Script to Remove Apps

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by SightUp, Aug 21, 2015.

  1. SightUp

    SightUp MDL Senior Member

    Aug 17, 2010
    255
    12
    10
    I am looking for a script that removes all of the default apps that come on a clean install of Windows 10. I want them completely uninstalled and without the chance of recovery. I do not just want to remove them. I would like something I could just double click and have it do the work for me. Has anyone made one yet?
     
  2. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,622
    233
    60
    Sounds like you need to do this to the install.wim of an image.

    I have messed around with Windows 8.1 doing this and find myself right now testing it on Win 10.
    There seems to be two lots of apps, one which DISM can handle and the major ones, or the ones I am naming "major" need a little boost from install_wim_tweaker to unhide all the packages before DISM can remove them.
    I have successfully tested that out with "One Drive" but nowt else so far.

    Not a script that your looking for but maybe a thought for you to throw around ??
     
  3. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    7,711
    24,974
    240
    #3 abbodi1406, Aug 21, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    The novice recrusive way through Powershell
    Code:
    Get-AppxPackage -AllUsers | Remove-AppxPackage
    Get-AppxProvisionedPackage -Online | Remove-AppxProvisionedPackage –Online
    
     
  4. decmk

    decmk MDL Junior Member

    Apr 3, 2008
    94
    6
    0
    #4 decmk, Aug 21, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    In powershell started as Administrator
    Code:
    Get-AppXPackage | Remove-AppxPackage
    Get-AppxPackage -AllUsers | Remove-AppxPackage
    Get-AppXProvisionedPackage -online | Remove-AppxProvisionedPackage –online
     
  5. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,622
    233
    60
    I tested this out earlier using DISM....Yep I understand your after a script but this was my result.

    I just used DISM to remove all the provisioned packages, after a test install all but Cortana & Edge remained on the Start Menu.
    A good result me thinks. No side effects that I noticed.

    Just testing removing Cortana, Defender and One Drive now.

    Again not a script and a little more work involved but worth it I recon.
     
  6. revertex

    revertex MDL Member

    May 30, 2010
    118
    45
    10
    Why not install LTSB?
     
  7. dhjohns

    dhjohns MDL Guru

    Sep 5, 2013
    3,285
    1,731
    120
    I think some people need to boot the computer to a blank hard drive.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. GTK48

    GTK48 MDL Member

    Jun 7, 2009
    237
    54
    10
    Other than to clean up your start menu , there is no advantage of doing this. All you basicaly are doing is removing shortcuts. The apps still remain. I use Classic shell so I do not even see them.
     
  9. beamslider

    beamslider MDL Senior Member

    Feb 1, 2010
    339
    95
    10
    They don't remain if you remove them from install.wim and create a new ISO to install with.

    If you remove them from your system you are using then yes, they are just removed from that profile.
     
  10. SightUp

    SightUp MDL Senior Member

    Aug 17, 2010
    255
    12
    10
    #11 SightUp, Aug 22, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
  11. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,622
    233
    60
    What I tested was indeed removing the apps from the install.wim.

    It is quite easy really but maybe a little long winded but once it's done there will be no need to remove the apps by script at each fresh install and if your owt like me, I do numerouse installs.

    I did another test removing Cortana,Defender and One Drive.
    The test well well last night and i did not notice any bad after effects.

    All what was left on the Start Menu was Edge.
    I am looking into totally removing Edge too but what I have read this maybe tricky.

    There are posts on here saying the apps remain even after removing the packages.
    I really do hope the packages definatly are removed from the install.wim or this is a waste of time.

    You say you dont want to make your own .iso image, just wondering why not. :cool:
     
  12. SightUp

    SightUp MDL Senior Member

    Aug 17, 2010
    255
    12
    10
    I personally, I just like using official releases on clean installs.
     
  13. tnx

    tnx MDL Expert

    Sep 2, 2008
    1,622
    233
    60
    hu hu.. I get you..

    But....

    If you start with a good clean source and then mod it to suit your needs\wants. You know exactly what's happened to it.
    Is it not the same of installing it then modding it.
    Same sort of mods\alterations but one is done before and the other is after.

    I like to understand what I am doing before committing it to a fresh install as my main OS. I am currently messing with Win 10 but I don't feel I could use it, just yet.

    I want to understand this telemetry stuff first.

    It is all a bit confusing.
     
  14. SightUp

    SightUp MDL Senior Member

    Aug 17, 2010
    255
    12
    10
    Bump.......
     
  15. Vico

    Vico MDL Junior Member

    Jan 4, 2008
    94
    5
    0
    What program/how did you do it? imgmgr.exe? dism?
     
  16. Carol666

    Carol666 MDL Member

    Aug 12, 2015
    129
    10
    10
    @tnx if you remove somethings like defebder for example or store before trying to activate windows, you won't be able to activate. I went through it before
     
  17. Valiosa

    Valiosa MDL Novice

    Jul 20, 2015
    20
    4
    0
    I would also like find a way to make my genuine pro 10 as close to ltsb as possible.
     
  18. MSMG

    MSMG MDL Developer

    Jul 15, 2011
    2,186
    5,152
    90
    No you can activate, I do personally remove all apps, store, defender, system restore, cortana, search, telemetry and other stuffs which are not needed

    If you want you can try my script and test it out.. check for my signature to get the script.

     
  19. Carol666

    Carol666 MDL Member

    Aug 12, 2015
    129
    10
    10
    @msmg I already did try your script. In my case I couldn't activate windows after removing defender and other crap, was getting message security error, and I'm talking about removing not disabling