Trouble Flashing bios

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by mercden1, Nov 12, 2009.

  1. mercden1

    mercden1 MDL Novice

    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    #1 mercden1, Nov 12, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Hi,
    I've an Asus Barebone P3-P5GB33 and modded the bios with amitool 1.41 to change the slic to v 2.1.
    Everything is ok, but when flash the bios, there's a bios part, that never is flashed. So, the slic doesn't change.
    I've probed with:
    Alt+f2
    afudos + /pgnc
    but nothing. Allways the same thing. One bios part is not flashed. And slic remains v2.0.
    I think that bios is protected but really don't know how to change it
    Motherboard is Asus P5k-VM customized and original bios and modded bios are here:

    forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/150704?highlight=p3-p5g33#post150704

    I've modded the original bios again and the result is the same modded bios that's in the previous post.
    Someone knows how flash this bios??
    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    #2 NoJuan999, Nov 12, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2009
    Try using AFUDOS 2.36 (Included with the modded BIOS) like this:

    Afudos /i0409SLIC.ROM /pbnc /n

    Also Clear CMOS (remove battery or jumper) and reset BIOS Settings to default and save.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mercden1

    mercden1 MDL Novice

    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    Hi,
    I've tried afudos /i0404slic.rom /pbnc /n and also clear Cmos and reset Bios Settings, but again the slic remains in v2.0. I've seen this motherboard has a SPI flash socket. Perhaps with a spi programmer could change the slic zone. I've flashed another mothers.. P5k and P5k-VM with other bios, but with this, it doesn't look so easy.
    Again, thanks.
     
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,696
    3,049
    300
    May sound silly but are you sure you are selecting the slic 2.1 folder and not slic 2.0
     
  5. mercden1

    mercden1 MDL Novice

    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    #5 mercden1, Nov 13, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2009
    (OP)
    Hi,
    no, in 0409slic.rom is the slic 2.1. The problem is other. When run afudos /i0409slic.rom /pbnc /n, I see that writing in flash stop at 80% and verifying writing also stop at 80%. It seems there's a zone when afudos can't flash with these arguments. Perhaps, with others but donĀ“t know.

    Making a google, I've discovered these arguments. Someone knows about them??

    AMI Firmware Update Utility - Version 1.33
    Copyright (C)2005 American Megatrends, Inc. All rights reserved.

    afudos /i<ROM filename> [/o<save ROM filename>] [/n] [/p[n][c]]
    [/r<registry_path>] [/s] [/k[N]] [/q] [/h]

    /n - don't check ROM ID
    /pbc -
    b - Program Boot Block
    c - Destroy System CMOS
    /r - registry path to store result of operation (Windows version)
    /k0 - Program Non-Critical Block 0 (OEM Logo & User Binaries)
    /c - Skip non-critical blocks
    /s - Leave signature in BIOS
    /q - Silent execution
    /h - print help
    /t - Display ROM ID string
    /c0 - Program Main BIOS and Non-Critical Block 0 (OEM Logo & User
    Binaries)
    /d - Compare ROM file (skips flashing)
    /u<filename>-Display ROM ID

    Thanks
     
  6. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,696
    3,049
    300
    @ mercden1, if possible always use the dos flashing program that comes with original bios also to get switches options afudos /? in a msdos window.
     
  7. mercden1

    mercden1 MDL Novice

    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    Always use dos flashing that comes with bios but with command afudos /?, you only see options /i and /o to install or to save to file.

    I'll buy a spi flasher, and see the bios content.
    Thanks
     
  8. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    10,975
    10,548
    340
    Hmmm. I think it's about the mod method. There are two ways for a mod. Allow FC modification dynamic. Then you have to use afudos /pbn /n.
    I would try the SAME afudos that came with your bios or: AFU236U (engineering version)

    or a SSv3 mod (IMO should work!)..cancel the allow mod window and choose SSV3...flash without any additionally switches or with build in flash tool.....

    Which mod method caused trouble? Which afudos version did you use? Your posted version of afudos 1.33 seems too old to flash... I wouldn't buy an SPI flasher right now....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. mercden1

    mercden1 MDL Novice

    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    Hi,
    you think well. It's about the mod method. The original bios has a slic v2.0 and with amitool, if you say yes to allow modification, the tool makes a dynamic mod that, obviously, doesn't work. I've cancelled and mod with ssv3 without additional switches.
    The tool has put the slic 2.1 and everything goes well. I've flashed with afu236 with /i switch and ok.
    Btw, I've posted an old version of afudos for people could view the parameters. Always I use afu236 or the bios tool that motherboard recommends.

    Thank you very much.
     
  10. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,696
    3,049
    300
    you should never mod a modded bios ok load it in to amitool to see what method was used but don't mod it . Always use original unmodified bios to mod.
     
  11. mercden1

    mercden1 MDL Novice

    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    Ok, I know the theory, but the original bios has the slic. Please, check it. You have the link on first post. The original bios that anybody can download on motherboard's website. When you open with amitool, you'll see this message:

    The bios has already had a slic (2.0) inserted in the FC Module. Allow modification?

    And, if you say yes, the amitool goes to dynamic method. And the rest is well known.

    Regards,
     
  12. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    #12 NoJuan999, Nov 14, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
    So what you're saying is that this one Modded with SSv3 method and with AFUD236 included works.
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/150704251
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. mercden1

    mercden1 MDL Novice

    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    0
    0
    #13 mercden1, Nov 15, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
    (OP)
  14. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    Thanks for the Confirmation. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...