MSMG ToolKit to Convert W8.1/Srv 2012 R2 RTM/GA ISO - W8.1/Srv 2012 R2 Update 1 ISO

Discussion in 'MDL Projects and Applications' started by MSMG, Mar 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. =)(=

    =)(= Guest

    Now it fails for me and shows errors like:

     
  2. josef00

    josef00 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 22, 2013
    90
    11
    0

    the update file must not extracted and in (MUS) extension , if your update file extracted in(.cab) extension the script will not work with it
     
  3. josef00

    josef00 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 22, 2013
    90
    11
    0
    for boot.wim index:2 will not work it will give


    C:\Windows\system32>DISM.exe /Image:D:\w81u1\Mount\Boot\2 /Clea
    omponentCleanup /ResetBase
    Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
    Version: 6.3.9600.17031
    Image Version: 6.3.9600.16384

    Error: 0x800f0806
    The operation could not be completed due to pending operations.
     
  4. josef00

    josef00 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 22, 2013
    90
    11
    0
    also after I tested with boot.WIM the size now more before dism it with (StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase) command

    before it was 401 MB after that 414 MB
    can you explain what happen
     
  5. ady199

    ady199 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 22, 2009
    314
    47
    10
    #65 ady199, Mar 8, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2014
    Finally got a working Windows 8.1 Enterprise x64 iso with the Spring 2014 update integrated into it

    I'm currently uploading it to Mega - (about 1 hour to go) - PM me if you want the link

    Thanks so much :worthy:
     
  6. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,810
    10,419
    210
    wim files are like virtual hard disks... They grow with each unique file. To shrink them you need to re-export them to a new file.
    You can also use /compress:max in the export instead of the default compression.
     
  7. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,742
    16,120
    340
    It should be compressed VHD with deduplication support.

    :D
     
  8. josef00

    josef00 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 22, 2013
    90
    11
    0

    thanks man
    in technet.microsof the brief about this command it :

     
  9. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    11,110
    47,509
    340
    Did you update both boot.wim indexes?
    did you ran the ResetBase command on both?
    did you rebuild the wim file by exporting the 2 indexes to new wim?
     
  10. josef00

    josef00 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 22, 2013
    90
    11
    0
    #70 josef00, Mar 8, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2014
    1&2
    3 no coz the 2 it's for reduce the size ,brief about this command it

    thanks man
     
  11. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,810
    10,419
    210
    #71 murphy78, Mar 8, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Sorry, perhaps I didn't clearly explain things well enough.
    You have to export both indexes from the boot.wim file to reduce the size.
    Code:
    if not exist c:\temp mkdir c:\temp
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:c:\win81\sources\boot.wim /sourceindex:1 /destinationimagefile:c:\temp\boot.wim /compress:max /checkintegrity
    dism /export-image /sourceimagefile:c:\win81\sources\boot.wim /sourceindex:2 /destinationimagefile:c:\temp\boot.wim /compress:max /checkintegrity
    move /y c:\temp\boot.wim c:\win81\sources\
     
  12. josef00

    josef00 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 22, 2013
    90
    11
    0
    #72 josef00, Mar 8, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    thanks man but I did this before used the (StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase) command

    then why I have to do it again if this command will not help in reduce the size

    if I dism it before I explore boot.wim , that will sense

    I put the size for my boot.wim updated and rebuild then I dism it with (StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase) command
    and then the size was increase, for that I asked.

     
  13. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,810
    10,419
    210
    No. doing this before doing resetbase does nothing to reduce the size. Just trust me. Do it again.
     
  14. MSMG

    MSMG MDL Developer

    Jul 15, 2011
    4,584
    9,782
    150
    #74 MSMG, Mar 8, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2014
    (OP)
    Yes, for Boot.wim Index 2 it won't apply coz the Windows 8.1 Update 1 KB2919355 Package is not applied for it.

    /StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase command only works when Windows 8.1 Update 1 KB2919355 Package applied to winpe images

    and also check our below command you have used /CleaomponentCleanup /ResetBase instead of /StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase


    and about the size of the wim image file, you need to export the all indexes of boot.wim image with full compression to a new file then you will get a smaller file size, check out my testing with x86 boot.wim

    boot.wim 3,47,791 KB (339 MB) - Actual Size with Updates Applied
    boot.wim 3,60,103 KB (351 MB) - Used /StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase for Index 1 and saved the image
    boot.wim 3,05,456 KB (298 MB) - Exported all the Images in boot.wim to a new boot.wim Image File



     
  15. josef00

    josef00 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 22, 2013
    90
    11
    0
    I can tell you that am now understand the steps for integrated the updates for boot.wim and WinRe.boot

    1- integrated the two index for Boot.wim & index 1 for WinRe.wim with KB

    2-then used the (StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase) command

    3-and finally we use export for rebuild the Boot.wim and WinRe.wim

    like this I'll agree with you and thanks in advance sir
     
  16. MSMG

    MSMG MDL Developer

    Jul 15, 2011
    4,584
    9,782
    150
    I will update the script tomorrow with the support for applying updates to all the image indexes at once with StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase Task for Boot.wim Index 1 and Winre.wim Index 1
     
  17. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,810
    10,419
    210
    Be careful man. I'm getting bad driver errors when applying the patches to the boot.wim of an actual setup image.
    I suspect that this method is not advisable for the existing boot.wim versions...
     
  18. MSMG

    MSMG MDL Developer

    Jul 15, 2011
    4,584
    9,782
    150
    If you had applied Windows 8.1 Update KB2919355, KB2932046, KB2937592 for boot.wim index 2, then you will get this error that you did specified in the other thread. but still I will test it and update...

     
  19. josef00

    josef00 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 22, 2013
    90
    11
    0

    for Boot.wim index:1 its' winpe

    y66u.png

    I add KB (KB2919442,KB2939087,KB2919355, KB2932046, KB2937592,KB2938439)


    for Boot.wim index:2 setup

    7jcw.png

    I add KB (KB2919442,KKB2939087


    and I did not have any error in installing process

    for the PIC I put this for show image version for each index just
     
  20. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,810
    10,419
    210
    Yes, I believe this is the cause of my concern. Pardon the alarm.
    It seems only the non-bootable index of boot.wim and the winre.wim should be upgraded and /resetbased