Where is the Phoenix bios mod tool?--IT'S OUT NOW!

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by zerka, Oct 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kocoman

    kocoman MDL Senior Member

    May 16, 2007
    331
    4
    10
    #81 kocoman, Nov 19, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2009
    But when we flash with the pflash17 tool it does not need the platform.bin file...

    only need wph file..

    Bricking the board is not that big deal (unless the bootloader is gone), you would just need fn+b and usb floppy drive...
     
  2. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,612
    13,259
    340
    Yes you'need the *.wph file..when you dump the bios, you'll get the *.rom file only...

    rom + platform.bin (appended) = wph file.. the platform.bin isn't stored on EEPROM (bios chip).. Thats the reason why you need (at Phoenix bios) the appended platform.bin
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Apokrif

    Apokrif MDL Addicted

    Dec 7, 2008
    542
    35
    30
    And, essentially, isolate people from any knowledge, what's going on under the hood, right?
    It might be good sometimes, but definitely not every time! :(
     
  4. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,612
    13,259
    340
    Now you've hurt my feelings!
    ...isolate people from any knowledge.....I?...MDL?.......I'd say isolate people from unwanted damage!
    Why do you think I keep informed about the tool? Have you ever asked here somebody about and you've got no answer??
    This thread was created to ask about the tool not to complain about something without any reason.

    I told about the chronology of developing the tool.
    Why do you think MDL is famous about biosmodding?
    EVERY approach to mod is well documented somewhere at MDL....don't be lazy, just search for it...

    The tumb down I have to refuse...I send it back to you, because you never have asked about a special matter before..how should I know that you want something to know about the tool?
    I invite you to search here at MDL, you'll find anything regarding Phoenix biosmodding.
    MDL is one of the best reference regarding biosSLICing and modding...
    You may ask any other member about....

    The final step of the chain to automate the process is not public yes...

    -The 'hard core' biosmodders don't care about a tool, they want to know how it works to mod....basically a tool only automates what some smart heads have developed before (Therefore you need a smart head again) :D

    -I still want to know how to mod any bios, manually by myself....to develop a tool is funny anyway.....I can participate in by sharing know-how. I have provided ANY how-to I've figured
    -To share knowledge is what I do all the time.
    -To be a useful member at the developing team of the tool, you have to provide experience and spare time....
    -You cannot develop a bios mod tool at the public..you have to build a team first. How would you feel if you get a bricked mainboard after using an tool that isn't meant to be public yet??


    Apokrif, to share knowledge is the most important matter. I guess at that point we got the same opinion...to develop a tool needs a closed test before you can release it to the public...anyway, you have to ask if you want something to know...if I can answer it, I will do.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. luky

    luky MDL Addicted

    Dec 21, 2008
    733
    33
    30
    Yen Nice responded. When you get a tool ready for release then likely released. Until then, it is necessary to be patient.
    Yen and I have one question, namely when the tools do e_bcpvpw.exe Bios .FL1 of the Lenovo ThinkPad T500 and I Bios.rom 8M, this can then rename the Bios.wph and use it in the event that anything happens to me with the Biosom time modd SLIC 2.1.
    The reply is a nice thank you in advance. bows!
     
  6. Apokrif

    Apokrif MDL Addicted

    Dec 7, 2008
    542
    35
    30
    Sorry, if I did… I did agree with you post and want to clarify WHAT I meant to say:

    The tool the team working could be done in two ways:
    Either a black box – it does everything silently and you have no idea about details.
    Or it can be a collection of tools, just like PBE (although PBE is not the best example, probably)
    And logs show you exactly what was done by each tool, so you can rerun parts of the “chain” manually and do you own modification in between.

    Obviously, no tool logs everything neither everything needs to be logged too.
    Logs verbosity and interested area has to be tunable too.


    Don't know bout 'hard core' biosmodders, but, IMO, 'smart heads' do:
    1. Gather all info.
    2. Run automated tools AND analyze logs
    3. Compare #1 & #2 to make sure they didn’t miss anything on step #1


    And yes, most of MDL users just need a completely automated tool and they don’t care about any internal guts absolutely. Besides, if something goes wrong, they will be the most screaming guys ONLY because they didn’t read any prerequisites. Ain’t you disagree? ;)

    From common programming knowledge:
    General fool-proof program has 10% actual code and 90% fool-protection code.

    I guess, I just hurt your feelings again… Sorry… :(
     
  7. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,612
    13,259
    340
    No you didn't. :)
    I got hurt (a little) when I had to read that we are isolating people from knowledge. Exactly the opposite I want to.
    Points 1 to three are describing exactly what we are doing. Andy is programming. I request for needed features....andy thinks about and integrates them if useful.:D. Then busykid joined. He tries a lot of mods / different bioses to have a look if problems are encountering. The mod tool was applied to mod more than 1000 bioses fo far! We are sharing logs, problem reports, useful settings and so on. We are examining the mods, comparing them with the manually result.
    This work is still in progress. Soon other specialists joined who are familiar with Dell, Insyde. Every bios has its own specialist to ask for a mod. Mine is Lenvo Phoenix...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,612
    13,259
    340
    You mean in case you would have to recover your notebook after a bad flash?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. luky

    luky MDL Addicted

    Dec 21, 2008
    733
    33
    30
    Yes because one bios.wph I got personally from you for my ThinkPad T500, when I did crash my ThinkPad at a time when I did flash the bios with SLIC 2.1 was not right for my ThinkPad.
    Now I am just interested if there is sufficient to Bios.rom, which makes the original BIOS e_bcpvpw.exe $ 01B8300.FL1, FL2, only renamed Bios.wph and then used to restore the BIOS, if, at the time of the accident makes Flash . Thanks
     
  10. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,612
    13,259
    340
    #90 Yen, Nov 20, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. luky

    luky MDL Addicted

    Dec 21, 2008
    733
    33
    30
    Yen I used modd SLIC 2.1 Of ThinkPad W500, and not on the T500 as it should. Accordingly, I have Notebook crash. For the renewal of Bios you sent me the file Bios.wph for my ThinkPad T500, but to me it failed to renew without service. Had not yet been pub AUSDINA how he managed to restore the BIOS. Therefore, I now wonder if they can Bios.rom renamed Bios.wph chance to crash flash BIOS with SLIC 2.1. Thanks
     
  12. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,612
    13,259
    340
    OK, now I've got it. You have tried to flash a wrong version of a different model.
    Apply that command e_bcpvpw.exe $01B8300.FL1 bios.wph. The file then would be the right in case of a bad flash..yes...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Apokrif

    Apokrif MDL Addicted

    Dec 7, 2008
    542
    35
    30
    Who is the Dell one? I have whole bunch of different ~4-5 year old Dells, all of them without SLICs. No prob if I brick few. Let me know your want me to try something AND you don't afraid criticism ;)
     
  14. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    9,037
    3,385
    300
    #94 urie, Nov 21, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  15. brando18

    brando18 MDL Novice

    Oct 24, 2009
    1
    0
    0
    I don't know anything about BIOS modding, but want to unlock the Phoenix bios on my SOny VGN-AR320e. There are short comings with the notebook, and the stupid bios has no options, other than time and date and boot order. Will this tool fix that?
     
  16. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    9,037
    3,385
    300
    No wrong forum this forum is for bios modding SLP1/0 SLIC2.0 and SLIC 2.1 for activation.
     
  17. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    12,612
    13,259
    340
    Dell used in earlier times Award and Phoenix bioses as well. In that case to add a SLIC2.1 should be possible. Only at Dell's own bioses we are able to replace an existing SLIC only!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. Apokrif

    Apokrif MDL Addicted

    Dec 7, 2008
    542
    35
    30
    Urie - thanks I do know about it.

    Oh well… I was under impression most of the current Dell PC and (~5-6 years old and newer?) uses some modification of Phoenix BIOS. And I thought/hoped, you have figured out the difference in encryption/packaging. I guess, I have to stick with NIC SLIC injection, although, it doesn’t work for Dells as of now either.
    For AWARD Dell BIOS SLIC mod is a piece of cake… :)

    Just to make sure I got it right – for Dell (non AWARD) the tool will be able to replace SLIC 2.0 to 2.1 only, right?

    And on the same page – does anybody actually try to figure out Dell BIOS encryption?
    Or it’s just not worth the efforts - as all relatively modern stuff has SLIC 2.0 anyway?
    I would still love to replace Intel RAID module as the one I have striped out completely… :(
     
  19. wolf69

    wolf69 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    277
    19
    10