Post Phoenix bios SLIC mod requests (*.WPH or *.ROM files). Previous requests

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by Yen, Dec 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Smithy

    Smithy MDL Junior Member

    Feb 25, 2008
    69
    0
    0
    @47105027 & spedia

    Why are you repeating your request? Yen seems to be really bussy in this times and I think everyone will get the BIOS if possible. Repeating just makes the Thread confusing. It's still plenty of time to go until Windows 7 or Server 2008 R2 will be ready to activate with OEM-Cert, Key & BIOS. It will get November until keys and certs will be available on the net. So just take your time and breave normal. I'm waiting aswell and I'm not in a hurry --> rearm! ;)

    Greetings
    Smithy
     
  2. 47105027

    47105027 MDL Novice

    Jul 15, 2009
    11
    0
    0
    #902 47105027, Jul 22, 2009
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2009
    I'm sorry at repeating request.
    I know YEN busy Really in this times. I'm waiting aswell.
    Thank you.
    ;)
     
  3. str8

    str8 MDL Expert

    Jul 3, 2009
    1,506
    56
    60
  4. str8

    str8 MDL Expert

    Jul 3, 2009
    1,506
    56
    60
    Hi Yen!

    Thanks for clearing this up for us about the /BBL command thing. Hopefully you are back soon :)
     
  5. hexx0r

    hexx0r MDL Novice

    Jul 17, 2009
    18
    1
    0
    Yeah,

    I wanted to put the entire system just in case of editing config sys etc, but surely it's not needed for the flashing.

    I was thinking about this type of modding, Phoenix Bioses with SLIC 2.0 already present and only Marker changing on 2.1.
    We could write a simple app that search and replace the marker (and eventually fixes the checksum).

    There should be a lot of "old" HP Vista preinstalled laptops with SLIC 2.0.

    Ciao!
     
  6. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,609
    13,256
    340
    An app that even will mod ALL Phoenix bioses.......:D;)
    Nothing is impossible....;)

    DeadMan2k

    Thanks for your report.......I'll continue my research and soon......
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. dumppq

    dumppq MDL Junior Member

    Mar 3, 2008
    95
    0
    0
    #907 dumppq, Jul 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  8. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,609
    13,256
    340
    #908 Yen, Jul 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. dumppq

    dumppq MDL Junior Member

    Mar 3, 2008
    95
    0
    0
    #909 dumppq, Jul 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    str8 noted that his BIOS seemed to fix the SLIC checksum in the SLIC header by itself, so that's good.

    Is there a way to manually 'fix' the entire-BIOS checksum? I wasn't using the /CS parameter with phlash16, I used:
    Code:
    PH161700.EXE bios.wph /BBL /X /S
    But I don't actually think /BBL was necessary. :eek:
     
  10. str8

    str8 MDL Expert

    Jul 3, 2009
    1,506
    56
    60
  11. dumppq

    dumppq MDL Junior Member

    Mar 3, 2008
    95
    0
    0
    Ha! That's a neat trick. ;) I was actually thinking of changing the checksum byte (wherever that is) to match the new BIOS, and you changed the BIOS to match the old checksum!

    Do you happen to know where or how the whole-BIOS checksum is stored? I suppose though, if we can't do that, the other solution is still a viable option! :)
     
  12. str8

    str8 MDL Expert

    Jul 3, 2009
    1,506
    56
    60
    #912 str8, Jul 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  13. dumppq

    dumppq MDL Junior Member

    Mar 3, 2008
    95
    0
    0
    #913 dumppq, Jul 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    But the whole-BIOS checksum is the one that's causing phlash16 to error, right? Why is it not possible to just correct that one? Do we not know where it is?

    Off topic, but I found this interesting string inside of my BIOS at 0x103BBE:
    Code:
    c:\documents and settings\eric_zhu\desktop\lpc.dxe\x64\release\chipset.pdb
    Damned compilers always include crap like that. :rolleyes:
     
  14. str8

    str8 MDL Expert

    Jul 3, 2009
    1,506
    56
    60
    #914 str8, Jul 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Yes yes brother, the whole BIOS checksum is correct now. Well it equals to the checksum of you original Bios. Sorry i didn't want to confuse you. You can see it youself using Yen's instruction - it's easy.
    LoL! That's an interesting info you've found in your BIOS - we can modify that if you want instead of "This". :) I don't think this message has any importancy for your BIOS.
     
  15. dumppq

    dumppq MDL Junior Member

    Mar 3, 2008
    95
    0
    0
    #915 dumppq, Jul 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Well, what I meant was, the original BIOS checksum is 75, so for phlash16 to complain, it must know that it was supposed to be 75. Is that something hard-coded into phlash16, or coded into the BIOS itself?

    If my modded checksum goes to EC (I think it was), then can I just change that (so then phlash16 thinks that EC is supposed to be the right checksum)? Or again, maybe it's part of phlash16 ...

    Just tinkered a bit, and changing:
    Code:
    c:\documents and settings
    to
    Code:
    c:\documents 11Z settings
    Gives me the 75 checksum back!

    The command you suggested:
    Code:
    PH161700.EXE Z013810.WPH /O /Force /X /C /S
    What does /O and /C do, exactly? And why is /force needed? Just trying to get as much info as possible before I go ahead, I don't want a dead laptop! :D
     
  16. str8

    str8 MDL Expert

    Jul 3, 2009
    1,506
    56
    60
    No bro, the checksum is not a particular byte but a total sum of all bytes that is calculated using some kinda formula I guess. The checksum byte in Slic is actually a veriable. Look, with me in my Slic 2.0 it was "F" and in the new one it became "w" but the whole picture was equal to "0" in both cases.
    Same with the whole BIOS file. If your original BIOS checksum was 75 (for whatever reason) then we made it to be 75 in our new BIOS. Even if the info about "checksum must equal 75" is stored somewhere in BIOS then I dout it would be in the word "This". So I think you are good unless like i said already you wanna change something different instead of "This".
     
  17. str8

    str8 MDL Expert

    Jul 3, 2009
    1,506
    56
    60
  18. dumppq

    dumppq MDL Junior Member

    Mar 3, 2008
    95
    0
    0
    Well it never actually went through, it just beeped and complained about the checksum, but never did any flashing ... I'll give it a go today though!
     
  19. str8

    str8 MDL Expert

    Jul 3, 2009
    1,506
    56
    60
    Alright bro, post as soon as you try. Good luck. :)