[SOLVED] Question regarding Win10 LTSB and Lenovo Laptop Clean Install

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by ds1991, Sep 24, 2018.

1. ds1991

ds1991 MDL Novice

Feb 16, 2017
    I have been running Win10 Enterprise LTSB on my DT since 2017 and a friend of mine has asked me to look at his Lenovo laptop as it is not booting properly etc,
    I recommended putting Win10 Enterprise 2016 LTSB on it as I have it here on a USB stick, obviously it's not 'legit' but it works fine and is 'activated', but I am assuming that's because this is on a DT I built myself, not an OEM DT or Laptop,
    My question being, will I be able to install it on his Lenovo or will the embedded OEM in the BIOS mean it will not activate even though it's a 'patched' copy of Enterprise?

I have no idea which model Lenovo it is as he is not dropping it off till tomorrow, but it is a couple of years old at least

I want to save myself the headache of installing it all only for it to not activate.

Thanks to anyone who can answer :)

2. Enthousiast

Enthousiast MDL Tester

Oct 30, 2009
    LTSB will install fine on it. KMS_VL_ALL by @abbodi1406 will activate it.

3. ds1991

ds1991 MDL Novice

Feb 16, 2017
    #3 ds1991, Sep 24, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2018
    (OP)
    Thanks for your reply mate :) My copy of 10 2016 LTSB is already pre-activated (it's the generation2 copy)
    Will I still need the KMS_VL_ALL activator?

EDITED to Add:

My copy of LTSB already uses the local object hook patch, it renews every 7 days :)
    But it's good to know there is a newer version should it fail, thanks again Enthousiast for your help and very quick reply!

4. ds1991

ds1991 MDL Novice

Feb 16, 2017
    UPDATED

The laptop is a Lenovo Yoga 510 14ISK, when I first got it had to put it in to legacy mode to get the Wino 10 Ent iso to boot, got into windows after a blue screen at account creation page, then ended up have loads of blue screens when trying to install drivers and updates.