Windows 10 upgrade is FORCE installing to Win 7/8/8.1 PC's, without user consent!

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by MysTikAL3, Sep 6, 2015.

1. MysTikAL3

MysTikAL3 MDL Senior Member

Jul 15, 2013
    #1 MysTikAL3, Sep 6, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2015
  2. Mutagen

Mutagen MDL Addicted

Feb 18, 2013
    It's not happening on my machines, and won't. Why? Because I have unchecked this optional update, then I right-clicked it and selected "hide this update". But my machines are Windows 7/8.1 Professional. I have no experience with other (Home) versions.

Could be you are correct. Could be 'home' version users aren't experienced/sophisticated enough to hide the update. Again, I don't know.

3. SOCRATE_MMXII

SOCRATE_MMXII MDL Expert

Jan 25, 2012
    That's why before installing any update I search the net to see what is it about, thus I avoid the forced installation of Windows 10 on my machines. :D

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. nodnar

nodnar MDL Expert

Oct 15, 2011
    if they have the nerve to try this on in europe, it may be very expensive for them.i do not believe that the eu will swallow that without handing them a multimilliondollar fine. i disabled automatic updates on my w7home machine ~1 june, so i should be safe.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. SOCRATE_MMXII

SOCRATE_MMXII MDL Expert

Jan 25, 2012
    MS has a not-so-pretty image in Europe. I don't think they'll try the stunt of forcing Windows 10...

6. ancestor(v)

ancestor(v) Admin
    Staff Member

Jun 26, 2007
    On the other, no one in Europe really seems to care (Swiss maybe) and they just bend down to company policies and acting... I wouldn't wonder if this works there as well, just enforcing updates and no authority steps up to it.

7. nodnar

nodnar MDL Expert

Oct 15, 2011