:

    This machine has many progs installed and very important data, do I take the risk? :confused:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. whwebsolutions

    whwebsolutions MDL Junior Member

    Jun 1, 2015
    87
    0
    0
    Well lets hope not, but hey thats what VM's are for, right :p
     
  13. BrucieK

    BrucieK MDL Novice

    Sep 13, 2012
    4
    0
    0
    I changed "Download updates but let me choose whether to install them" to "Install updates automatically (recommended)", rebooted and it works now :) But I'm still wondering if I will be able to activate windows 10 (I have modded bios with slic table).
     
  14. wladw

    wladw MDL Member

    May 7, 2015
    130
    17
    10
    Is your Windows legit OR not?
     
  15. BrucieK

    BrucieK MDL Novice

    Sep 13, 2012
    4
    0
    0
    No, but it passes genuine check.
     
  16. GeForce66

    GeForce66 MDL Novice

    Aug 13, 2012
    27
    1
    0
    I was wondering if M$ can actually distinguish between a legit OEM PC and a modded SLIC activated one? :confused:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,729
    6,728
    270
    we will have answers to all the questions here on and or around July 29th, it is pointless to ask questions to things nobody knows but MS at this time.
     
  18. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,398
    12,939
    340

    This question is 'old'...:)
    It has been discussed years ago when the mod methods had been developed. Short: Yes they could, depending on the mod method. There are also BIOS mods which are technically made absolutely the same way the OEMs do. Here they can not.

    The point is that they would have to develop a way to analyze thousands of installations to distinguish real licenses from mimicked.. Simply too much efforts and not obvious anywhere. If M$ qualifies OEM_SLP to be upgradeable ANY BIOS mod will be qualified as well. If they do not qualify OEM_SLP to be upgradeable legit licenses have an alternative COA key, BIOS mods have not, of course.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. GeForce66

    GeForce66 MDL Novice

    Aug 13, 2012
    27
    1
    0
    Thanks for the information :)
    Then I guess it's the same with the KMS stuff ...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. riahc3

    riahc3 MDL Addicted

    Jul 29, 2009
    540
    31
    30
    This is thread about how Windows 10 will activate, not "If I have X, will this activate?" because noone really knows the answer to that yet.

    Any version of Windows, legit or non, will update to Windows 10. But your Windows 10 will still be nonlegit and not activate and will show the same effects as any non activated Windows after X days.