Toshiba Satellite P100-106 3.30 BIOS request

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by varkanoid, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. tqhoang

    tqhoang MDL BIOS Modder

    Apr 29, 2008
    1,585
    355
    60
    #123 tqhoang, May 31, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2021
    Thanks, I’ll check it out. Although I’ve never had trouble with Windows 7/10 and AHCI, but that was on ICH8-M or higher. There must be something special that Windows is requiring.

    Unfortunately I’m not sure if I have access to any other ICH7 systems to compare the chipset configuration. Most of the stuff I have at work are Dell systems.

    No rush on the /proc/iomem. It’s just a one-line change in the DSDT.

    I think I’m going to revert back to an IDE BIOS and check out if suspend/resume works. Then I’ll know that I need to do something in the ACPI wake method. I tried applying AHCI again but that was worse than not doing anything.


    UPDATE
    • Suspend and resume work in IDE mode under CentOS 7...not so much in AHCI. I briefly saw an error pop up in the console about trying to reset the SATA bus, but the drive was not responding. Unfortunately too many times doing this and the XFS filesystem got corrupted.
    • I believe I do have a few Dell D820's lying around at work...will have to see if any still function.
     
  2. BugsB

    BugsB MDL Junior Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    98
    26
    0
    I see - I read your update. What do you plan to do with the Dell D820?

    One more day delay: I was bitten by some strange grey striped insect today and have an allergic reaction - arm swollen like a ball & itching like hell. I took some anti-histamine, can do nothing but crush now and hope I'm fit again tomorrow to report back.
     
  3. tqhoang

    tqhoang MDL BIOS Modder

    Apr 29, 2008
    1,585
    355
    60
    I'm not sure anymore. From what I've read, Dell didn't enable AHCI in the D820 either...was hoping that they did and I could peak at the SATA registers.

    Hope you feel better.
     
  4. BugsB

    BugsB MDL Junior Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    98
    26
    0
    Thanks. Am feeling pretty sick. Still went to work which took me to the edge. Can't do anything anymore right now but go to sleep. Maybe tomorrow
     
  5. BugsB

    BugsB MDL Junior Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    98
    26
    0
    #127 BugsB, Jun 5, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2021
    Am back up and running (after lots of sleep). Attached you find the /proc/iomem file from my Toshi P100 booted in 32bit mode (because I run both, Mac OS 10.7.5 and Windows 10 in 32bit mode, too) with an old Parted Magic version from 2013 included in the latest System Rescue CD (I guess that was the latest freely available edition of PM before they went retail). Hope it's helpful. Let me know in case it doesn't contain the data you need, and I can download a more recent Linux distro.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. tqhoang

    tqhoang MDL BIOS Modder

    Apr 29, 2008
    1,585
    355
    60
    Just a quick update.
    • I have suspend/resume working in CentOS 7 in AHCI mode!!!
    • I reviewed your /proc/iomem file and was able to find a free memory region that we have in common.
    • Windows 7 & 10 installers do not see any hard drives when in SATA AHCI mode. It does see the SATA AHCI controller though, so it's definitely running my DSDT code.
      • Microsoft Standard AHCI ==> no drives detected
      • Intel MSM v7.0.0 ==> no drives detected
      • Intel RST v9.6.0 ==> BSOD
      • Intel RST v10.1.0 ==> BSOD
      • Intel RST v11.2.0 ==> BSOD
      • Intel RSTe v11.7.4 ==> BSOD
    I'm trying some other register probing, but I think I'm close!

    Do you know what the latest and pain-free way to try Mac OS on the P105? I'd like to see if that "just works" like Linux does.
     
  7. BugsB

    BugsB MDL Junior Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    98
    26
    0
    Amazing - yes, sounds as if you're close!

    Mac OS must be 10.7.5 Lion. I did not find a website where you could download a hackintosh image. I'm at the end of the road here with very "thin" upload speed, so can't help with providing via upload. Best chance might be some via some old torrent some people hopefully still share, but I don't have any link or torrent right now :/
     
  8. BugsB

    BugsB MDL Junior Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    98
    26
    0
  9. tqhoang

    tqhoang MDL BIOS Modder

    Apr 29, 2008
    1,585
    355
    60
    Just checking in. I haven't gotten around to downloading macOS Lion to a bootable USB stick.

    I'm still trying to figure out the Windows issue. When I open a command prompt during the Windows install, it does show the SATA controller is in AHCI mode, but no disks are detected (both the installer and diskpart).

    I'm looking at some SATA initialization code that is mentioned but it's kind of voodoo magic without any kind of a guide.
     
  10. BugsB

    BugsB MDL Junior Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    98
    26
    0
    yee-ha, check it out, @tqhoang : AHCI Screen Shot.png
    not even any extra kext (kernel extension aka "driver") required - stock OS X! You rock :cheers:!

    I'll do the Windows reg edit for AHCI tomorrow to see if it boots, and also run benchmarks in OS X with both, IDE and AHCI.

    I'll let you know then. Again, a huge THANK YOU :)

    Let me know if you're still interested in OS X Lion, albeit ancient.
     
  11. BugsB

    BugsB MDL Junior Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    98
    26
    0
    #138 BugsB, Nov 15, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2021
    Wow, notable difference! Geekbench Mac 32bit:
    Code:
                         Single-Core Multi-Core
    AHCI:
      Integer Score          609        1135
      Floating Point Score   609        1151
      Memory Score           560         586
    
      Geekbench Score        599        1031
    
    IDE:
      Integer Score          593         874
      Floating Point Score   601         874
      Memory Score           528         554
    
      Geekbench Score        583         810
    What's more important is that TRIM indeed is only active in AHCI mode - no TRIM in IDE comp. mode because in Mac OS, TRIM is handled by the IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext. So for SSD health, AHCI is indispensable.

    Geekbench Mac 64bit:
    Code:
                         Single-Core Multi-Core
    AHCI:
      Integer Score          678        999
      Floating Point Score   625        944
      Memory Score           524        543
    
      Geekbench Score        626        885
    
    IDE:
      Integer Score          680       1005
      Floating Point Score   627        913
      Memory Score           516        547
    
      Geekbench Score        626        876
    Geekbench 3.4.1 in Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5 - results in one table. "Winners" in each group and consequently summed up/ indicated as either AHCI or IDE in 'red'. If two values in a group were very close to each other then I marked them both as 'winners in red'.
    PHP:
    ScoresSingle-Core    Multi-Core
      MODE    32
    /64 bit     32/64 bit
    Integer
     
    'AHCI'   609 /'678'  '1135'999
      IDE     593 
    /'680'    874 /1005

    Floating Point
     
    'AHCI'   609 /'625'  '1151'944
      IDE     601 
    /'627'    874 913

    Memory
     
    'AHCI'  '560'524    '586'543
      IDE     528 
    516     554 547

    Geekbench
     
    'AHCI'  '599'626   '1031'885
      IDE     583 
    626     810 876
    Clear result as expected:
    1. AHCI over IDE!
    2. Despite of 64bit CPU, run Mac OS in x86 base mode but with the possibility for 64bit Apps to run in 64bit mode.
     
  12. BugsB

    BugsB MDL Junior Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    98
    26
    0
    @tqhoang I ran all tests, see bottom table above. You'll like the results .. ;)
     
  13. tqhoang

    tqhoang MDL BIOS Modder

    Apr 29, 2008
    1,585
    355
    60
    That's great to see that MacOS works too! I did a basic benchmark under CentOS Linux 7 with dd. IIRC it was a slight improvement in hard disk throughput (<10%), but the main thing like you said is the capability of TRIM for SSD's.

    I'm still not sure why Windows just doesn't see the drives. I verified the controller is changed into the AHCI mode by going to a command prompt and running the Windows build of setpci.

    I'm going through the Intel SATA spec document now and coding some things to try. No ETA obviously, but I definitely haven't given up.