Hyper-V Licensing Question

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by f0ster, Oct 18, 2014.

  1. f0ster

    f0ster MDL Junior Member

    Nov 10, 2012
    51
    3
    0
    Server 2012 R2 datacenter. I have a key from dreamspark and that key activated server 2012 r2 DC. So far, i have 1 hyper-V running on that server. I want to know how i activate the hyper-V guest server 2012 r2 DC? I also read that if DC has 2 procs, you have to "assign" 2 different keys. How do i do this?
     
  2. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,547
    15,330
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. f0ster

    f0ster MDL Junior Member

    Nov 10, 2012
    51
    3
    0
    Can i "test" if it works with dreamspark without them "seeing" too much? How would i assign multiple keys if using someother activation method?
     
  4. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,547
    15,330
    340
    Yes, you can because AVMA is completely offline activation method. Just activate the host os with the DreamSpark key & apply appropriate AVMA keys in the Hyper-V VMs.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. f0ster

    f0ster MDL Junior Member

    Nov 10, 2012
    51
    3
    0
    I get the following when running the link command:
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=31784&stc=1

    And after looking closer, those AVMA keys are for R2. This VM is straight 2012 DC. It looks like R2 only supports avma as i searched and can not find any 2012 DC avma keys. Can you confirm?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Inge

    Inge MDL Member

    Apr 2, 2008
    187
    468
    10
    The AVMA keys work only with 2012 R2. Therefore you need a 2012 R2 DC as host and 2012 R2 Essential/Standard/Datacenter as VM-Client.

    Windows Server 2012 (non R2) is not supported :(
     
  7. f0ster

    f0ster MDL Junior Member

    Nov 10, 2012
    51
    3
    0
    #7 f0ster, Oct 19, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2014
    (OP)
    Thats what i thought (although i did get a newer beefy server and installed 2012 r2). So as i understand ms licensing, with a licensed 2012 DC physical server you get 2 "free" VM's. What do you have to do to accomplish this?
     
  8. alsultan88

    alsultan88 MDL Novice

    Jul 8, 2013
    1
    0
    0
    i hope members help you :rolleyes:
     
  9. kelorgo

    kelorgo MDL Addicted

    Oct 29, 2012
    838
    1,499
    30
    A properly licensed Datacenter edition in theory legally entitles you to an unlimited number of licensed VMs on that physical host. Prior to 2012 R2 however, activating those VMs in practice was indeed a problem, if you weren't a volume license customer. It's particularly an issue with Dreamspark keys, since you get no support from MS. It is a silly situation where your legal rights are more than what the technology practically allows.

    This is solved by the AVMA keys in R2.

    Note that Standard edition entitles you to 2 VMs, Datacenter entitles you to unlimited VMs.
     
  10. f0ster

    f0ster MDL Junior Member

    Nov 10, 2012
    51
    3
    0
    #10 f0ster, Oct 19, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2014
    (OP)
    This is what i am confused on :(

    So the MS technet article says DC (the 2012 we are talking about is NOT R2) needs 2 keys for dual procs. So how do you enter 2 keys in DC? If this is done, will the VM just "notice" that you are properly licensed and therefore activate or do you have to activate that VM?

    EDIT
    So, i have read so many articles about licensing, it appears i may have read this part wrong. I found an article that says 1 DC license covers up to 2 procs.... my mistake. But my question remains, how do you license the VM's? I guess you just have to have a key for every VM?
    /EDIT
     
  11. Threat

    Threat Lord of the Files

    Feb 23, 2014
    1,246
    1,412
    60
    Can you post a link to the article that you are referring to? Perhaps it would help explain the confusion. You don't assign 2 different product keys.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Inge

    Inge MDL Member

    Apr 2, 2008
    187
    468
    10
    Some month ago I bought an older 2008R2 Enterprise retail license and got two different keys with it.
    One for the host and another one for the virtual machines running on it. On the other hand my TechNet
    account doesn't offer these VM-Keys, but the keys I got there was good for multiple activations.

    This has changed with Windows Server 2012. Since WS 2012 there are only some retail keys in the accounts
    and no one knows how to license the virtual machines on 2012 (Standard/DataCenter) / 2012R2 (Standard) properly.
     
  13. Googolplex

    Googolplex MDL Junior Member

    Aug 17, 2014
    52
    27
    0
    #13 Googolplex, Oct 20, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  14. Googolplex

    Googolplex MDL Junior Member

    Aug 17, 2014
    52
    27
    0
    :D

    I honostly think it isn't that hard. It get's a little weird when you're running servers that have more than two CPU's. And please correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm sure that the people who run servers with more than two CPU's can count on advise from their license provider. ​right?
     
  15. Inge

    Inge MDL Member

    Apr 2, 2008
    187
    468
    10
    Well, I think most of us can count up to ten, but that's not the real question :fear:
     
  16. f0ster

    f0ster MDL Junior Member

    Nov 10, 2012
    51
    3
    0
    #17 f0ster, Oct 20, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
  17. Googolplex

    Googolplex MDL Junior Member

    Aug 17, 2014
    52
    27
    0
    DreamSpark keys definitely do not fall under Volume. I believe they are retail keys.
     
  18. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,882
    1,773
    180
    DreamSpark keys are Retail single MAK keys

    sebus
     
  19. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,115
    10,806
    340
    Something is wrong either they are MAK's with just one count or retail. MAK and KMS both belong to VL.
    Correct me if I am confused.:)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...