Post Phoenix bios SLIC mod requests (*.WPH or *.ROM files). Previous requests

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by Yen, Dec 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. str8

    str8 MDL Expert

    Jul 3, 2009
    1,506
    56
    60
  2. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,668
    13,335
    340
    #862 Yen, Jul 20, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. dumppq

    dumppq MDL Junior Member

    Mar 3, 2008
    95
    0
    0
    I'm actually using the Acer SLIC (using Acer 2.0 now, want to use Acer 2.1). I extracted the 2.0 SLIC from my running BIOS, and had no problem locating the 2.0 pubkey or the marker in my BIOS. I replaced those with the pubkey and the marker from the ACER 2.1 SLIC.

    The header was different by a few bytes, but that shouldn't matter? I couldn't find it with the hexeditor in the BIOS anyway.

    So I should be good to go? And to flash, phlash16 from straight-up DOS should be okay?

    Thanks for the information!! :D
     
  4. str8

    str8 MDL Expert

    Jul 3, 2009
    1,506
    56
    60
    Hello hexx0r,

    Please wait for Yen or somemody else experienced to confirm that the BIOS is good to go. Do not flash until then cause he will also tell you how to flash it properly. Thank you.

    Hello dumppq,

    I think yes but I really do not know how exactly should you do your BIOS flashing. I'm sorry, i'm still learning. As far as I read you are right - they do recommend doing that from DOS. But I hope Yen or somebody else could actually clear this up for us.
    P.S. Please don't forget that as far as I know there is no new Acer certificate to match your Slic 2.1 So if you have Vista installed it will be deactivated.
     
  5. Holgi08

    Holgi08 MDL Novice

    Aug 19, 2008
    19
    1
    0
  6. dumppq

    dumppq MDL Junior Member

    Mar 3, 2008
    95
    0
    0
    Right, I remember Yen saying that about there being no cert to match Acer SLIC 2.1. That's okay though, I can rearm until a confirmed Windows 7 RTM is out. Hopefully the certs and OEM keys will be here soon!

    Thanks for your help, str8! Hopefully Yen can soon clear up all the remaining questions for us!
     
  7. DeadMan2k

    DeadMan2k MDL Novice

    Feb 27, 2009
    8
    0
    0
    #868 DeadMan2k, Jul 20, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  8. dumppq

    dumppq MDL Junior Member

    Mar 3, 2008
    95
    0
    0
    One other question ... if the header isn't changed, just the marker (and pubkey in my case with Acer), then what happens to the checksum byte? Isn't that in the header? Won't by not changing that, activation won't work? Hopefully Yen knows!

    Have you flashed your BIOS, str8 (with just the marker changed)? If so, does Vista still activate?
     
  9. hexx0r

    hexx0r MDL Novice

    Jul 17, 2009
    18
    1
    0
    Sure,

    I thought that just substituting the marker with an hex editor would produce a checksum error, I tried to rebuild your mod with PBE and it shows no warnings/error. Anywat I don't understand why opening and rebuilding it produce a different output (between offset 35F93 and 35F9D).

    Where can I get the PBE version 2.2.13 Yen is talking about?
    I could find only 2.2.0.1.

    Thanks guys
     
  10. str8

    str8 MDL Expert

    Jul 3, 2009
    1,506
    56
    60
    #871 str8, Jul 20, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  11. str8

    str8 MDL Expert

    Jul 3, 2009
    1,506
    56
    60
    #872 str8, Jul 20, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  12. hexx0r

    hexx0r MDL Novice

    Jul 17, 2009
    18
    1
    0
    #873 hexx0r, Jul 20, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  13. dumppq

    dumppq MDL Junior Member

    Mar 3, 2008
    95
    0
    0
    #874 dumppq, Jul 20, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    :(

    I tried to flash with this:
    Code:
    PH161700.EXE bios.wph /BBL /X /S
    and I got a constant low-tone coming out of my speakers with a message like:
    Checksum bad, continue anyway [Y/n]

    I hit Y, and all it does is start beeping at me! Tried with regular phlash16.exe as well, same result. Any idea what's going on?
     
  14. sunfish

    sunfish MDL Junior Member

    Jun 10, 2007
    93
    5
    0
  15. EclipseSin

    EclipseSin MDL Member

    Feb 29, 2008
    218
    11
    10
    Hmm

    Ok I read in the print thread view about my Laptop (no problem with Desktop, can do it easily), Dell Inspiron 1525, about the -writeromfile annd -writehdrfile switches. Now doing this, I have to manually hex edit the SLIC? I tried with cbrom32_195 it just "freezes" while reading the rom file. I read elsewhere about the 54 byte (i think) header, then two 1MB bios files, and tried splitting it then trying to load both in cbrom, still no luck. So, I tried looking through hex. I can find the SLIC table, but how can I load the bios into something like CBROM to edit the SLIC?

    I read something about the SLIC table being swapper, pubkey first or something. I don't feel like reading 50 some odd pages to find if the person was successful, so can anyone shed any light? I spent like 5 hours last night looking around on forums, and looking for delldeco (not sure if it is even helpful to me). So please, no flame. I don't even know if the Inspiron is a Phoenix or Award BIOS at this point since neither an Award BIOS editor or Phoenix BIOS editor will load the .rom for me, even when split in half. Nor will it load using the hdr file.
     
  16. calgop

    calgop MDL Novice

    Oct 9, 2007
    49
    4
    0
    #878 calgop, Jul 21, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  17. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,668
    13,335
    340
    #879 Yen, Jul 21, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. BelmontSlayer

    BelmontSlayer MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2008
    3
    0
    0

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...