MSMG ToolKit to Convert W8.1/Srv 2012 R2 RTM/GA ISO - W8.1/Srv 2012 R2 Update 1 ISO

Discussion in 'MDL Projects and Applications' started by MSMG, Mar 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fernando 1

    Fernando 1 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    253
    114
    10
    #41 Fernando 1, Mar 8, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    @ MSMG:
    Thanks for your phantastic Toolkit, the script and your guide.

    @ all:
    It was no problem at all to slipstream the 4+2 Win8.1 x64 Spring Update hotfixes into the original Win8.1 Pro x64 de-de Retail RTM ISO file. Everything worked without any issue.
    Only problem for me:
    The size of the ISO file I got at the end was 4.884 MB, that means much too big for a FAT32 formatted USB Flash drive, which I need to get the OS install in EFI mode.
    Solution:
    I simply converted the install.wim (size here: 4.242 MB) to an install.esd file (new size: 2.729 MB) by using the following command:
    Code:
    dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:"D:\install.wim" /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:"D:\install.esd" /Compress:recovery
    Then i have done the following:
    1. Opened the ISO file, which had been created by MSMG's Toolkit, with UltraISO.
    2. Copied the freshly created install.esd into the Sources folder.
    3. Deleted the install.wim.
    4. Saved the modified ISO file (new size: 3.4126 MB).
    5. Created an EFI mode bootable OS image by using the tool Rufus.
    The installation of the OS by booting off the USB flash drive and the activation with my Win8.1 Pro Retail CD Key worked flawlessly.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. =)(=

    =)(= Guest

    #42 =)(=, Mar 8, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Not sure how your ISO got so big, mine is 3.83 GB (4,119,414,784 bytes) and I updated boot, recovery and index 1 of install.wim.

    As long as the install.wim is below 4 GB you can use it on a FAT32 USB. A FAT32 USB stick can be bigger than 4 GB but each file on it has to be below.
     
  3. MSMG

    MSMG MDL Developer

    Jul 15, 2011
    4,586
    9,786
    150
    Updated the Link

    + Fixed the bug with Update DVD Root Files and Folders
     
  4. atplsx

    atplsx MDL Member

    May 11, 2009
    130
    84
    10
    please add enable netframework
     
  5. Badgerkiller

    Badgerkiller MDL Novice

    Aug 12, 2009
    9
    0
    0
    You can run step 3 when you want but before step 4 making ISO.
    This step 3 is unavailable, MSMG will fix it soon. That's why I tell you bypass this issue by coping Updates\DVD\x64 or x86 contents in your main DVD folder.

    Batch entry without setlocal and endlocal :
    %XCopy% %Updates%\DVD\%WimArch%\*.* %DVD%

    Manual entry :
    xcopy /S C:\w81u1\Updates\DVD\x64\*.* C:\w81u1\DVD

    Edit : useless post now ;)
     
  6. MSMG

    MSMG MDL Developer

    Jul 15, 2011
    4,586
    9,786
    150
    I have fixed the bug with the option 3 and updated the link, just download and continue the process from step 2 no need to redo the step 1

    but I don't understand why its taking so much time for updating the boot.wim in your case coz boot.wim will take less time than the second option.

     
  7. MSMG

    MSMG MDL Developer

    Jul 15, 2011
    4,586
    9,786
    150
    oh ok, I had read that was impossible for offline image, but in a recent post, abbodi1406 said that the resetbase command works on winpe (boot.wim,winre.wim) images, will check about it and update.

     
  8. MSMG

    MSMG MDL Developer

    Jul 15, 2011
    4,586
    9,786
    150
    Now everything is fixed, yes option 1 & 3 is optional, you can use it only if you need it else you can skip them

     
  9. Fernando 1

    Fernando 1 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    253
    114
    10
    As I have mentioned I used a German Win8.1 ISO file as source.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Boops

    Boops MDL Addicted

    Jan 5, 2008
    863
    1,023
    30
    #51 Boops, Mar 8, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Can be replaced install.wim by install.esd?,
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Boops

    Boops MDL Addicted

    Jan 5, 2008
    863
    1,023
    30
    #52 Boops, Mar 8, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    @MSMG

    You have created a great tool, but I wonder, this simple script, is not enough?.;)

    Code:
    Dism /Mount-Wim /WimFile:C:\install.wim Mount /Index:1 /MountDir:C:\Mount
    Dism /Image:C:\mount\Windows /Add-Package /PackagePath:C:\MSU\Windows8.1-KB2919442-x64.msu
    Dism /Image:C:\mount\Windows /Add-Package /PackagePath:C:\MSU\Windows8.1-KB2919355-x64.msu
    Dism /Image:C:\mount\Windows /Add-Package /PackagePath:C:\MSU\Windows8.1-KB2932046-x64.msu
    Dism /Image:C:\mount\Windows /Add-Package /PackagePath:C:\MSU\Windows8.1-KB2937592-x64.msu
    Dism /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:C:\Mount /Commit
    Dism /Cleanup-Mountpoints /Quiet
    Dism /Cleanup-Wim /Quiet
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. MSMG

    MSMG MDL Developer

    Jul 15, 2011
    4,586
    9,786
    150
    #53 MSMG, Mar 8, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    I didn't get it, did you mean, do I need to add more options/features to this or you meant was this entire thing can be done with the below simple script

    if it's the former then this toolkit is a part of the main toolkit which I have been working on and I thought let me share it :)

    if it's the later one then yes the whole process can be done with the below simple script, people with knowledge of servicing windows images can do it easily but people with little knowledge of servicing windows images needs some kind of interface for even doing something which can be done in a single line. :)

     
  13. Phate

    Phate MDL Junior Member

    Aug 18, 2007
    74
    7
    0
    #54 Phate, Mar 8, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2014
    One more thing..

    It would be nice, when choosing option 1, to select which Index will be updated, like when choosing option 2.

    nevermind.
     
  14. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    6,016
    4,138
    210

    Yea sure thanks :)
     
  15. Phate

    Phate MDL Junior Member

    Aug 18, 2007
    74
    7
    0
    What about using a dism /export-image and export index of your choice (updated) and use this one as only install.wim? :confused:
     
  16. Boops

    Boops MDL Addicted

    Jan 5, 2008
    863
    1,023
    30
    Please could you explain to me why these steps are necessary?, thanks.

    Update Boot WIM Image

    Update Recovery WIM Image
    Update DVD Root Files ^& Folders
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. MSMG

    MSMG MDL Developer

    Jul 15, 2011
    4,586
    9,786
    150
    Update Boot WIM Image : This step is not mandatory but its optional, it was just included to have a updated boot image for setup like the one included with the Windows 8.1 GA ISO Boot.wim

    Update Recovery WIM Image : This step is necessary for these things :

    - When there is a need to restore/repair/recover the OS
    - As per the Wzor Instructions
    - To have a updated Recovery Image like the one in the Windows 8.1 GA ISO WinRE.wim

    Update DVD Root Files ^& Folders : This step is not mandatory but its optional, it was just included to have a updated Setup DVD like the one included with the Windows 8.1 GA ISO, sadly the newly leaked WADK 8.1 Update 1 ISO didn't have anything new other than a updated boot manager and a Memory Diagnostic Tool



     
  18. Boops

    Boops MDL Addicted

    Jan 5, 2008
    863
    1,023
    30
    Ohh, thank you. Correct. That's what I thought.;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. MSMG

    MSMG MDL Developer

    Jul 15, 2011
    4,586
    9,786
    150
    Now, The command DISM.exe /Image:<MountPath> /Cleanup-Image /StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase works for boot.wim & winre.wim Images this would reduce the size of the overall OS Size..

    Testing with modified script and will update later....