Would You go 32 or 64bit?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by mamamia88, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. mamamia88

    mamamia88 MDL Member

    Dec 26, 2009
    112
    1
    10
    i have an amd 64 processor but only 2gb and no intention of upping to 4gb ram. all i will be running at once is firefox, itunes, solitaire, and maybe utorrent. which would you go with?
     
  2. whatitdo2010

    whatitdo2010 MDL Novice

    May 18, 2010
    16
    0
    0
    Honestly I would go to 64 bit. You already have it you might as well keep it. And its not the whole point of jsut running things at once, its the time it takes to load the program and to maintain it The more RAM you have there better you are off.... you never know when you might want to run more than what you listed.
     
  3. kubato

    kubato MDL Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    138
    40
    10
    Stay with 32bit, it is more compatible and will run better on less memory.
     
  4. SCBrigth

    SCBrigth MDL Senior Member

    May 9, 2009
    481
    68
    10
    Only 2Gb and no plans to increase? You may use the 32bit edition but you will be limited to 3Gb memory, so think about your future needs.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Ron1958

    Ron1958 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 21, 2010
    55
    1
    0
    I'm running Windows 7 x64 with 2mb of ram with no hang ups.
    If your computer support's 64 bit go for it.
    If you don't like the way it works you can always format, and install the 32 bit version.
     
  6. Alphawaves

    Alphawaves Super Moderator/Developer
    Staff Member

    Aug 11, 2008
    5,884
    20,225
    180
    2gb ram best with 32Bit OS
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. fubar121

    fubar121 MDL Novice

    Nov 23, 2009
    48
    1
    0
    Based on what? NO compatability here I actual have vista drivers installed with no issues. And I find 64 bit to faster. Just wondering?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Smorgan

    Smorgan Glitcher

    Mar 25, 2010
    1,854
    1,034
    60
    What do you base your stuff on dude if you have 4+ GB of ram then use 64 bit stuff...
    Where as if you have less you should be using the 32 bit copy as a 64 bit copy requires more ram...
    However I like using 64 bit just for the hell of it and its nice being able to use all that ram since I use Vmware...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. sandipandi

    sandipandi MDL Novice

    Jun 6, 2010
    37
    1
    0
    #9 sandipandi, Jun 8, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2010
    You'll eventually want to upgrade. Seriously. :) Go 64 and wait for a sale at "the egg" for 2GB of ram, even if you only ran Utorrent you'd love the difference. Itunes would too depending on the amount of songs you have.
     
  10. acyuta

    acyuta MDL Expert

    Mar 8, 2010
    1,631
    367
    60
    As so many have said, 64 bit is more important. RAM costs are declining and perhaps an increase will not cost you much. 2GB seems good enough for what you use the PC for. As for itunes, it hangs often and loads slowly, no matter the amount of RAM or which bit. It just does not like the default settings to be changed (itunes to be default media player, it should start at startup, and what not).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. KotaXor

    KotaXor MDL Senior Member

    Aug 3, 2009
    259
    6
    10
    I am using 32bits on 3GB of RAM for my desktop.....now I have a laptop with 64bits on 2GB of RAM and its working great.
    I have just upgrade the RAM to 2 + 2GB = 4GB....and its wonderful.
    Its DDR3 RAM, so damn expensive for a piece of 4GB RAM or I would have upgrade it to 8GB.
    Go ahead with the 64bits.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. kt_haddock

    kt_haddock MDL Novice

    Nov 29, 2007
    40
    3
    0
    I'm using windows 7 X64 with 2Gb memory and run just fine. I'm playing games online seems no problem.
    AMD 2Ghz Cpu and PC3200 memmory
     
  13. Riemen

    Riemen MDL Novice

    Jul 23, 2009
    30
    0
    0
    What's about old 16bit apps? You can't run them under 64 bit Windows.
    There are not much of them anymore, but if you need one of them, things start to become complicated.

    Yes, you can run them under Windows XP mode, but most older 16 bit Apps also don't support network drives. So you can save your work on the virtual drive etc...
    Running such a software under a native 32 bit Windows is much easier.

    On 2 GB Ram there is no real reason to use 64 bit. If he ever decides to upgrade his Ram or system, he can still reinstall his OS.
    I say this although I use a 64 bit OS for more than 3 years now and had only minor problems in the beginning.
     
  14. rupsd

    rupsd MDL Senior Member

    May 27, 2010
    260
    10
    10
    Go for 32-bit...
    i'm running 32-bit w7 with celeron M processor and just 1 gb ram and you know it runs really smooth
     
  15. racky29

    racky29 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 2, 2007
    285
    91
    10
    you have a 64bit processor, get the most out of it with a 64bit op system
     
  16. Jachra

    Jachra MDL Member

    Apr 5, 2010
    178
    53
    10
    The best advise I can give you is to sit down and write what you want to now with your system. And what you might want to do in the nearby future with your system.
    Be honest and fair. Also try not to be shy in asking yourself if it is that troublesome to reinstall your system at a later point in time.
     
  17. anarchyg

    anarchyg MDL Novice

    Jun 8, 2010
    3
    0
    0
    Hi,

    If you want the OS to be more stable and also have a higher hardware configuration then should prefer to use the 64 bit version. But if you are have a low configuration PC then you should prefer to work with the 32bit edition. as consumes less RAM and gives high productivity. If you are feeling well with 32bit edition then shouldn't go for 64 bit edition. Actually it depends totally on your requirement.
     
  18. xaver

    xaver MDL Novice

    Mar 8, 2010
    28
    0
    0
    I have both installed. In respect of performance I could not find a difference. Sometimes 64 was even slower. In respect of compatibility with software the 32 is much better. Drivers for 64 can be a problem too. And there are not so many 64 applications out there. But even if you find them do not expect more performance. 64 is about memory and if the application needs a lot then it will show more performance.

    If you need more than 4 GB then there is no choice. You have to go with 64. But 64 uses more memory just for running. If you use a graphic card with a lot of memory in the GB range then the blocked address space could create a problem in W7 32. The more graphic card memory you have the less Windows will have for itself in the 32 bit environment. W7 cannot address more then 4 GB and this includes all memory. A way around is PAE but this is very rare at applications.
     
  19. Misaki2010

    Misaki2010 MDL Addicted

    Jul 14, 2009
    666
    381
    30
    32 is good, I have 4 GB of RAM and I'm on 32 bit, I don't need to use over 3 GB of them because what the hell, there is no software or game that requires 4 GB of RAM, at least none that I like to play with.
     
  20. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,098
    10,768
    340
    This question is easy to answer.
    If your system has installed >=4 GB of RAM then 64 bit OS.
    Otherwise 32 bit since there is NO reason then to go for 64 bit right now....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...