Toshiba Satellite P100-106 3.30 BIOS request

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by varkanoid, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. tqhoang

    tqhoang MDL BIOS Modder

    Apr 29, 2008
    1,536
    333
    60
    Unfortunately donations are only allowed under specific conditions (see forum rules). Thanks for the offer though, I really appreciate it. For now a virtual beer will have to suffice. :cheers:

    I finally received the replacement motherboard...I'll give it a try this coming weekend.
     
  2. BugsB

    BugsB MDL Junior Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    72
    16
    0
    gotcha. That's good news. I also replaced these dorky (rubber membrane always busting) Harman Kardon speakers with Visaton K 20.40 8 Ω (solder job).

    So then, prost :cheers: , and good luck!
     
  3. BugsB

    BugsB MDL Junior Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    72
    16
    0
    I hope you did not run into issues with the used board.
     
  4. tqhoang

    tqhoang MDL BIOS Modder

    Apr 29, 2008
    1,536
    333
    60
    Nah, been busy with work and home life. Hopefully get to it this week.
     
  5. BugsB

    BugsB MDL Junior Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    72
    16
    0
    hey @tqhoang everything all-right with you? Hope you're just busy with life and all.
     
  6. tqhoang

    tqhoang MDL BIOS Modder

    Apr 29, 2008
    1,536
    333
    60
    Yeah, sorry the Toshiba is still offline. The used board only displayed a white screen on the LCD, so I'm going to attempt to de-solder the TSOP48 chip with a hot-air station. The seller refunded me, so no worries on that end. I'm hoping to bring the boards to my office to do the hot-air work since I don't have a workshop at home.

    I haven't given up on it yet, so try to hang on just a little longer.
     
  7. BugsB

    BugsB MDL Junior Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    72
    16
    0
    oh man, I sensed something went wrong - sorry about all the hassle. I hope you were able to test w/o screwing everything together first.

    Fingers crossed for the job on the hot-air station! Great you have such equipment at hand.

    BTW, I only experienced graphics failures with the Toshi P10x on the dedicated Nvidia 7xxx GPUs, never the ones with on-board Intel GPU. Again, knockin' on wood for you!
     
  8. BugsB

    BugsB MDL Junior Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    72
    16
    0
    yaiks how sad, that really sucks! I so much salute your tenacity. There is no item left following your link, so I figure you scored the last one? Was it sold as new?

    When all this is completed, I'll send you something nice from my area :rolleyes: !!!
     
  9. tqhoang

    tqhoang MDL BIOS Modder

    Apr 29, 2008
    1,536
    333
    60
    Damn, my order got canceled...apparently it was an old listing and they didn't have the stock.

    I'm trying to make some offers on eBay, but the seller isn't responding to the them.
     
  10. BugsB

    BugsB MDL Junior Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    72
    16
    0
    darn! Bummer I don't have a spare Intel grfx board - I'd send it to you right away.

    You're in the US, right? I could file a request in the P10x hackintosh forum topic, if someone in the US or Canada still has their old one with an Intel grfx mainboard sitting in some corner and would send it to you.
     
  11. tqhoang

    tqhoang MDL BIOS Modder

    Apr 29, 2008
    1,536
    333
    60
    Yes, I'm in NJ, USA
     
  12. BugsB

    BugsB MDL Junior Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    72
    16
    0
    sorry but no spare Intel graphics board in sight :(
     
  13. tqhoang

    tqhoang MDL BIOS Modder

    Apr 29, 2008
    1,536
    333
    60
    I just bought a used P105 board for $6. It's an A000012600 and not the exact A000006540, but it's cheap enough to take a chance that it accepts the Core2Duo with 667MHz FSB.

    The 12xxx and 06xxx models seem to correlate to the BD1V (REV C) and BD1 (REV F) motherboards, respectively. The BD1V boards appear to be used in models with discrete graphics and DVI port, but they were also used for integrated Intel graphics without the DVI port.

    Fingers crossed!
     
  14. BugsB

    BugsB MDL Junior Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    72
    16
    0
    great score, $6! Yes, I sure do cross my fingers for you that this time you do have more luck. My experience is that as long as the RAM is 667MHz, too, it's all fine.

    I always turn off all my phones (cell & land line) for motherboard replacements :) Maybe because I remember one case where I got side tracked and had to redo it all over again :/