Mod Your Own Bios / Discussions on BIOS Transcoding

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by hellohello, Jul 12, 2007.

  1. hellohello

    hellohello MDL Junior Member

    May 10, 2007
    95
    18
    0
    #1 hellohello, Jul 12, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  2. kt3x

    kt3x MDL Member

    May 1, 2007
    102
    2
    10
    thanks for tuto
     
  3. YUMYUM9x

    YUMYUM9x MDL Novice

    May 20, 2007
    19
    0
    0
    Phoenix Bios Please :)
     
  4. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,368
    11,240
    340
    #4 Yen, Jul 12, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Good idea to get all the info together:

    Please make clear that the isa method works genarally. Not only for Gigabyte bioses.The pubkey / marker method mainly for Asus boards.
    But you can try both methods for ALL Award bioses.

    Phoenix:

    -Open bios.wph or bios.rom with Phoenix BIOS Editor
    The bios will be decompressed, all parts are in Phoenix BIOS Editor\TEMP folder now. You can open them with winhex to edit.

    -Search for "SLIC" to find a already present SLIC tabe. If found DO NOT modify try to activate first. If it doesn't activate check Everest. No SLIC present at Everest, modify bios

    -Copy file with slic table into Phoenix BIOS Editor\TEMP and rename it to the next higher ACPIn.ROM. (n ist the next higher acpi number).

    -Open rom.scr with notepad and add a line "ACPI ACPIn.ROM -X", save it.

    -Search for "RSDT" and if present "XSDT" string.
    Overwrite string next to "RSDT" and "XSDT" with your OEM table and OEM table ID you want.
    They are usually found at BIOSCOD1.ROM file. Save changes.

    -To enable save button (now is gray) change something random in Phoenix BIOS Editor and restore its original value

    -Save bios and check log for errors

    If the bios shows log errors on rebuild, be careful testing.

    Note:

    There are bioses that contains slic table already, but it is not active or only mapped a half. There are built-in routines that change the OEM table id to a fixed one. It's difficult to find them and to disable.
    I'm working on this issue and found a way regarding already present SLIC. To circumvent this "problem" do this: Rename the already present SLIC to TEST by editing the SLIC string (title / name) of the ACPI table to TEST. Search for all further SLIC strings at ALL MODULES. (Found sometimes at MOD_5100.ROM) and rename it to TEST as well, except those SLIC strings that are a part of the SLIC table itself!!! Now insert a complete new SLIC table as described above. Done!
    The clue: The original table is named now TEST table and is mapped incomplete into RAM while a COMPLETE new SLIC table is mapped into RAM as well!

    To circumvent the "problem" with a locked OEM table / table ID you have to disable the code that makes those fixed OEM table / table ID equal at RSDT = XSDT=SLIC or even at ALL tables. It's a routine best to find with a debugger....difficult to explain here........at Sony Vaio I never found it so far..........If somebody is interested please PM me.

    Always keep in mind: Some of the mods are not working cause of this issue. Some of the mods brick Laptop without any known reason. Newer results are that it probably is caused because of PBE isn't decompressing the modules completely (data lost). To check, repeat it more times and compare the decompressed modules.........
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Tutorial for superstatic V2 mod at AMI bios. Needed for some MSI boards:

    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/22879

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Added the LENOVO-WAY to modify IBM THINKPAD BIOSES:

    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/23565

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Added improved instructions for 'fast' OEM7 mod:

    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/29292


    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    New ISA method for the latest Gigabyte bioses: (Old isa method doesn't work anymore)

    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/31743


    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    New Gigabyte 0+2=0+2 instructions by Yen
    ISA mod. doesn't work and bios contains 3 sensitive modules.

    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/378?page=39

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ORIGINAL copy and paste OEM7 method. The safest way to edit Gigabyte(Award) bioses at those ISA code don't work.
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/40509

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Introducing a dynamically allocated SLIC into ASUS AMI bioses, second generation: 31/12/2008
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/46223

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Modifying a Lenovo bios with new structure, not completely manually mod: 10/05/2009 Instructions and way by Yen
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/62095
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    This is a complete manually way for Lenovo bioses with new structure, large ones 8Mbyte and bioses with no BCPs found using PBE.
    NO PBE needed at all!!

    Instructions by Yen: 21/05/2009
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/63555
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. wsjam13

    wsjam13 MDL Junior Member

    May 18, 2007
    75
    0
    0
    Iasus.bin

    cannot find download link for Iasus.bin

    to try method
    4a. Then, (general method for Award bios)
    Cbrom yourbios.bin /ISA Iasus.bin

    could you advise where i could download it please-i have a abit ab9 quad gt board bios v1.3 -although this bios has been modded already i would like to try it myself

    apologies if i have missed a post regarding this

    thanks
    wsjam13
     
  6. hwh1226

    hwh1226 MDL Junior Member

    May 29, 2007
    58
    2
    0
    .BIO files?

    What kind of BIOS is .bio files?
     
  7. mikea128

    mikea128 MDL Novice

    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    0
    0
    great summary! thanks!
     
  8. razor8

    razor8 MDL Novice

    Jul 23, 2007
    36
    1
    0
    Asus.xrm-ms?

    The other file is the ASUS.XRM-MS... and
    ..I have a very stupid question:

    what i have to do with this file? or witch funktion does it have?

    Thanks for your help!!!

    sry for bad english...:(
     
  9. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,368
    11,240
    340
    This is the corresponding certificate which you need to activate Vista after you flashed the modified bios.

    Yen
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. razor8

    razor8 MDL Novice

    Jul 23, 2007
    36
    1
    0
    thanks ... how i have to use it?.... i`m stupid.. i know!

    razor8
     
  11. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,368
    11,240
    340
    #13 Yen, Jul 25, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. razor8

    razor8 MDL Novice

    Jul 23, 2007
    36
    1
    0
    Thanks!!! i hope that will help!

    razor8
     
  13. razor8

    razor8 MDL Novice

    Jul 23, 2007
    36
    1
    0
    #15 razor8, Jul 25, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  14. ciscokid

    ciscokid MDL Member

    Jun 3, 2007
    219
    24
    10
    Thanks for sharing this Razor8, this is useful information. It's a good thing to have scripts instead of having to type everything. :)
     
  15. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,368
    11,240
    340
    @ hellohello

    Thanks for your work putting all together.

    Yen
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,772
    3,121
    300
    #18 urie, Jul 26, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  17. razor8

    razor8 MDL Novice

    Jul 23, 2007
    36
    1
    0
    thanks for this tip.... but i think that requires more time....
    because you have to modify the imagefile...(dvd)
     
  18. korndog2003

    korndog2003 MDL Novice

    May 5, 2007
    11
    0
    0
    Thanks guys Modded my own and it works!