[Guide]Way to Disable Keylogger/ Telemetry v3.55

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by LiteOS, Oct 9, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. s1ave77

    s1ave77 Has left at his own request

    Aug 15, 2012
    16,093
    24,397
    340
    #721 s1ave77, Aug 7, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
    Please use [code=rich][/code] tags to avoid broken strings in code (the '#' symbol in editor):


    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    ;Delete Diagtrack and Cortana Remnants
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SharedAccess\Parameters\FirewallPolicy\FirewallRules]
    "{60E6D465-398E-4850-BE86-7EF7620A2377}"="v2.24|Action=Block|Active=TRUE|Dir=Out|App=C:\windows\system32\svchost.exe|Svc=DiagTrack|Name=Windows Telemetry|"
    "{2765E0F4-2918-4A46-B9C9-43CDD8FCBA2B}"="v2.24|Action=Block|Active=TRUE|Dir=Out|App=C:\windows\systemapps\microsoft.windows.cortana_cw5n1h2txyewy\searchui.exe|Name=Search and Cortana application|AppPkgId=S-1-15-2-1861897761-1695161497-2927542615-642690995-327840285-2659745135-2630312742|" 
    
    Code:
    reg add "HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SharedAccess\Parameters\FirewallPolicy\FirewallRules" /v "{60E6D465-398E-4850-BE86-7EF7620A2377}" /t REG_SZ /d "v2.24|Action=Block|Active=TRUE|Dir=Out|App=C:\windows\system32\svchost.exe|Svc=DiagTrack|Name=Windows Telemetry|" /f
    reg add "HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SharedAccess\Parameters\FirewallPolicy\FirewallRules" /v "{2765E0F4-2918-4A46-B9C9-43CDD8FCBA2B}" /t REG_SZ /d "v2.24|Action=Block|Active=TRUE|Dir=Out|App=C:\windows\systemapps\microsoft.windows.cortana_cw5n1h2txyewy\searchui.exe|Name=Search and Cortana application|AppPkgId=S-1-15-2-1861897761-1695161497-2927542615-642690995-327840285-2659745135-2630312742|" /f
    
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Dream_cream

    Dream_cream MDL Novice

    Jul 29, 2015
    27
    3
    0
  3. CODYQX4

    CODYQX4 MDL Developer

    Sep 4, 2009
    4,813
    45,775
    150
    #723 CODYQX4, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2019
    .
     
  4. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    7,419
    11,688
    240
    Yah, for beta it was fine. It was part of the deal. We help them improve the OS and we get to try out the free OS.
    For an OS that they are selling for $120/$200 retail, this is unacceptable.
    Even the movie app has firewall access. WTF DOES A MOVIE VIEWER NEED WITH FIREWALL ACCESS, MS???
     
  5. neville2

    neville2 MDL Novice

    Oct 13, 2009
    7
    0
    0
    Could Tinywall be of any help in manipulating these outgoing settings? I use it in W7, and it seems quite strict about what is allowed
     
  6. elzna

    elzna MDL Senior Member

    Aug 28, 2013
    434
    56
    10
    #726 elzna, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2015
    These 2 are good aswell. Since there is no setting button to disable error reporting like in windows 8.1
    edited: fixed in newer post.
     
  7. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    7,419
    11,688
    240
    #727 murphy78, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    But it's the exact same key.
     
  8. elzna

    elzna MDL Senior Member

    Aug 28, 2013
    434
    56
    10
    Are you sure? The one in HKCU exists by default, but not the one in HKLM. Or you mean it dosen't matter were you put it?
     
  9. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    7,419
    11,688
    240
    The HKLM affects the whole system, but HKCU just affects the person who's currently logged in.
     
  10. cuteee

    cuteee MDL Guru

    Oct 13, 2012
    5,760
    997
    180
    #730 cuteee, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Can you show this tweak in registry code and not just in .bat ?
     
  11. elzna

    elzna MDL Senior Member

    Aug 28, 2013
    434
    56
    10
    #731 elzna, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2015

    You mean like this?

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Windows Error Reporting]
    "Disable"=dword:00000001

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Windows Error Reporting\WMR]
    "Disable"=dword:00000001

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\Windows Error Reporting\WMR]
    "Disable"=dword:00000001
     
  12. cuteee

    cuteee MDL Guru

    Oct 13, 2012
    5,760
    997
    180
    #732 cuteee, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Yes. This is.

    It's interesting. Just now I notice there isn't setting for error reporting in Control Panel.
     
  13. elzna

    elzna MDL Senior Member

    Aug 28, 2013
    434
    56
    10
    #733 elzna, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Wait. I just noticed I did something wrong. Here is correct:

    Code:
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Windows Error Reporting]
    "Disabled"=dword:00000001
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Windows Error Reporting\WMR]
    "Disable"=dword:00000001
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\Windows Error Reporting\WMR]
    "Disable"=dword:00000001
    
    OR

    Code:
    REG ADD "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Windows Error Reporting" /v "Disabled" /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f 
    REG ADD "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Windows Error Reporting\WMR" /v "Disable" /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f
    REG ADD "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\Windows Error Reporting\WMR" /v "Disable" /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f
    
     
  14. shewolf

    shewolf MDL Senior Member

    Apr 16, 2015
    471
    1,071
    10
    #734 shewolf, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I prefer leave the OS untouched, each connection block with windows build in firewall very well


    Windows Problem Reporting firewall rule


    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SharedAccess\Parameters\FirewallPolicy\FirewallRules]
    "{2F1EB671-4A03-4BA3-8D97-8FD9F8858759}"="v2.24|Action=Block|Active=TRUE|Dir=Out|Protocol=6|RPort=80|RPort=443|App=C:\windows\system32\wermgr.exe|Name=Windows Problem Reporting |"

    - and periodically delete the contents of this folder "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue", or if you use CCleaner "include >> "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue\*.*"
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. shewolf

    shewolf MDL Senior Member

    Apr 16, 2015
    471
    1,071
    10
    No, the only firewall that can so fine tuning the rule is "windows build in firewall" and "Jetico" firewall
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. chris34

    chris34 MDL Member

    Oct 28, 2009
    188
    49
    10
    #736 chris34, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2015
    This is probably not part of the telemetry thing, posting it here anyway in case of this thing bothers somebody else.

    If you have a permanent connection from explorer.exe to some msnbot.xxx.xxx.xxx.search.msn.com url/ip, try disabling the "Network Connection Broker" service. It's not the best way as it probably breaks features for some apps, so if somebody found a way with a GPO/registry edit to stop this permanent connection to the search.msn.com url....
     
  17. shewolf

    shewolf MDL Senior Member

    Apr 16, 2015
    471
    1,071
    10
    #737 shewolf, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SharedAccess\Parameters\FirewallPolicy\FirewallRules]
    "{D5C10EB3-C0A2-4FE6-A172-2CD5D9733B4A}"="v2.24|Action=Block|Active=TRUE|Dir=Out|App=%SystemRoot%\explorer.exe|Name=Block Explorer|"
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. chris34

    chris34 MDL Member

    Oct 28, 2009
    188
    49
    10
    #738 chris34, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I meant a GPO/registry setting that disable whatever is making explorer.exe connect to the search.msn.com server, not a firewall rule. I know how to do that..
     
  19. cuteee

    cuteee MDL Guru

    Oct 13, 2012
    5,760
    997
    180
    #739 cuteee, Aug 8, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2015
    How can explorer.exe (file explorer) can connect to the internet ? it's open This PC/Quick access.
     
  20. chris34

    chris34 MDL Member

    Oct 28, 2009
    188
    49
    10
    Capture.JPG

    You tell me. That's no virus, it's a feature of Windows 10. Now to figure which is another story. I tried about everything from disabling telemetry to search the web, and explorer.exe still make the connection to the search.msn.com.