1. mhussain

    mhussain MDL Senior Member

    Oct 1, 2012
    366
    144
    10
    mount the windows 7 .wim go to the folowing location in the mounted .wim location
    C:\Windows\servicing\Packages
    in there you will find a hole lot of package names like what I have on my windows 10 machine.
    HyperV-Compute-Host-Containers-merged-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~amd64~~10.0.19041.867.cat
    HyperV-Compute-Host-Containers-merged-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~amd64~~10.0.19041.867.mum
    remove the .cat and the .mum extentions from the end of the names paste in to the file you mentioned and off you go.
     
  2. tefor

    tefor MDL Senior Member

    Apr 5, 2017
    309
    235
    10
    @mhussain , thank you for usefull information.
    I am really confused why MSMG did not prepare a complete list of packages for Window 7 like he did for windows 10 and windows 11 ? It would be easier for me to remove packages with the list of packages. I hope he can prepare a list for this task
     
  3. miketunes

    miketunes MDL Novice

    Aug 23, 2010
    34
    5
    0
    My new Win11 23H2 image has "Join this device to Microsoft Entra ID" missing. I've attached a list of packages I removed, would one of them cause this?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. fabricio simoes

    fabricio simoes MDL Junior Member

    Dec 17, 2020
    83
    18
    0
  5. mhussain

    mhussain MDL Senior Member

    Oct 1, 2012
    366
    144
    10
    hi all,
    after removeing most components, could you all tell me how much faster your installations become?

    I would beg you don't judge me here, but 1, i'm blind, and 2, i've not joined the ssd users out there.
    i'm still running on a hdd on an old intel i3 processer from 2013.
    not by choise, but with the money squeeze it's impossible to aquire another device.
    hence my question.
    how much more responsive are installations after all bloat and components are removed?
    I don't want bentchmarks, but real world usage stories.
    that is if you don't mind?
    thanks all!
    Majid
     
  6. Feartamixg

    Feartamixg MDL Addicted

    May 15, 2016
    781
    629
    30
    I haven't installed Windows on a hard drive for a very long time, only SSD drives. Even when I started using MSMG's ToolKit I was already using an SSD drive for my boot drive.

    You could easily find an second user SSD drive for a very reasonable price. I have a couple of second hand 64 GB SSD drives which I sometimes use for testing, these cost me less than £10 each several years ago.

    You could use a small 64 GB or 128 GB drive just for booting from and you would see a huge increase. Store big or infrequently accessed files on the hard drive, such as archives, documents, music, pictures, downloads. I realise cost is a challenge for you, so I won't talk any more about buying a cheap SSD, I just want to make sure that you realise they don't have to be as expensive as you think.

    Removing apps and unwanted services can surely only help the speed of a system. Though I would suggest not cutting too deep into the ISO and removing things you might need in the future. Also the memory saved from tweaking will help with the system's responsiveness.
     
  7. tosgaba

    tosgaba MDL Junior Member

    Nov 22, 2009
    80
    38
    0
    I have a laptop from 2012 (Acer Aspire 5755G) with an intel 2450M processor. 6 years ago bought an ordinary 110GB Sandisk SSD and personalised LTSB 2016 to my own needs and installed. Difference is day and night. System gets ready in 5 seconds from touching power button to desktop. But I removed many apps, disabled unnecessary services, tasks and so on. You can also prepare an image to your needs and install on an SSD and enjoy the system. No need to buy an expensive one like @Feartamixg said.
     
  8. Jingzin

    Jingzin MDL Addicted

    Nov 10, 2021
    533
    345
    30
    Installation won't become much faster, I'm using 22h2 removed from it about everything I'm sure I won't use in the future, single hyperv that's like hundreds of packages. Defender, etc.
    With a 3gb gaming emulator
    Ms office and few other apps installation is only 17gb space used.
    Ram usage about 1.5gb after booting.
    It's worth cleaning windows a bit plus invest in ssd drive if you can. Boot time like 5sec.
     
  9. inTerActionVRI

    inTerActionVRI MDL Expert

    Sep 23, 2009
    1,681
    3,452
    60
    This is what makes a big difference for those using large SSDs. However, for mechanical drives and small SSDs I think it is necessary to make the ISOs sanitized. For mechanical storage, it increases performance because of fewer files and. for small SSDs, just because of storage space (not speed).
     
  10. imlost2

    imlost2 MDL Member

    Aug 5, 2013
    111
    127
    10
    @mhussain. I know you said money is an issue. But I would recommend buying a small capacity PCIe Gen4 3 NVMe M.2 SSD for your main OS drive, if your motherboard supports it. Keep your current HD and pick a 256GB M.2 up for less than $30 new at Amazon. (Windows only needs less than 100GB of disk space. Clean install Windows to the m.2 (your C:\ drive) and keep all your programs, games and Microsoft Office on your old HD (D:\ DRIVE). You will have a much faster PC and plenty of disk storage space.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. inTerActionVRI

    inTerActionVRI MDL Expert

    Sep 23, 2009
    1,681
    3,452
    60
    #27113 inTerActionVRI, Jun 26, 2024
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2024
    In 2013, if I'm not mistaken, there was no support for m.2 nvme (it was not an available technology) and m.2 sata was only available for high-end motherboards.
    He would have to buy an adapter card, to use with PCI-e x1 or x2 (just not to use the Main PCI-Express - but at that time the mobos used to come with more standard PCI-E slots) or use a 2.5" SATA SSD.
     
  12. imlost2

    imlost2 MDL Member

    Aug 5, 2013
    111
    127
    10
    @inTerActionVRI. That's why I said "if your motherboard supports it." But if the OP is currently using disk HD, even a regular, low capacity, SSD drive would improve performance and would likely cost even less than an M.2.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Jingzin

    Jingzin MDL Addicted

    Nov 10, 2021
    533
    345
    30
    Few weeks ago sold used msi 1060 fully working, m2 Kingston 500gb, few wifi mouses one was steel series Logitech Microsoft. Bluetooth receiver asus bt400, PCI card for m2 with heatsink, Samsung ssd 200gb, for $50, 2x2tb western hdds 10 year old went into trash and so did asus mb cpu and ddr3 and case, psu, gtx 1660, I think I still have Kingston m2 2tb one left 100% life left in it as I only tested it if anyone fancy having it.
    My current pc
    Case some chinese atx
    I5 12400f
    One case fan DDR 4 16gb
    Gtx 1060
    And a few m2 drives best one I tested and would recommend is Kingston kc3000 they're cheap and very reliable and good performance.
     
  14. fabricio simoes

    fabricio simoes MDL Junior Member

    Dec 17, 2020
    83
    18
    0
    @MSMG
    You could create a Project in the pack folder to integrate SmartFix into the iso. Thanks.
     
  15. Bozmond

    Bozmond MDL Novice

    Jul 21, 2023
    5
    8
    0
    Hey @MSMG or anyone else in the know.

    I've ticked Windows update, Windows Upgrade and Recommended in the compatibility section in remove components, however when trying to update either via windows update or the cumulatives from Microsoft catalogue, they don't work and say install error - failed...

    Anyone got any hot tips as to why this might be. I would have thought the compatibility option would be there to ensure it works but must be missing something else. Ive tried with leaving, edge, defender in the iso as well cos I know they are closely entertwined, but still it didnt work.

    Thanks for anyone that can shed some light on this!!

    Cheers
     
  16. Jingzin

    Jingzin MDL Addicted

    Nov 10, 2021
    533
    345
    30
    what windows version ?
    hope not 24h2 as if you remove anything from iso wu wont install security updates.
    if 22h2 or 23h2 it works no issues and you can remove defender edge etc
    try wumt https://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/windows-update-minitool.64939/page-66#post-1841621 if it install updates.
    also i would try autoruns and type in it waas then bits wuaus dosvc usosvc to see if theyre marked they should be

    check date if set correctly

    you can also delete
    C:\Windows\System32\catroot2
    C:\Windows\SoftwareDistribution
    reboot and try update again
     
  17. Bozmond

    Bozmond MDL Novice

    Jul 21, 2023
    5
    8
    0
    Thanks Jingzin will try these
     
  18. BemfrVL

    BemfrVL MDL Novice

    Nov 3, 2021
    1
    1
    0
    @MSMG thank you for your amazing work. Do you plan to add support for 24h2?